The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 17, 2019, 01:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 249
Foul by Shooter After Returning to the Floor

Had a disagreement among a crew regarding the following play under NFHS rules. Would appreciate any input.

A1 drives down the middle of the lane and shoots a floater, returning to the floor and ending airborne shooter protections before A1's momentum causes A1 to run through B1 who has at all times maintained LGP in the path of A1. A1 illegally contacts B1: 1) prior to the ball passing through the basket; or 2) after the ball has passed through the basket. What is the call?

Crew decided (2-1) that in A) basket counts and A1 is assessed a common foul for an illegal push. Team B is awarded the ball at POI, which is an end-line running throw-in. In B) basket counts and no foul because the contact is neither intentional nor flagrant and was not committed on/by an airborne shooter.

Crew agreed unanimously on B), but on A) the contrary opinion was that because A1 was the shooter, the basket had to be canceled as with an airborne shooter PC foul.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 17, 2019, 01:10am
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 7,803
Quote:
Originally Posted by rekent View Post
Had a disagreement among a crew regarding the following play under NFHS rules. Would appreciate any input.

A1 drives down the middle of the lane and shoots a floater, returning to the floor and ending airborne shooter protections before A1's momentum causes A1 to run through B1 who has at all times maintained LGP in the path of A1. A1 illegally contacts B1: 1) prior to the ball passing through the basket; or 2) after the ball has passed through the basket. What is the call?

Crew decided (2-1) that in A) basket counts and A1 is assessed a common foul for an illegal push. Team B is awarded the ball at POI, which is an end-line running throw-in. In B) basket counts and no foul because the contact is neither intentional nor flagrant and was not committed on/by an airborne shooter.

Crew agreed unanimously on B), but on A) the contrary opinion was that because A1 was the shooter, the basket had to be canceled as with an airborne shooter PC foul.

A) The Crew decided correctly. And I hope that Team B was awarded the Ball for a Throw-in because Team B was not in the Bonus because while this PF was a CF it was not a TCF because neither Team had Control of the Ball.

B) Give all three members of the Crew a good Cuban cigar.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Ump. Assn.
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 17, 2019, 01:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 249
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
A) And I hope that Team B was awarded the Ball for a Throw-in because Team B was not in the Bonus because while this PF was a CF it was not a TCF because neither Team had Control of the Ball.
Correct, it was foul #4.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 17, 2019, 02:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,663
Quote:
Originally Posted by rekent View Post
Had a disagreement among a crew regarding the following play under NFHS rules. Would appreciate any input.

A1 drives down the middle of the lane and shoots a floater, returning to the floor and ending airborne shooter protections before A1's momentum causes A1 to run through B1 who has at all times maintained LGP in the path of A1. A1 illegally contacts B1: 1) prior to the ball passing through the basket; or 2) after the ball has passed through the basket. What is the call?

Crew decided (2-1) that in A) basket counts and A1 is assessed a common foul for an illegal push. Team B is awarded the ball at POI, which is an end-line running throw-in. In B) basket counts and no foul because the contact is neither intentional nor flagrant and was not committed on/by an airborne shooter.

Crew agreed unanimously on B), but on A) the contrary opinion was that because A1 was the shooter, the basket had to be canceled as with an airborne shooter PC foul.
The crew decisions are correct on both A and B. Iím curious why the one crew member wishes to cancel the goal when the foul is not a player control foul.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 17, 2019, 02:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 11,938
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
The crew decisions are correct on both A and B. Iím curious why the one crew member wishes to cancel the goal when the foul is not a player control foul.
Agree. Once A1 lands, A1 is a rebounder like A2 to A5.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 17, 2019, 02:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,995
Iím the second paragraph of the original post, all I see are situations 1 and 2. So why all the responses cor situation A and B, including by the original poster in his next paragraph??


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
If you ain't first, you're LAST!!!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 17, 2019, 03:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 11,938
Quote:
Originally Posted by WhistlesAndStripes View Post
Iím the second paragraph of the original post, all I see are situations 1 and 2. So why all the responses cor situation A and B, including by the original poster in his next paragraph??
Because the OP mixed the enumerations. Gotta pick one or the other. Since his conclusions were based on A and B, it makes sense to follow that when discussing the conclusions.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 17, 2019, 03:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,995
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
Because the OP mixed the enumerations. Gotta pick one or the other. Since his conclusions were based on A and B, it makes sense to follow that when discussing the conclusions.

Except that heís not even referring to his on situations himself.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
If you ain't first, you're LAST!!!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 17, 2019, 07:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,280
Quote:
Originally Posted by rekent View Post

Crew decided (2-1) that in A) basket counts and A1 is assessed a common foul for an illegal push. Team B is awarded the ball at POI, which is an end-line running throw-in.
I think that part is incorrect -- at least the nomenclature.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 17, 2019, 08:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 700
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
I think that part is incorrect -- at least the nomenclature.
Was going to post the same thing. Team B gets the penalty for the common foul. That may be foul shots if Team A is in the bonus. Since the OP later clarified that it was only team foul #4, Team B gets the ball at the spot closest to the foul.

Next question...do they get to run the endline if that spot is on the endline?
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 17, 2019, 08:30am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 13,716
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
Agree. Once A1 lands, A1 is a rebounder like A2 to A5.
That's a great way to simplify the play to come up with the correct ruling.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Tue Dec 17, 2019 at 09:55am.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 17, 2019, 08:33am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 13,716
Quote:
Originally Posted by Altor View Post
Was going to post the same thing. Team B gets the penalty for the common foul. That may be foul shots if Team A is in the bonus. Since the OP later clarified that it was only team foul #4, Team B gets the ball at the spot closest to the foul.



Next question...do they get to run the endline if that spot is on the endline?
Yes. If the foul were intentional, then it would be a designated spot throw-in on the end line.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 17, 2019, 09:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 146
In B scenario 2) after the ball has passed through the basket

The ball is now dead so the contact is a technical correct?
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 17, 2019, 09:56am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 13,716
Quote:
Originally Posted by Valley Man View Post
In B scenario 2) after the ball has passed through the basket



The ball is now dead so the contact is a technical correct?
If deemed intentional or flagrant, then that would be correct.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 17, 2019, 03:07pm
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,396
Quote:
Originally Posted by rekent View Post

Crew decided (2-1) that in A) basket counts and A1 is assessed a common foul for an illegal push. Team B is awarded the ball at POI, which is an end-line running throw-in. In B) basket counts and no foul because the contact is neither intentional nor flagrant and was not committed on/by an airborne shooter.
My only nit-pick here is that the throw-in is not technically a POI throw-in. POI is used in very specific situations (double fouls, simultaneous fouls, correctable errors, interrupted game, inadvertent whistles) and this isn't one of those situations.

The throw-in is the result of A1's foul, if and only if, Team B is not in the bonus.

The ruling is correct, as everybody else has stated. I just wanted to point out that this situation doesn't fit the Rule 4 definition of "Point of Interruption".
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Shooter landing on defender laying on floor CJP Basketball 99 Sat Dec 22, 2018 07:35pm
Foul after shooter returns to floor DrPete Basketball 20 Tue Jan 16, 2018 12:24am
Airborne shooter returns to the floor and is fouled rbruno Basketball 7 Thu Nov 23, 2017 12:34pm
9-1-3h, then a Foul vs the FT Shooter Freddy Basketball 10 Tue Sep 20, 2016 03:09pm
In-bounder returning to the floor Jumpshooter40 Basketball 4 Tue Jun 14, 2016 05:37pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:42am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1