![]() |
|
|
|||
Are there any fouls you can call that don't involve contact? What are those fouls and do they apply here?
Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Quote:
To call this, I assume I would have to deem that A2 deliberately impeded B2, rather than just being in the wrong place at the wrong time? |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Even if there is contact it doesn't mean the offense did anything wrong. They are entitled to their space on the floor and screening principles don't necessarily apply here.
__________________
in OS I trust |
|
|||
Quote:
If the defender is trying to get to the ball handler, why would they not apply?
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
So you are saying any moving offensive player is responsible for any contact made between said player and a defender?
__________________
in OS I trust |
|
|||
Not any. But, if a defender is attempting to reach the ball handler, the offensive player's movements must be legal with respect to screening rules. If there is contact, the only direction they can be moving is directly away from that defender, otherwise, they've set an illegal screen.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
In this instance, even if there was contact, I believe this is a case where a "moving screen" is legal. In fact, if B2 completely runs over A2, you might have a foul on B2.
4-40-6 When screening an opponent who is moving in the same path and direction as the screener, the player behind is responsible if contact is made because the player in front slows up or stops and the player behind overruns his/her opponent. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Regardless of the paths, if A2 does not come in contact with B2, there can be no foul because there would be no illegal contact.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
*Well, I have observed that sometimes officials are goaded into calling the non-existent but culturally-prevalent "reaching-in" pseudo-foul when Bx is defending ball-handler Ax. Bx is maintaining their LGP but also striking at the "air-space" of the dribbled ball while trying to disrupt or steal the ball--but NEVER making contact with the arm/hand/torso of Ax. I've seen officials call this a foul when no contact is made.
|
|
|||
Playing Devil's Advocate, based on the recent posts by DeeCee and Camron and NevadaRef:
A1, standing still at the top of the FT semi-circle, unguarded, dribbling. Cutter A2 runs parallel to the end line, through the FT lane. B1, standing near the basket, sees A2 begin his cut, and tries to draw an illegal screen call by timing his approach to "guard" A1, so that he collides with A2....illegal screen? |
|
|||
Quote:
You have to determine where B1 is trying to get to. Is B1 chucking a cutter preventing A1 from getting somewhere and committing a block in doing so or is B1 trying to defend A1 and A2 is illegally cutting of B1's path to A1.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
NCAA-Men's wants us to call a double foul if the defender "blows up" an illegal screener.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Illegal Screen or Not | APG | Basketball | 43 | Tue Jun 19, 2012 05:08pm |
Illegal Screen? | stiffler3492 | Basketball | 8 | Mon Feb 20, 2012 07:47pm |
Illegal screen or not? | dave30 | Basketball | 3 | Fri Nov 14, 2008 07:31am |
illegal Screen | johnyd | Basketball | 7 | Mon Oct 11, 2004 10:20am |
Illegal Screen | slickrick | Basketball | 5 | Tue Mar 20, 2001 03:25pm |