The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 10, 2018, 04:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,039
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post


(Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade, 1989)


4.15.1 SITUATION C: A1 attempts a pass to A2 during pressing action in A’s backcourt. The ball hits B’s backboard and deflects directly back to A1 who catches the ball and starts a dribble. RULING: The pass against B’s backboard was the start of a dribble which ended when A1 caught the ball. It is a violation for a second dribble. (4-4-5; 9-5)

It's the holy grail, a citation that explicitly tells us that it only takes the start of a dribble to be a dribble.

The casebook play doesn't say anything about the ball hitting the floor, or being touched a second time. Nothing. It just says that A1 "starts a dribble".
I disagree. I feel that it does say something about the the ball being touched a second time with "...which ended when A1 caught the ball." You feel that "starts a dribble" is the key when IMO, "..which ended when.." is also paramount. That is the violation for a second dribble, the complete act, not just the start of it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
he is just being picky.
Um, no kidding. Apparently you glossed over my post and missed the part where I indicated "Technically,...."


Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Camron and I were on the same side then too.
And I guarantee that neither one of you would call anything until the ball was touched.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Where does it state that stationary player may toss the ball into the air and catch it?

Where does it state that the ball may not be touched twice by the hands during a dribble? Is it this: The dribble ends when: c. The dribbler simultaneously touches the ball with both hands? But the twice touch doesn't have to be simultaneous, does it? Can't it just be twice before the ball hits the floor?
4.44.3 Sit C for tossing from one hand to the other. See rule (you cited already) 4-15 art 4 and case 4.15.4.Sit C for twice touch stuff.


There are instances where the books (rule and/or case) indicate "starts a dribble" (note a verb) is the issue but then that same case will have a ruling that indicates the violation is a "second dribble" (note a noun). Case 4.15.1.Sit C is a perfect example.
__________________
If some rules are never enforced, then why do they exist?
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dribble Valley Man Basketball 8 Wed Nov 19, 2014 12:28pm
Does the dribble end? The R Basketball 13 Tue Feb 11, 2014 12:09pm
Dribble fumble dribble? Clark Kent Basketball 20 Thu Dec 11, 2008 12:35pm
dribble/fumble/dribble scat03 Basketball 6 Wed Oct 25, 2006 06:41pm
What's an "air dribble"? EL Basketball 6 Wed Jan 12, 2000 02:46pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:22pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1