The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 30, 2018, 02:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 422
Video Request: St. Johns at Seton Hall - Inadvertent Whistle

At the end of the game, SH has an inbound pass that was stolen/deflected by SJ. Official blows an inadvertent whistle and the ball is given back to SH for another throw-in. They make a 3-point game winning buzzer beater.

This play was described to me but I have not seen the situation in it's entirety. I would like to see what caused the inadvertent whistle and the adjudication process. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 30, 2018, 03:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,518
I saw it on SportsCenter last night. It is exactly as you write.

The rule was applied correctly, but it was a very unfortunate screw up by the Trail.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 30, 2018, 03:43pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 28,953
Here you go.



Peace
__________________
"When the phone does not ring, the assignor is calling."
--Black

Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 30, 2018, 03:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 916
Clock appeared to have been started so unsure why text indicates it did not. Clock stopped at 3.5 so unsure why they put less on. Yes, unfortunate. Would have liked to understand what T's rational was for blowing whistle.
__________________
If some rules are never enforced, then why do they exist?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 30, 2018, 04:02pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 28,953
Quote:
Originally Posted by bucky View Post
Clock appeared to have been started so unsure why text indicates it did not. Clock stopped at 3.5 so unsure why they put less on. Yes, unfortunate. Would have liked to understand what T's rational was for blowing whistle.
I think more than .4 should have come off the clock at the time he stopped he blew the whistle. But then again that is why I think he blew his whistle. But then again maybe should have let it play out a little more before stopping play. But again this is why I posted this the way that I did because it is an open question. I do not necessarily have the right answer for these situations. If you have done this long enough this will likely happen to you at some point where you flinch and blow the whistle when you probably should not have.

Peace
__________________
"When the phone does not ring, the assignor is calling."
--Black

Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 30, 2018, 06:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,413
Clock management is important and all, but I think this is a case where hypersensitivity to it backfired. There was an unexpected deflection on the TI pass. Then about 0.2s elapsed at which point the clock was started (likely corresponding to human reaction time—“oh, hey, that was tipped!”).

To nitpick this without letting the sequence play out first was most unfortunate. I don’t think this was technically an officiating “mistake,” but you can argue it was ill-advised.

Awesomely teachable moment, above all else.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 30, 2018, 11:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 422
There was some talk who believe the T blew because he thought the SJ player was stepping out of bounds during the tip or it was anticipated that he would land on the sideline with the ball. Was there a replay shot that showed this?

Per the mechanics manual, the T should be chopping the clock (which he doesn't) and activating the PTS pack upon legal contact of the ball from a player. If the T chops, it would give us a better indication when he believed the clock should have started. The T then raises his hand to stop the clock during his whistle.

If I'm the T, there is no way I would be able to see if the clock started on the tipped ball that eventually goes toward the sideline. The tipped ball by the SJ player is an active match-up that would have my attention as the T and my sightline would not be toward the clock. I would hope the tableside C would look (be responsible) for a proper clock start. Just looking at the video, it does not appear to me that the T looks toward the backboard clock during his whistle.

If they ruled an inadvertent whistle after the tipped (loose) ball, they should have gone to the possession arrow to determine which team would get the ball. Does anyone know if SH had the possession arrow?

Thanks JRut for posting. This a great play for learning and discussion.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 30, 2018, 11:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,413
Quote:
Originally Posted by dahoopref View Post
If they ruled an inadvertent whistle after the tipped (loose) ball, they should have gone to the possession arrow to determine which team would get the ball. Does anyone know if SH had the possession arrow?

Umm. That’s not how it works. Question for you: who had team control at the time of the IW?



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 30, 2018, 11:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 11,791
Quote:
Originally Posted by crosscountry55 View Post
Umm. That’s not how it works. Question for you: who had team control at the time of the IW?
If the rule is the same as the NFHS, no one. And, as far as I can tell, it is. Team control on a throw-in is solely for the purposes of administering fouls. True team control begins only once a player in-bounds is holding or dribbling the ball.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 30, 2018, 11:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,790
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
If the rule is the same as the NFHS, no one. And, as far as I can tell, it is. Team control on a throw-in is solely for the purposes of administering fouls. True team control begins only once a player in-bounds is holding or dribbling the ball.
Agree. Should have gone AP. Maybe they did...Doesn’t look like it from clip but maybe there was more that isn’t shown...

Last edited by BigCat; Mon Dec 31, 2018 at 12:05am.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 31, 2018, 12:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,413
Video Request: St. Johns at Seton Hall - Inadvertent Whistle

Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
If the rule is the same as the NFHS, no one. And, as far as I can tell, it is. Team control on a throw-in is solely for the purposes of administering fouls. True team control begins only once a player in-bounds is holding or dribbling the ball.

I use NFHS and cite 4-12-2d and 4-12-3, and the absence of contravening evidence in 4-12 articles 4-6. There are also no 4.12 case plays that back up your interpretation.

This is a POI case involving a team that was in control, in my opinion. But I am willing to be proven wrong if you can come up with a clearer reference rule or case.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Last edited by crosscountry55; Mon Dec 31, 2018 at 12:27am.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 31, 2018, 12:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,518
Quote:
Originally Posted by crosscountry55 View Post
I use NFHS and cite 4-12-2d and 4-12-3, and the absence of contravening evidence in 4-12 articles 4-6. There are also no 4.12 case plays that back up your interpretation.

This is a POI case involving a team that was in control, in my opinion. But I am willing to be proven wrong if you can come up with a clearer reference rule or case.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Take a look at this thread.
https://forum.officiating.com/basket...whats-poi.html
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 31, 2018, 12:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,790
Quote:
Originally Posted by crosscountry55 View Post
I use NFHS and cite 4-12-2d and 4-12-3, and the absence of contravening evidence in 4-12 articles 4-6. There are also no 4.12 case plays that back up your interpretation.

This is a POI case involving a team that was in control, in my opinion. But I am willing to be proven wrong if you can come up with a clearer reference rule or case.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
You can also look at the POE in the back of the 2017/18 rule book. It is same there as in 14/15 book.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 31, 2018, 01:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 422
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
If the rule is the same as the NFHS, no one.
According the NCAA Appendix V / Major Rule Differences Pg 116

Team Control Definition
NFHS: Team is in control when a player is in control, when a live ball is passed among teammates, during an interrupted dribble, when the ball is at the disposal of a throwerin.

NCAA: Men - Same as NFHS
Women - Same as NFHS

Loose Ball
NFHS: None

NCAA: Men - When a player holding/dribbling the ball fumbles, a defender bats/deflects the ball out of offensive player’s control or following a try being released.
Women - Same as NFHS
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 31, 2018, 01:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,413
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
You can also look at the POE in the back of the 2017/18 rule book. It is same there as in 14/15 book.

Got all that and understand it. We don’t count 3s, 10s, make court location determinations, yada yada yada, until player/team control inbounds. Other rules already exist to support all of these facets. The POE just interprets them in one place for those who still—some ten years after the 4-17 rule change—overthink this.

BUT!! The POE—which is just that and not an actual rule—mentions nothing about IW/POI situations during TIs before control is established inbounds. So with that, a plain reading of 4-12/13, as already argued, indicates that a team is in control during a TI after the pass is released and before player control is established inbounds. No gymnastics (to borrow the metaphor used last year) are needed to explain this. It’s right there in black and white in the rule book. There is no 4-12-3d that says “...the ball is released on a TI pass.” That’s all the NFHS would need to do to favor your interpretation, and yet in ten years they haven’t, and I believe that’s precisely because they don’t favor your interpretation.

I realize we didn’t resolve this last year and we’re not likely to this time around, either.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Villanova @ Seton Hall play (Video) JRutledge Basketball 0 Thu Mar 01, 2018 02:38am
Video Request - Villanova/Seton Hall Spence Basketball 3 Sun Feb 04, 2018 02:53pm
Columbia @ Seton Hall (Video) Play JRutledge Basketball 17 Tue Dec 06, 2016 10:22am
Seton Hall/Xavier continuous motion (video request) JetMetFan Basketball 23 Sat Mar 12, 2016 03:40pm
(Video Request) Troy at Seton Hall (FS1) JRutledge Basketball 12 Mon Dec 14, 2015 12:48am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:07pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1