The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 04, 2019, 11:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,241
Quote:
Originally Posted by CJP View Post
It is not the same play described in the original post.
What about it makes it enough different that you would not call the OP but (presumably) call the NBA play?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 04, 2019, 11:10am
CJP CJP is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 275
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
What about it makes it enough different that you would not call the OP but (presumably) call the NBA play?
The ball in the training video has backcourt status; which the narrator makes a point of.

The ball originally discussed has frontcourt status.

Last edited by CJP; Mon Feb 04, 2019 at 11:14am.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 04, 2019, 11:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by CJP View Post
The ball in the training video has backcourt status; which the narrator makes a point of.

The ball originally discussed has frontcourt status.
No, the ball has backcourt status when it bounces in the backcourt.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 04, 2019, 11:44am
CJP CJP is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 275
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
No, the ball has backcourt status when it bounces in the backcourt.
Sure does. It then has frontcourt status when it bounced back into the frontcourt, assuming the ball strikes the floor before it is touched by W1.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 04, 2019, 12:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 734
Quote:
Originally Posted by CJP View Post
Sure does. It then has frontcourt status when it bounced back into the frontcourt, assuming the ball strikes the floor before it is touched by W1.
What surprises me in this discussion is that you seem to believe that the defensive team won't know this was a violation. In my experience watching games, players and coaches are well aware that offensive team bouncing the ball on the midcourt line results in a BC violation. Maybe the players and coaches here are just smarter than where you are . . .
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 04, 2019, 12:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 199
You are right Raymond .. I amended my original post

White has the ball in their front court. W1 throws an errant pass to W2. The ball sails past W2 for the corner where the division line and the side line meet. Before the ball goes out of bounds or into the back court, W2 saves it behind her back. The ball hits on the division line with English, bounces on the division line, then bounces back into the front court striking the floor once before W1 recovers the ball. No other player touched it. Ruling?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 04, 2019, 12:29pm
CJP CJP is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 275
Quote:
Originally Posted by so cal lurker View Post
What surprises me in this discussion is that you seem to believe that the defensive team won't know this was a violation. In my experience watching games, players and coaches are well aware that offensive team bouncing the ball on the midcourt line results in a BC violation. Maybe the players and coaches here are just smarter than where you are . . .
Don't think too deeply about what you think I believe. My thoughts on why this is a no call, for me personally, is not as simple as you described.

There are some plays where a call, even if correct, can have a much more negative effect on the game then a no-call. I don't think there are many but there are some. I think this is one of those plays as it is EXACTLY described. Keep in mind, this is the first time I ever gave this play any thought and if I encounter this situation and it plays out different from what I have in my mind now, I will reverse my position.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 04, 2019, 12:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by CJP View Post
There are some plays where a call, even if correct, can have a much more negative effect on the game then a no-call.
For which team exactly and why are you making this decision? As an impartial arbiter of the game the "effect" of one's calls shouldn't have any impact on the job at hand.

"game management" has it's place, however enforcing the rules > "game management".
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 04, 2019, 01:30pm
rsl rsl is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 301
Quote:
Originally Posted by CJP View Post
There are some plays where a call, even if correct, can have a much more negative effect on the game then a no-call.
If you are savvy enough to make this no-call, you should be savvy enough to make a "no-post" on this thread.

Posting that "I am not going to enforce a rule just because" will always invoke a negative response on this board.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 04, 2019, 12:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by CJP View Post
Sure does. It then has frontcourt status when it bounced back into the frontcourt, assuming the ball strikes the floor before it is touched by W1.
Partially correct. If the player that touches the ball first when it has "frontcourt" status was on the same team (offense) that was last to touch it when it gained "backcourt" status then the ball still is considered part of the "backcourt" (silly logic) and is a violation.

Where, when, how many times the ball bounces has little/no bearing on the status and violation when the ball is touched in relation to "frontcourt".
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 04, 2019, 12:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee View Post
Partially correct. If the player that touches the ball first when it has "frontcourt" status was on the same team (offense) that was last to touch it when it gained "backcourt" status then the ball still is considered part of the "backcourt" (silly logic) and is a violation.

Where, when, how many times the ball bounces has little/no bearing on the status and violation when the ball is touched in relation to "frontcourt".
No...it is not still considered part of the backcourt. The 10 second count that started when it touched the backcourt would now stop because the ball now has frontcourt status.

The violation is that team A is not allowed to be the next to touch a ball that had been in the backcourt previously, even if it is now in the frontcourt, if they were the last to touch it before it returned to the backcourt.

Where the ball is when it is touched doesn't have anything to do with the rule.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 04, 2019, 12:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
No...it is not still considered part of the backcourt. The 10 second count that started when it touched the backcourt would now stop because the ball now has frontcourt status.

The violation is that team A is not allowed to be the next to touch a ball that had been in the backcourt previously, even if it is now in the frontcourt, if they were the last to touch it before it returned to the backcourt.

Where the ball is when it is touched doesn't have anything to do with the rule.
So are you saying this violation is something other than a "backcourt" or "over and back" violation?
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 04, 2019, 01:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,241
Quote:
Originally Posted by CJP View Post
The ball in the training video has backcourt status; which the narrator makes a point of.

The ball originally discussed has frontcourt status.
Thanks. THat's helpful.

It reminds me of some posts here a long time ago to the effect of: For a BC violation to happen, it's not necessary that A touch the ball in the FC or that A touch the ball in the BC. Only that the ball reach the FC, and the BC an A is the last to touch before and first to touch after.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 04, 2019, 03:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Virginia
Posts: 546
Another reason to call this (and not ignore the rule) is that if you don't call it, you are putting your partner(s) in a tough position. If I'm the C on a play like this, there is a chance that I see the ball bounce in the BC. If I was 100% that the ball hit the BC, I'm coming to get this violation from the C if the T misses it or doesn't know the rule.

This isn't a judgement call/trust your partner call -- it's an obvious (although unusual) violation and I can't defend passing just because it's the Trail's line to call.

For those who are arguing not to call this, what would you do if your partner came and got it?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Backcourt? Official Basketball 2 Sat Dec 04, 2010 03:03pm
backcourt? jr Basketball 3 Sat Mar 11, 2006 09:43am
Backcourt Laker D Basketball 14 Sun Oct 24, 2004 01:40am
Backcourt or not Backcourt?? easygoer Basketball 6 Fri Mar 05, 2004 04:06pm
Backcourt??? whistleone Basketball 3 Sat Mar 01, 2003 01:11am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:49am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1