The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 18, 2018, 09:46pm
This IS My Social Life
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: at L, T, or C
Posts: 2,255
Throw-In or OOB Violation

After B's made basket, A1's court-long throw-in is caught by A2 whose one foot is out-of-bounds. NFHS 2007-08 Interpretation (quoted below) rules this an OOB violation with subsequent throw-in to team B where A2 caught the ball while a foot was OOB, not a throw-in violation.

1) Is this still the prevailing and correct NFHS ruling?

2) Is NCAA-M the same? Does NCAA-M have any similar casebook citation or interpretation?

2007-08 Interpretation:
SITUATION 3: During an alternating-possession throw-in for Team A, thrower A1 passes the ball directly on the court where it contacts (a) A2 or (b) B2, while he/she is standing on a boundary line. RULING: Out-of-bounds violation on (a) A2; (b) B2. The player was touched by the ball while out of bounds, thereby ending the throw-in. The alternating-possession arrow is reversed and pointed toward Team B's basket when the throw-in ends (when A2/B2 is touched by the ball). A throw-in is awarded at a spot nearest the out-of-bounds violation for (a) Team B; (b) Team A. (4-42-5; 6-4-4; 9-2-2; 9-3-2)
__________________
Making Every Effort to Be in the Right Place at the Right Time, Looking at the Right Thing to Make the Right Call
www.myvirtualofficialsassociation.com
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 18, 2018, 10:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 11,690
Yes, it is the correct ruling.

It really was the correct ruling all along notwithstanding the interpretation that said it was a throwin violation that existed for a year or so. That interpretation, with A2 touching the ball, essentially said it was a violation on the thrower for the ball going "directly" OOB. It failed to consider that the person touching it and making it OOB might be on team B. It created an unintended consequence that team B could step OOB and touch the ball in order to create a violation against A and gain possession.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 18, 2018, 10:30pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 17,610
Late Twentieth Century ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Freddy View Post
A1's court-long throw-in is caught by A2 whose one foot is out-of-bounds.
Back in the late twentieth century, this was a throwin violation for not passing the ball to someone directly on the court, and Team B would get the ball at the spot of the throwin. Even odder, if B2 caught A1's court long throwin pass with one foot out of bounds, it still would have been a throwin violation against Team A, and Team B would get the ball at the spot of the throwin.

These interpretations are no longer valid.

__________________
John 3:16 "For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life."

Last edited by BillyMac; Thu Jul 19, 2018 at 05:23am.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Throw In Violation? Rich1 Basketball 23 Sun Jan 12, 2014 08:12pm
Throw-in violation? zm1283 Basketball 4 Thu Jan 07, 2010 10:26am
Throw-in violation or OOB violation? Nevadaref Basketball 47 Fri Nov 02, 2007 07:15pm
Throw-in spot after throw-in violation zebraman Basketball 6 Sun Dec 12, 2004 08:09pm
Throw in Violation? Jeff the Ref Basketball 13 Wed Feb 21, 2001 08:52am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:16pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1