![]() |
|
|||
Simultaneously ...
Getting rid of that pesky interpretation where the defensive player in the frontcourt deflects the ball in the direction of the backcourt and an offensive player catches the airborne ball that never actually touches the backcourt (never really achieving backcourt status) while standing in the backcourt, thus simultaneously being the last to touch a ball with frontcourt status and the first to touch in the backcourt. Maybe the interpretation was correct by the most strict adherence to the rule language, but by the intent and purpose of the rule, most of us would never call it that way in a real game.
At this point in time, with all we've seen so far from the NFHS, it appears that the ball may not be recovered by either team even if the offense was the last to touch the ball before it went into the backcourt. Of course, that can all change when the annual interpretations come out.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Thu Jun 07, 2018 at 11:50pm. |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
R1 does not touch 2nd | Forest Ump | Softball | 6 | Thu Apr 20, 2017 02:43pm |
last to touch - first to touch | rsl | Basketball | 29 | Fri Jul 03, 2009 07:01am |
Ref60 : 60s of Officiating : Last to Touch ... First to Touch | JugglingReferee | Basketball | 8 | Tue Dec 30, 2008 11:13pm |
First to touch | ripcord51 | Basketball | 6 | Sat Dec 16, 2006 06:25pm |
First to touch | RefTip | Basketball | 12 | Tue Feb 28, 2006 12:26am |