The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 17, 2019, 03:07pm
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,709
Quote:
Originally Posted by rekent View Post

Crew decided (2-1) that in A) basket counts and A1 is assessed a common foul for an illegal push. Team B is awarded the ball at POI, which is an end-line running throw-in. In B) basket counts and no foul because the contact is neither intentional nor flagrant and was not committed on/by an airborne shooter.
My only nit-pick here is that the throw-in is not technically a POI throw-in. POI is used in very specific situations (double fouls, simultaneous fouls, correctable errors, interrupted game, inadvertent whistles) and this isn't one of those situations.

The throw-in is the result of A1's foul, if and only if, Team B is not in the bonus.

The ruling is correct, as everybody else has stated. I just wanted to point out that this situation doesn't fit the Rule 4 definition of "Point of Interruption".
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Shooter landing on defender laying on floor CJP Basketball 99 Sat Dec 22, 2018 07:35pm
Foul after shooter returns to floor DrPete Basketball 20 Tue Jan 16, 2018 12:24am
Airborne shooter returns to the floor and is fouled rbruno Basketball 7 Thu Nov 23, 2017 12:34pm
9-1-3h, then a Foul vs the FT Shooter Freddy Basketball 10 Tue Sep 20, 2016 03:09pm
In-bounder returning to the floor Jumpshooter40 Basketball 4 Tue Jun 14, 2016 05:37pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:35am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1