The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 07, 2019, 09:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,215
NCAAW Interp (correct because the NCAAW rule is different from FED's rule):

DATE:

1/2/2019

RULE:

4-8-2

QUESTION:

Team A has control of the ball in the front court. B2 deflects the ball deep into the back court and A2 runs back and receives the ball back by the free throw line. Because team A was still in team control does the 10 second counts start when the ball crosses the division line or when A2 picks the ball up?

ANSWER:

No part of the backcourt count is predicated on the ball crossing the division line. When B2 deflected the ball into the backcourt, the ten-second count begins when any player touches the ball in Team A’s backcourt (Rule 9-10; A.R. 233 [1]).


Here's the relevant rule:

Section 10. 10-Second Backcourt
The 10-second count shall begin when a player legally touches the ball in her
team’s backcourt except on a rebound or jump ball. In such case, the 10-second
count shall start on player control. Once the 10-second count begins, an
inbounds player (and her team) shall not be in continuous control of a ball that
is in her backcourt for 10 consecutive seconds. The 10-second count shall be
reset on all stoppages of the game clock except when the opponents cause the
ball to be out of bounds, the team in control retains possession following a held
ball, a technical foul is assessed to the team in control, or the team in control
is granted a timeout.

Last edited by bob jenkins; Mon Jan 07, 2019 at 09:09am.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 07, 2019, 10:49am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,450
High School Versus College ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
... the NCAAW rule is different from FED's rule ... Section 10. 10-Second Backcourt
Maybe that's why the NFHS came out with the annual interpretation (2008-09 SITUATION 8), because high school officials were confusing the high school rule with the college rule?

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
... the NFHS must have thought that something "fishy" was going on to make this situation an annual interpretation.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Mon Jan 07, 2019 at 10:57am.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 07, 2019, 03:18pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,964
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
NCAAW Interp (correct because the NCAAW rule is different from FED's rule):

DATE:

1/2/2019

RULE:

4-8-2

QUESTION:

Team A has control of the ball in the front court. B2 deflects the ball deep into the back court and A2 runs back and receives the ball back by the free throw line. Because team A was still in team control does the 10 second counts start when the ball crosses the division line or when A2 picks the ball up?

ANSWER:

No part of the backcourt count is predicated on the ball crossing the division line. When B2 deflected the ball into the backcourt, the ten-second count begins when any player touches the ball in Team A’s backcourt (Rule 9-10; A.R. 233 [1]).


Here's the relevant rule:

Section 10. 10-Second Backcourt
The 10-second count shall begin when a player legally touches the ball in her
team’s backcourt except on a rebound or jump ball. In such case, the 10-second count shall start on player control. Once the 10-second count begins, an inbounds player (and her team) shall not be in continuous control of a ball that is in her backcourt for 10 consecutive seconds. The 10-second count shall be reset on all stoppages of the game clock except when the opponents cause the ball to be out of bounds, the team in control retains possession following a held ball, a technical foul is assessed to the team in control, or the team in control is granted a timeout.
They seem to go out of their way to emphasize that the ball crossing the division line having no affect a 10-second count starting. I don't think that's an argument anybody has ever tried to make. Why nothing on the more pertinent part of this conversation, the ball attaining BC status while in continuous TC? We all know the 10-second count terminates once the ball gains FC status, regardless of PC. The relevant variable to this conversation should be the reverse--should a 10-second count start when the ball attains BC status while in continuous TC.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Mon Jan 07, 2019 at 03:22pm.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 07, 2019, 03:32pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,450
For Our High School Only Members ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
They seem to go out of their way to emphasize that the ball crossing the division line having no affect a 10-second count starting.
For our high school only members that see this college interpretation, I don't like the phrase "crossing the division line".

The ball crossing the plane of the division line (in the air) is not only not relevant to the college ten second count, it's also not relevant to the application of the high school ten second count, the ball must touch someone in the backcourt, or the floor in the backcourt, to begin the high school ten second count in the situation that we've been discussing, not simply cross the plane of the division line in the air.

Of course, all Forum members are what'cha call experts, and we would never think that.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Mon Jan 07, 2019 at 03:35pm.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 07, 2019, 03:59pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,964
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
For our high school only members that see this college interpretation, I don't like the phrase "crossing the division line".

The ball crossing the plane of the division line (in the air) is not only not relevant to the college ten second count, it's also not relevant to the application of the high school ten second count, the ball must touch someone in the backcourt, or the floor in the backcourt, to begin the high school ten second count in the situation that we've been discussing, not simply cross the plane of the division line in the air.
....
That's exactly my point to Bob. That's a worthless test question because it discusses something no one ever gets confused about. The confusion, understandably, is a ball that gains BC status while in continuous TC after previously being in the FC. As far as I can tell in that test question, the ball never touched the floor in the backcourt, thus duh, it didn't gain BC status until the A2 caught the ball.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 07, 2019, 04:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,215
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
That's exactly my point to Bob. That's a worthless test question because it discusses something no one ever gets confused about. The confusion, understandably, is a ball that gains BC status while in continuous TC after previously being in the FC. As far as I can tell in that test question, the ball never touched the floor in the backcourt, thus duh, it didn't gain BC status until the A2 caught the ball.
It's not a test question, it's an answer by the secretary rules-editor to a question submitted to him.

My interp is that the ball hitting the floor before A gets to it is implied (but I agree it could be stated). I don't think I've ever seen a ball deflected to the back court that went more than a couple of feet before hitting the floor (or being caught).
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 07, 2019, 03:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,215
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
They seem to go out of their way to emphasize that the ball crossing the division line having no affect a 10-second count starting. I don't think that's an argument anybody has ever tried to make. Why nothing on the more pertinent part of this conversation, the ball attaining BC status while in continuous TC? We all know the 10-second count terminates once the ball gains FC status, regardless of PC. The relevant variable to this conversation should be the reverse--should a 10-second count start when the ball attains BC status while in continuous TC.
The rule makes it clear (at least to me). It details when, always, the count starts -- in the OP (and in all instances except a jump ball or a rebound), it's when the ball is touched.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
When do you start the count Zoochy Basketball 7 Sat Dec 14, 2013 10:50am
When Does the 10 Second Count Start? Spence Basketball 4 Wed Jan 13, 2010 10:45pm
when to start 10 second count BEAREF Basketball 25 Thu Jan 31, 2008 11:21pm
When Does the 10 Second Count Start FeetBallRef Basketball 9 Wed Jan 23, 2008 09:00pm
10 second count, when does it start? mjbofficial Basketball 25 Tue Feb 13, 2007 10:03am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:08am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1