![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
No, the ball has not become dead "to end a quarter" in this case as there are FTs for a personal foul pending. If the technical foul were to occur after these FTs were completed (the ball becoming dead on the final attempt), then #4 would apply. However, in this situation were are clearly in exception #3. The technical foul occurs during a dead ball prior to the quarter ending. Don't be confused by the fact that there is no time remaining on the clock. That does not always indicate the end of a quarter.
|
|
|||
|
This case play could be written better.
"B1 fouls A1 just as the first quarter ends and then A1 retaliates and intentionally contacts B1. A1’s foul is a technical foul as it occurred during a dead ball. Team A is in the bonus. The officials by mistake administer the penalty for the technical foul before the free throw(s) by A1." Since there are bonus FTs to shoot the 1Q hasn't "ended," time has merely expired. It should say "just as time expires in the first quarter" to be more accurate. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
If some rules are never enforced, then why do they exist?
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Tap situation | Anchor | Basketball | 4 | Fri Dec 11, 2009 11:31am |
| Help with a situation | stripes | Basketball | 5 | Fri Dec 14, 2007 02:03pm |
| C.E. Situation ?? | garote | Basketball | 21 | Fri Oct 13, 2006 05:24pm |
| Situation | Roger Bridges | Softball | 47 | Thu Jan 06, 2005 09:56am |
| FT Situation | williebfree | Basketball | 4 | Wed Jan 29, 2003 07:54am |