The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 19, 2018, 08:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 199
Okay, how about a defensive player standing with his arms out and a dribbler runs into the outstretched arm, no foul? The defensive player was standing there like a statue. If an offensive player with the ball comes in contact with a defensive player that is not in legal guarding position, the responsibility for the contact is on the defensive player. Can someone stand like a statue with his back to a ball handler in front of the basket and take a charge? No. Why not if you are correct?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 19, 2018, 08:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,195
Quote:
Originally Posted by thedewed View Post
Can someone stand like a statue with his back to a ball handler in front of the basket and take a charge?
Yes.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 19, 2018, 09:02am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 199
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Yes.
Wow. Never seen it, never will. That's crazy. So explain what the point of lgp even is? That is simply not the way the game is called.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 19, 2018, 09:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 785
Quote:
Originally Posted by thedewed View Post
Wow. Never seen it, never will. That's crazy. So explain what the point of lgp even is? That is simply not the way the game is called.
LGP grants the defense extra privileges in addition to the right to a spot on the floor (provided he gets there first and legally). Namely, LGP allows the defender to move laterally and backwards to maintain LGP.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 19, 2018, 09:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 199
No official in their right mind is going to not call a block on a player in front of the basket with his back to the basket If a driver makes contact with him. Good luck with that.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 19, 2018, 09:34am
LRZ LRZ is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: SE PA
Posts: 768
I repeat my advice: Talk this over with some experienced officials you respect.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 19, 2018, 11:47am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by thedewed View Post
No official in their right mind is going to not call a block on a player in front of the basket with his back to the basket If a driver makes contact with him. Good luck with that.

B is in a zone defense. A1 catches deep in the corner and squares up to shoot a 3. B1, on the block, turns his back to A1 to prepare for a rebound. A1 puts the ball on the floor and drives baseline. B1 is totally stationary. A1 runs right up his back. You call a block on B1 for this?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 19, 2018, 12:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 199
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
B is in a zone defense. A1 catches deep in the corner and squares up to shoot a 3. B1, on the block, turns his back to A1 to prepare for a rebound. A1 puts the ball on the floor and drives baseline. B1 is totally stationary. A1 runs right up his back. You call a block on B1 for this?
exactly. what have you got, nothing? certainly not a charge. if a defender isn't ball-aware enough to turn and square up, and is in the route of the driver, and there is contact, it's a block.

I suppose if the context isn't a legit bball play, i.e. the dribbler is simply seeking out an unwary defender, rather than making a legit play on the basket, I'd look at it differently, but if a dribbler is making a basketball move and comes in contact with a defensive player, if the defensive player isn't in LGP, if there is enough contact for a foul, the foul is on the defense.

I was officiating games with NBA players over 20 years ago and had them eating out of my hand, via common sense. I don't need to talk to anyone. If anyone can come up with a video of a D1 official calling a charge on a dribbler driving into a defensive player at the basket with his back to him, put it up. It won't happen.

I'm talking about men's basketball here...if it's a non-basketball play, that's different. Same with player on the floor. If a dribbler takes a path intentionally to run over a player on the floor, and it's obvious he's simply trying to get a call from a naive official, I wouldn't make that call. Use common sense.

I've never seen either of these things happen or get called the way you all describe it, ever, at least in D1 or pro.

You all have younger officials on here looking for actual guidance as they progress, I'd be careful filling their heads with inappropriate concepts. The answer here in legit bball plays is, was the defensive player in legal guarding position. If not, it certainly isn't a charge, and is either a no-call or a block.

some of you are reading too much into the 'entitled to a position on the floor' language in the books, that doesn't overrule the need for LGP. If you called a charge in a game where a driver direct to the basket collided with a defensive player that was looking for the rebound and had his back to the drive, you would get laughed out of the gym, if it was men's basketball.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 19, 2018, 01:02pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,404
Charge ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
B is in a zone defense. A1 catches deep in the corner and squares up to shoot a 3. B1, on the block, turns his back to A1 to prepare for a rebound. A1 puts the ball on the floor and drives baseline. B1 is totally stationary. A1 runs right up his back.
Nice realistic (especially if B1 is a secondary defender) scenario. Player control foul on A1, who prevents B1 from having any ability to get a rebound.

4-23-1: Every player is entitled to a spot on the playing court provided such player
gets there first without illegally contacting an opponent. A player who
extends an arm, shoulder, hip or leg into the path of an opponent is not
considered to have a legal position if contact occurs.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Wed Dec 19, 2018 at 01:15pm.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 19, 2018, 12:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by thedewed View Post
No official in their right mind is going to not call a block on a player in front of the basket with his back to the basket If a driver makes contact with him. Good luck with that.
Officials that understand the rules will not call that a block. Those that make up their own rules might. Quit making it harder on others by making up your own stuff.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 19, 2018, 11:16pm
This IS My Social Life
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: at L, T, or C
Posts: 2,379
Quote:
Originally Posted by thedewed View Post
No official in their right mind is going to not call a block on a player in front of the basket with his back to the basket If a driver makes contact with him. Good luck with that.
I will.
And I'm in my right mind. (Not left-handed, even.)
__________________
Making Every Effort to Be in the Right Place at the Right Time, Looking at the Right Thing to Make the Right Call
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 19, 2018, 11:27pm
This IS My Social Life
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: at L, T, or C
Posts: 2,379
For those (the one, only, perhaps) using LGP to defend his position on this NFHS ruling, the player getting run into/over/through IS NOT GUARDING ANYONE. S/he simply has the right to the spot on the floor at the time that s/he was run into/over/through. Legal guarding position has nothing to do with the discussion.
That's NFHS on it.
Easy!
__________________
Making Every Effort to Be in the Right Place at the Right Time, Looking at the Right Thing to Make the Right Call
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 19, 2018, 10:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,195
[QUOTE=thedewed;1027428] So explain what the point of lgp even is? /quote]

To allow additional movement by the defender that would otherwise be illegal.

Quote:
That is simply not the way the game is called.
As a practical matter, that's mainly true -- because very few defenders actually are standing still, or moving in the same path and direction as the offensive player. But, if you pay attention, you will see collisions between payers (whether the offensive player has the ball or not) that are properly judged to be "nothing"
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 19, 2018, 09:07am
LRZ LRZ is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: SE PA
Posts: 768
thedewed, you really ought to read (or re-read) the definitions in Rule 4 about guarding and arms and hands, and the contact section of Rule 10. Please note this line, which says nothing about LGP being a prerequisite: "Every player is entitled to a spot on the playing court provided such player gets there first without illegally contacting an opponent."

Maybe you should talk this over with some experienced officials you respect.

Last edited by LRZ; Wed Dec 19, 2018 at 09:09am.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 19, 2018, 09:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: NB/PEI, Canada
Posts: 788
The player with the arm out is trying to hold space they are not entitled to with their arm. So if the dribbler goes through their arm, AND if the contact has a significant and immediate impact on the offensive player then you can call a foul.

The player standing still backward is entitled to the spot they are holding and are protected from being run into and run over just because of where they choose to stand.

The debate here if you wanted to have one is whether or not a player on the ground can occupy all that space and have it called their's. Back turned, on one leg, sitting, standings, lying down. Players still need and are entitled to a space of their own free from opposing teams running roughshod into/through them.

If a player is not in LGP position to help on the ball carrier, so the ball carrier chooses to jump into their shoulder or side that does not mean that the stationary defender (who has the offense playing pin ball) should or will get a foul called against them.
__________________
Coach: Hey ref I'll make sure you can get out of here right after the game!

Me: Thanks, but why the big rush.

Coach: Oh I thought you must have a big date . . .we're not the only ones your planning on F$%&ing tonite are we!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Shooter landing on a player who flopped BDevil15 Basketball 25 Mon Jan 09, 2017 04:47pm
Laying on a defender bigjohn Football 3 Wed Sep 11, 2013 11:44am
Player Laying on the Floor Da Official Basketball 32 Thu Dec 02, 2010 04:51pm
Jab by the defender on the jump shooter (non-contact) FrankHtown Basketball 44 Thu Apr 02, 2009 06:31am
Shooter jumps into the airborne defender zanzibar Basketball 39 Sun Jan 23, 2005 01:58pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:58am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1