The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 09, 2019, 01:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 890
Player goes OOB intentionally..kinda

Friend showed me a video. NFHS.

After a time-out, Team A has a designated spot throw-in on one side of the endline, near corner. After official hands ball to A1, A2, thinking it was an endline run throw-in, runs out of bounds on exact opposite side of A1 on endline. A2 is looking for pass from A1 and then, realizing her mistake, steps inbounds. Play continues.

Do you call a violation on A2 and award the ball to Team B?
__________________
If some rules are never enforced, then why do they exist?

Last edited by bucky; Sat Mar 09, 2019 at 11:05am.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 09, 2019, 03:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,441
Quote:
Originally Posted by bucky View Post
Friend showed me a video. NFHS.

After a time-out, Team A has a designated spot throw-in on one side of he endline, near corner. After official hands ball to A1, A2, thinking it was an endline run throw-in, runs out of bounds on exact opposite side of A1 on endline. A2 is looking for pass from A1 and then, realizing her mistake, steps inbounds. Play continues.

Do you call a violation on A2 and award the ball to Team B?
It is a violation for a teammate of the thrower to be out of bounds during a designated-spot throw-in.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 09, 2019, 06:53am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 13,317
Quote:
Originally Posted by bucky View Post
Friend showed me a video. NFHS.



After a time-out, Team A has a designated spot throw-in on one side of he endline, near corner. After official hands ball to A1, A2, thinking it was an endline run throw-in, runs out of bounds on exact opposite side of A1 on endline. A2 is looking for pass from A1 and then, realizing her mistake, steps inbounds. Play continues.



Do you call a violation on A2 and award the ball to Team B?
What if A3 then steps OOB, do you call 2 violations?

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 09, 2019, 07:00am
This IS My Social Life
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: at L, T, or C
Posts: 2,269
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
What if A3 then steps OOB, do you call 2 violations?
Yes, this a false double violation with each infraction penalized in the order of occurrence. Clear the lanes and award two consecutive throw-ins to Team B, the first a designated spot throw-in, the second to be determined based on the AP arrow.



It's been a long season.
__________________
Making Every Effort to Be in the Right Place at the Right Time, Looking at the Right Thing to Make the Right Call
www.myvirtualofficialsassociation.com
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 09, 2019, 11:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 890
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
It is a violation for a teammate of the thrower to be out of bounds during a designated-spot throw-in.
With all due respect Nevada, you did not answer the question.


Let's add more details to the play: Team B is winning by over 30 points, it is midway through the 4th quarter, A2 rarely gets a chance to play, there is no defensive pressure, and the Team A coach, as well as A1 are yelling at A2 to get back inbounds.

Still going to call the violation?
__________________
If some rules are never enforced, then why do they exist?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 09, 2019, 11:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 890
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
What if A3 then steps OOB, do you call 2 violations?
Yes, because just like a third direct Technical, it is warranted by the rule book. I am sure that Cam, CC, and Billy would all agree, lol.
__________________
If some rules are never enforced, then why do they exist?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 09, 2019, 11:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 11,693
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
What if A3 then steps OOB, do you call 2 violations?

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
Don't be silly. It is no longer a throwin, but perhaps you don't know that.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 09, 2019, 02:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,441
Quote:
Originally Posted by bucky View Post
With all due respect Nevada, you did not answer the question.


Let's add more details to the play: Team B is winning by over 30 points, it is midway through the 4th quarter, A2 rarely gets a chance to play, there is no defensive pressure, and the Team A coach, as well as A1 are yelling at A2 to get back inbounds.

Still going to call the violation?
When the game is competively over, Iíve been known to put the whistle away.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 09, 2019, 05:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,032
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
Don't be silly. It is no longer a throwin, but perhaps you don't know that.
I assume he meant to use a blue font.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 09, 2019, 06:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,383
Quote:
Originally Posted by bucky View Post
With all due respect Nevada, you did not answer the question.





Let's add more details to the play: Team B is winning by over 30 points, it is midway through the 4th quarter, A2 rarely gets a chance to play, there is no defensive pressure, and the Team A coach, as well as A1 are yelling at A2 to get back inbounds.



Still going to call the violation?


Oh for Peteís sake. Did you seriously just bait us with a generality so that you could subsequently criticize a perfectly accurate answer to your question?

Party foul.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Kinda like that dream, but different Adam Basketball 12 Sun Dec 04, 2011 12:12pm
Player Intentionally Runs Into Coach grunewar Basketball 9 Sat Feb 27, 2010 12:27pm
Off topic...kinda Dan_ref Basketball 15 Sun Jul 11, 2004 01:34pm
kinda interference. mick Baseball 7 Tue Jul 31, 2001 12:35pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:29am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1