![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
Simply put, you're wrong to argue this shouldn't be called. There is no argument to not call it any more than not calling a ball sailing OOB where A1 attempts to save it but it bounces on the sideline in doing so. The only difference is that in the division line case, team B is allowed to recover it and play on while team A isn't.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association Last edited by Camron Rust; Mon Feb 04, 2019 at 01:15am. |
|
|||
Quote:
You can and I am okay with that too. |
|
|||
Quote:
Mostly, I ignore them and they languish at the subvarsity level. For the occasional ones who make it to the varsity level, I use the block feature. |
|
|||
Quote:
How can we ever expect to have consistency when people like you consciously choose to set aside basic rules? Pathetic.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
It's one thing to miss it like Billy says as it's a very close play with a lot of stuff going on. The other is to not call a violation that would give the other team the ball because you simply don't think it's "fair". There are moments, as an official, to apply "fair" to a game and the rules, but this, IMO, isn't one of them.
__________________
in OS I trust |
|
|||
Quote:
2. I will probably never see this play and if I do, the chances that I will be standing at the division line to see the ball actually strike the line is even more unlikely. I am not going to be the guy who goes after that "quirky" play just to prove his rules knowledge. 3. Consistency? Don't be so dramatic. No calls on this play are not running rampant. Have a great day guys. Thanks for the discussion. |
|
|||
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uqfZYht9K0k
8:05 shows this play happening in an NBA game and being called. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
The ball originally discussed has frontcourt status. Last edited by CJP; Mon Feb 04, 2019 at 11:14am. |
|
|||
No, the ball has backcourt status when it bounces in the backcourt.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
Sure does. It then has frontcourt status when it bounced back into the frontcourt, assuming the ball strikes the floor before it is touched by W1.
|
|
|||
Quote:
It reminds me of some posts here a long time ago to the effect of: For a BC violation to happen, it's not necessary that A touch the ball in the FC or that A touch the ball in the BC. Only that the ball reach the FC, and the BC an A is the last to touch before and first to touch after. |
|
|||
Another reason to call this (and not ignore the rule) is that if you don't call it, you are putting your partner(s) in a tough position. If I'm the C on a play like this, there is a chance that I see the ball bounce in the BC. If I was 100% that the ball hit the BC, I'm coming to get this violation from the C if the T misses it or doesn't know the rule.
This isn't a judgement call/trust your partner call -- it's an obvious (although unusual) violation and I can't defend passing just because it's the Trail's line to call. For those who are arguing not to call this, what would you do if your partner came and got it? |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Backcourt? | Official | Basketball | 2 | Sat Dec 04, 2010 03:03pm |
backcourt? | jr | Basketball | 3 | Sat Mar 11, 2006 09:43am |
Backcourt | Laker D | Basketball | 14 | Sun Oct 24, 2004 01:40am |
Backcourt or not Backcourt?? | easygoer | Basketball | 6 | Fri Mar 05, 2004 04:06pm |
Backcourt??? | whistleone | Basketball | 3 | Sat Mar 01, 2003 01:11am |