The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 17, 2019, 02:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by rekent View Post
Had a disagreement among a crew regarding the following play under NFHS rules. Would appreciate any input.

A1 drives down the middle of the lane and shoots a floater, returning to the floor and ending airborne shooter protections before A1's momentum causes A1 to run through B1 who has at all times maintained LGP in the path of A1. A1 illegally contacts B1: 1) prior to the ball passing through the basket; or 2) after the ball has passed through the basket. What is the call?

Crew decided (2-1) that in A) basket counts and A1 is assessed a common foul for an illegal push. Team B is awarded the ball at POI, which is an end-line running throw-in. In B) basket counts and no foul because the contact is neither intentional nor flagrant and was not committed on/by an airborne shooter.

Crew agreed unanimously on B), but on A) the contrary opinion was that because A1 was the shooter, the basket had to be canceled as with an airborne shooter PC foul.
The crew decisions are correct on both A and B. I’m curious why the one crew member wishes to cancel the goal when the foul is not a player control foul.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 17, 2019, 02:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
The crew decisions are correct on both A and B. I’m curious why the one crew member wishes to cancel the goal when the foul is not a player control foul.
Agree. Once A1 lands, A1 is a rebounder like A2 to A5.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 17, 2019, 08:30am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
Agree. Once A1 lands, A1 is a rebounder like A2 to A5.
That's a great way to simplify the play to come up with the correct ruling.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Tue Dec 17, 2019 at 09:55am.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Shooter landing on defender laying on floor CJP Basketball 99 Sat Dec 22, 2018 07:35pm
Foul after shooter returns to floor DrPete Basketball 20 Tue Jan 16, 2018 12:24am
Airborne shooter returns to the floor and is fouled rbruno Basketball 7 Thu Nov 23, 2017 12:34pm
9-1-3h, then a Foul vs the FT Shooter Freddy Basketball 10 Tue Sep 20, 2016 03:09pm
In-bounder returning to the floor Jumpshooter40 Basketball 4 Tue Jun 14, 2016 05:37pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:26am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1