The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 31, 2018, 09:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,038
So, in essence, the release of the throwin is irrelevant, right? Had the IW occurred while the in-bounder was holding the ball, still go to AP if NFHS. That seems very unfair.
__________________
If some rules are never enforced, then why do they exist?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 31, 2018, 10:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
[QUOTE=bucky;1027971]So, in essence, the release of the throwin is irrelevant, right? Had the IW occurred while the in-bounder was holding the ball, still go to AP if NFHS. That seems very unfair.[/QUOT

If the throw in hasn’t been released then the throwin has not ended and the POI under NFHS rules is a throwin for that team. If the throwin is released and not yet touched, the throwin has not ended and POI is again a throwin to the throwin team. If the throwin is released, deflected and loose when IW happens then you go to AP. No team in control inbounds.
NCAA says even when throwin deflected and loose, throwin team still in control. POI goes back to throwin team.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 31, 2018, 11:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post

If the throw in hasn’t been released then the throwin has not ended and the POI under NFHS rules is a throwin for that team. If the throwin is released and not yet touched, the throwin has not ended and POI is again a throwin to the throwin team. If the throwin is released, deflected and loose when IW happens then you go to AP. No team in control inbounds.
NCAA says even when throwin deflected and loose, throwin team still in control. POI goes back to throwin team.
100% correct

Last edited by Nevadaref; Tue Jan 01, 2019 at 05:19pm.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 01, 2019, 12:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,038
Something contradictory here. What difference does it make if the throw in has not ended? The whole point was to go to AP arrow when there was no TC and it was argued that there is no TC during a throw-in as far as IW whistles are concerned, that TC is only relevant for fouls.

That was my point. For IW, it should, based on what others have indicated under NFHS, not matter who was inbounding as you would always go to the arrow. Whether holding the ball, releasing it, releasing it and it being deflected, would all not come into play. An IW during any of those situations would result in going to the arrow.
__________________
If some rules are never enforced, then why do they exist?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 01, 2019, 01:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by bucky View Post
Something contradictory here. What difference does it make if the throw in has not ended? The whole point was to go to AP arrow when there was no TC and it was argued that there is no TC during a throw-in as far as IW whistles are concerned, that TC is only relevant for fouls.

That was my point. For IW, it should, based on what others have indicated under NFHS, not matter who was inbounding as you would always go to the arrow. Whether holding the ball, releasing it, releasing it and it being deflected, would all not come into play. An IW during any of those situations would result in going to the arrow.
The POI rule, 4-36-2b says the POI for an IW is a throwin when the interruption occurred during this activity. It is because of POI rule that ball goes back to team A if IW occurs before throw in ends. It could be made a whole lot clearer....
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 01, 2019, 07:36am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,954
Quote:
Originally Posted by bucky View Post
Something contradictory here. What difference does it make if the throw in has not ended? The whole point was to go to AP arrow when there was no TC and it was argued that there is no TC during a throw-in as far as IW whistles are concerned, that TC is only relevant for fouls.



That was my point. For IW, it should, based on what others have indicated under NFHS, not matter who was inbounding as you would always go to the arrow. Whether holding the ball, releasing it, releasing it and it being deflected, would all not come into play. An IW during any of those situations would result in going to the arrow.
The rules explicitly say otherwise.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 01, 2019, 05:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by bucky View Post
Something contradictory here. What difference does it make if the throw in has not ended? The whole point was to go to AP arrow when there was no TC and it was argued that there is no TC during a throw-in as far as IW whistles are concerned, that TC is only relevant for fouls.

That was my point. For IW, it should, based on what others have indicated under NFHS, not matter who was inbounding as you would always go to the arrow. Whether holding the ball, releasing it, releasing it and it being deflected, would all not come into play. An IW during any of those situations would result in going to the arrow.
You need to read the NFHS POI rule. It has three parts. Part 1 is for situations when there is team control. Part 2 is for situations during a free throw or a throw-in or when a team is entitled to one of those (the officials are about to administer such). Part 3 covers everything else.

Now how is the game resumed for:
Part 1 situations? —> award a throw-in to the team which had control.
Part 2 situations? —> award the team the throw-in or free throw which it was in the process of making or about to have take place.
Part 3 situations? —> award possession using the AP arrow.

The situation in the video is a Part 3 situation since the throw-in ended when the defender deflected the pass. Therefore, under NFHS rules play would be resumed using the AP arrow. NCAAM have a different ruling which awards the ball back to the throwing team.

On another note, Fox re-aired this contest yesterday and I watched the final ten minutes. Michael Stephens was the Trail official who blew the whistle during the play. After consulting the monitor with James Breeding, they determined to change the clock from 3.9 to 3.1 seconds remaining. Michael Stephens went over to broadcaster Len Elmore before play resumed and explained that he sounded his whistle after the deflection because the clock did not properly start.

We can debate whether he was over-sensitive to the clock in this situation and should have held his whistle while allowing the action on the court to play out and then halted the game at a better stopping point to correct the clock, but he did not have an inadvertent whistle afterall. He deliberately sounded it to make a timing correction at an unfortunate point in the action.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 01, 2019, 07:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,742
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
The situation in the video is a Part 3 situation since the throw-in ended when the defender deflected the pass. Therefore, under an ambiguous 12-year old NFHS POE that has never been codified in the rules play would be resumed using the AP arrow. NCAAM have a different interpretation which awards the ball back to the throwing team.
fify

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Michael Stephens went over to broadcaster Len Elmore before play resumed and explained that he sounded his whistle after the deflection because the clock did not properly start.

We can debate whether he was over-sensitive to the clock in this situation and should have held his whistle while allowing the action on the court to play out and then halted the game at a better stopping point to correct the clock, but he did not have an inadvertent whistle afterall. He deliberately sounded it to make a timing correction at an unfortunate point in the action.
That's nice, but whether IW or not at that point, POI principles apply regardless.

BillyMac, since you're good at submitting rule change suggestions, next spring can you submit this case to be rectified once and for all? I recommend the committee either adopt Art Hyland's interpretation that a TI should fall under the umbrella of "a ball that is being passed among teammates" (that could be done with a "NOTE" in the rules) or that Rule 4-12-3e be added to state that TC "ends when a TI ends if the end of the TI is not simultaneous with the establishment of player control." One solution or the other, please! The current setup of "governance by POE" is unprofessional.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 01, 2019, 07:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Crosscountry55 makes an excellent point. Under the POI rule in NFHS this is either a part 1 situation with team control or a part 3 situation without control by either team. The definition of TC in the current rules book would lead one to put it in under part 1, while the language of the numerous and recent POEs on TC would place it in part 3.
I agree that the NFHS needs to fix this situation and update the rules book with language that states what is desired.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Villanova @ Seton Hall play (Video) JRutledge Basketball 0 Thu Mar 01, 2018 02:38am
Video Request - Villanova/Seton Hall Spence Basketball 3 Sun Feb 04, 2018 02:53pm
Columbia @ Seton Hall (Video) Play JRutledge Basketball 17 Tue Dec 06, 2016 10:22am
Seton Hall/Xavier continuous motion (video request) JetMetFan Basketball 23 Sat Mar 12, 2016 03:40pm
(Video Request) Troy at Seton Hall (FS1) JRutledge Basketball 12 Mon Dec 14, 2015 12:48am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:34am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1