The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 30, 2018, 06:47pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,502
Erratum ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
That's not illegal. The pivot must be returned to the floor for a traveling violation to occur, unless the player starts a dribble.
Good point. Thanks. I'll correct it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
But with airborne control the player in the video definitely traveled, lifting the first foot to touch down, the pivot foot, said foot returning to the floor (before the ball is released on a pass or a try).


Hiding the ball under his wing. Didn't start a dribble. Not passing. Not shooting. Travel? Not yet. Be patient, and he'll eventually travel.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Tue Jul 31, 2018 at 05:59am.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 30, 2018, 07:09pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,985
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Good point. Thanks. I'll correct it.
....
Well, actually the first foot to touch may return to the floor if A1 executes a proper jump stop.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 30, 2018, 10:17pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,502
Both Feet Airborne ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
Well, actually the first foot to touch may return to the floor if A1 executes a proper jump stop.
I don't believe that the player in the video meets the following parameters for such a legal jump stop:

Traveling is moving a foot or feet in any direction in excess of prescribed limits
while holding the ball. The limits on foot movements are as follows:
A player, who catches the ball while moving or dribbling, may stop,
and establish a pivot foot as follows:
a. If both feet are off the floor and the player lands:
3. On one foot, the player may jump off that foot and simultaneously land
on both.
Neither foot can be a pivot in this case.
After coming to a stop and establishing a pivot foot:
a. The pivot foot may be lifted, but not returned to the floor, before the ball is
released on a pass or try for goal.
b. If the player jumps, neither foot may be returned to the floor before the ball
is released on a pass or try for goal.
c. The pivot foot may not be lifted before the ball is released, to start a dribble.


Once that second (nonpivot) foot comes down, his legal options become more restricted. And even further restricted if the pivot foot is lifted (no dribble allowed).

Nevadaref and Raymond make great points. It has always been my contention that block/charge is not the most difficult call in basketball, it's traveling. That's my story and I'm sticking to it.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Mon Jul 30, 2018 at 10:35pm.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 30, 2018, 10:39pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,985
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
I don't believe that the player in the video meets the following parameters for such a legal jump stop:

...
I didn't say he did. I'm correcting your post where you said the first foot to touch the floor cannot retouch the floor prior to shooting or passing the ball.

Quote:
But with airborne control it can still be a travel violation, lifting the first foot to touch down, the pivot foot, said foot may not return to the floor before the ball is released on a pass or a try.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 31, 2018, 05:46am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,502
Gyrations ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
On one foot, the player may jump off that foot and simultaneously land on both.
My first introduction to the travel rule being not about counting steps (as I had previously believed as a player), but about identifying the pivot foot and the restrictions on the pivot foot, occurred as a rookie official. Even though it was almost forty years ago, I can still remember our local interpreter, who was responsible for teaching our rookie rules training classes (preparing us to take the IAABO written rules exam), demonstrating, in a classroom setting, without a basketball, all the permutations, combinations, and gyrations of the travel rule (many years before the use of video for training) like he was teaching us dance steps (one, two, cha cha cha) in slow motion. Anybody walking by that classroom, at a local college, would have stopped, stared, and walked away scratching their heads.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
It has always been my contention that block/charge is not the most difficult call in basketball, it's traveling.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Tue Jul 31, 2018 at 06:39pm.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 07, 2018, 09:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 295
IAABO letter:

The intent of this video is to clarify a prior interpretation from the NFHS with regard to a play situation that the NFHS had previously interpreted to be a backcourt violation. The NFHS has NOT adopted any part of the NCAA Men's backcourt rules that govern a ball deflected by a defensive player. Very little will change from the perspective of NFHS governed players, coaches, or officials, as this situation happens so infrequently that many officials will most likely never see this situation in their officiating careers - so infrequent that we couldn't find a single game situation play to illustrate the scenario and "staged" a play to illustrate the scenario.

The clarification … If Team A has team control in its frontcourt and the ball is batted, tapped, tipped, or deflected INTO THE AIR by a Team B player and BEFORE THE BALL HITS THE FLOOR, touches, is touched by, caught, or otherwise controlled by a Team A player WHO IS STANDING IN TEAM A's BACKCOURT OR OTHERWISE HAS BACKCOURT STATUS, Team A has NOT committed a backcourt violation. There is no rule change with regard to backcourt violations!

In a prior year's NFHS interpretation (2017 - 2018 Basketball Rules Interpretations, Oct. 6, 2017), this was to be ruled a backcourt violation by Team A. The new interpretation clarifies that this is not a backcourt violation.

Click https://u5486690.ct.sendgrid.net/wf/...5PezxCB6gtg-3D to view the play.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 07, 2018, 09:30am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,985
Quote:
Originally Posted by sdoebler View Post
IAABO letter:

The intent of this video is to clarify a prior interpretation from the NFHS with regard to a play situation that the NFHS had previously interpreted to be a backcourt violation. The NFHS has NOT adopted any part of the NCAA Men's backcourt rules that govern a ball deflected by a defensive player. Very little will change from the perspective of NFHS governed players, coaches, or officials, as this situation happens so infrequently that many officials will most likely never see this situation in their officiating careers - so infrequent that we couldn't find a single game situation play to illustrate the scenario and "staged" a play to illustrate the scenario.

The clarification … If Team A has team control in its frontcourt and the ball is batted, tapped, tipped, or deflected INTO THE AIR by a Team B player and BEFORE THE BALL HITS THE FLOOR, touches, is touched by, caught, or otherwise controlled by a Team A player WHO IS STANDING IN TEAM A's BACKCOURT OR OTHERWISE HAS BACKCOURT STATUS, Team A has NOT committed a backcourt violation. There is no rule change with regard to backcourt violations!

In a prior year's NFHS interpretation (2017 - 2018 Basketball Rules Interpretations, Oct. 6, 2017), this was to be ruled a backcourt violation by Team A. The new interpretation clarifies that this is not a backcourt violation.

Click https://u5486690.ct.sendgrid.net/wf/...5PezxCB6gtg-3D to view the play.
This is the wrong thread. The video in the OP had nothing to do with a tipped ball being caught in the backcourt, it concerns the way a player lands.

I believe you want this thread or this one.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Tue Aug 07, 2018 at 09:35am.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Violation Rule - Backcourt (Video) JRutledge Basketball 10 Fri Mar 10, 2017 01:50pm
UNC/Boston College backcourt violation (Video) bballref3966 Basketball 37 Mon Feb 09, 2015 07:17pm
Gonzaga vs. SMU Backcourt Violation? (Video) Sharpshooternes Basketball 15 Thu Nov 20, 2014 11:23am
Backcourt violation - please provide video sniez Basketball 12 Sun May 26, 2013 05:39pm
Backcourt Violation? with Video referee99 Basketball 27 Fri Mar 15, 2013 02:34pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:29am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1