The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 03, 2019, 11:51pm
CJP CJP is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 250
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
But your fruit is sour.

Simply put, you're wrong to argue this shouldn't be called. There is no argument for not call it any more than not calling a ball sailing OOB where A1 attempts to save it but it bounces on the sideline in doing so. The only difference is that in the division line case, team B is allowed to recover it and play on while team A isn't.
Seriously, I don't care. I am not calling a violation in the described play.

You can and I am okay with that too.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 04, 2019, 01:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,345
Quote:
Originally Posted by CJP View Post
Seriously, I don't care. I am not calling a violation in the described play.

You can and I am okay with that too.
Unfortunately, Iíve run into several officials with this kind of attitude. Specifically, those who state Iím not calling such and such because I donít like it.
Mostly, I ignore them and they languish at the subvarsity level. For the occasional ones who make it to the varsity level, I use the block feature.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 04, 2019, 01:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 11,605
Quote:
Originally Posted by CJP View Post
Seriously, I don't care. I am not calling a violation in the described play.

You can and I am okay with that too.
Wow. Just wow. This isn't some quirk of the rules. Team A gets an advantage by using a larger space than they're allowed. Do you let them step on the OOB line too as long as it isn't too much?

How can we ever expect to have consistency when people like you consciously choose to set aside basic rules? Pathetic.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 04, 2019, 08:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,457
It's one thing to miss it like Billy says as it's a very close play with a lot of stuff going on. The other is to not call a violation that would give the other team the ball because you simply don't think it's "fair". There are moments, as an official, to apply "fair" to a game and the rules, but this, IMO, isn't one of them.
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 04, 2019, 08:34am
CJP CJP is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 250
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
Wow. Just wow. This isn't some quirk of the rules. Team A gets an advantage by using a larger space than they're allowed. Do you let them step on the OOB line too as long as it isn't too much?

How can we ever expect to have consistency when people like you consciously choose to set aside basic rules? Pathetic.
1. This is not a "basic" rule situation.
2. I will probably never see this play and if I do, the chances that I will be standing at the division line to see the ball actually strike the line is even more unlikely. I am not going to be the guy who goes after that "quirky" play just to prove his rules knowledge.
3. Consistency? Don't be so dramatic. No calls on this play are not running rampant.

Have a great day guys. Thanks for the discussion.
Reply With Quote
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 04, 2019, 10:24am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 13,151
Quote:
Originally Posted by Valley Man View Post
White has the ball in their front court. W1 throws an errant pass to W2. The ball sails past W2 for the corner where the division line and the side line meet. Before the ball goes out of bounds or into the back court, W2 saves it behind her back. The ball hits on the division line with English, bounces on the division line, then bounces back into the front court where W1 recovers the ball. No other player touched it. Ruling?
Backcourt violation all day long. If in position, should be no harder to see than if a player stepped on the division line. Or no harder to see than if the ball hit the side or end line.

Not sure how such a simple ruling garnered so much discussion.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 04, 2019, 10:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 215
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uqfZYht9K0k

8:05 shows this play happening in an NBA game and being called.
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 04, 2019, 10:53am
CJP CJP is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 250
Quote:
Originally Posted by sdoebler View Post
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uqfZYht9K0k

8:05 shows this play happening in an NBA game and being called.
It is not the same play described in the original post.
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 04, 2019, 11:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 16,968
Quote:
Originally Posted by CJP View Post
It is not the same play described in the original post.
What about it makes it enough different that you would not call the OP but (presumably) call the NBA play?
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 04, 2019, 11:10am
CJP CJP is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 250
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
What about it makes it enough different that you would not call the OP but (presumably) call the NBA play?
The ball in the training video has backcourt status; which the narrator makes a point of.

The ball originally discussed has frontcourt status.

Last edited by CJP; Mon Feb 04, 2019 at 11:14am.
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 04, 2019, 11:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 11,605
Quote:
Originally Posted by CJP View Post
The ball in the training video has backcourt status; which the narrator makes a point of.

The ball originally discussed has frontcourt status.
No, the ball has backcourt status when it bounces in the backcourt.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 04, 2019, 11:44am
CJP CJP is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 250
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
No, the ball has backcourt status when it bounces in the backcourt.
Sure does. It then has frontcourt status when it bounced back into the frontcourt, assuming the ball strikes the floor before it is touched by W1.
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 04, 2019, 12:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 691
Quote:
Originally Posted by CJP View Post
Sure does. It then has frontcourt status when it bounced back into the frontcourt, assuming the ball strikes the floor before it is touched by W1.
What surprises me in this discussion is that you seem to believe that the defensive team won't know this was a violation. In my experience watching games, players and coaches are well aware that offensive team bouncing the ball on the midcourt line results in a BC violation. Maybe the players and coaches here are just smarter than where you are . . .
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 04, 2019, 12:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 126
You are right Raymond .. I amended my original post

White has the ball in their front court. W1 throws an errant pass to W2. The ball sails past W2 for the corner where the division line and the side line meet. Before the ball goes out of bounds or into the back court, W2 saves it behind her back. The ball hits on the division line with English, bounces on the division line, then bounces back into the front court striking the floor once before W1 recovers the ball. No other player touched it. Ruling?
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 04, 2019, 12:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,457
Quote:
Originally Posted by CJP View Post
Sure does. It then has frontcourt status when it bounced back into the frontcourt, assuming the ball strikes the floor before it is touched by W1.
Partially correct. If the player that touches the ball first when it has "frontcourt" status was on the same team (offense) that was last to touch it when it gained "backcourt" status then the ball still is considered part of the "backcourt" (silly logic) and is a violation.

Where, when, how many times the ball bounces has little/no bearing on the status and violation when the ball is touched in relation to "frontcourt".
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Backcourt? Official Basketball 2 Sat Dec 04, 2010 03:03pm
backcourt? jr Basketball 3 Sat Mar 11, 2006 09:43am
Backcourt Laker D Basketball 14 Sun Oct 24, 2004 01:40am
Backcourt or not Backcourt?? easygoer Basketball 6 Fri Mar 05, 2004 04:06pm
Backcourt??? whistleone Basketball 3 Sat Mar 01, 2003 01:11am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:13pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1