![]() |
|
|
|||
Wouldn't It Be Nice (The Beach Boys, 1966) ...
It would certainly be nice if the NFHS would define any ball thrown at the backboard, that touches the backboard, as a try, but, as far as I know, the NFHS hasn't done that yet.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Mon Jul 02, 2018 at 04:01pm. |
|
|||
So, aorn, we do not have a rule/case that indicates passing the ball to yourself off the backboard is legal. Anyone got something? If not, what is the violation?
__________________
If some rules are never enforced, then why do they exist? ![]() |
|
|||
Moving A Pivot Foot Outside The Prescribed Limits ...
Quote:
4-31: A pass is movement of the ball caused by a player who throws, bats or rolls the ball to another player. 9.5 SITUATION: A1 dribbles and comes to a stop after which he/she throws the ball against: (a) his/her own backboard; RULING: Legal in (a); a team’s own backboard is considered part of that team’s “equipment” and may be used. 4-15-1: A dribble is ball movement caused by a player in control who bats (intentionally strikes the ball with the hand(s)) or pushes the ball to the floor one or several times. It is not a part of a dribble when the ball touches a player’s own backboard. So, in at least one specific case, not only can he legally throw it against his own backboard, but he also legally catch it after it bounces back. We don't know, in 9.5 SITUATION, if said player moved his pivot foot (I'm assuming he didn't for this to be legal), or any foot, before the release. That would make a difference in regard to if he's actually allowed to legally catch it. In these "throw the ball off the backboard and dunk plays", most likely moving a pivot foot outside the prescribed limits, in other words a travel violation. 4-44-3: The pivot foot may be lifted, but not returned to the floor, before the ball is released on a pass or try for goal. Of course, it's not a pass, nor is it a shot. Quote:
The shooter can retrieve his or her own airball, if the official considers it to be a shot attempt. The release ends team control. It is not a violation for that player to start another dribble at that point.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Wed Jul 04, 2018 at 05:49am. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Random plays (Video) | JRutledge | Basketball | 9 | Tue Dec 26, 2017 11:11am |
Random camp question | Texref | Basketball | 6 | Fri Jan 24, 2014 09:15am |
Random partners | pfan1981 | Basketball | 27 | Thu Jul 18, 2013 12:02pm |
Random question | ChickenOfNC | Football | 6 | Tue Dec 14, 2010 11:19am |
Random Q's | stripes52 | Basketball | 3 | Mon Jan 12, 2004 11:40am |