The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 08, 2018, 05:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SE Ohio
Posts: 1,327
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Nice clip. Thanks.

Let's hold onto this in case JRutledge is correct and the NFHS really has fully moved to the NCAA rule. We should also hold onto this in case the NFHS hasn't made the full switch to demonstrate the difference between the NCAA exception and the NFHS exception.

It would be nice to get a clip of the stupid interpretation, so we know what is now allowed, not that we really need it, because many of us would have allowed it in our games before the new exception anyway.
Im betting that that play is and will still be a violation under NFHS. The way the rule reads in the press release the only that will be changing is that the requirement for the offense to let the ball bounce in the BC first before being able to recover a deflection by the defense is the only thing that has changed. Guess I will see at the state interpreter's meeting.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 08, 2018, 07:38pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,489
Odd Interpretation ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by SNIPERBBB View Post
... the only that will be changing is that the requirement for the offense to let the ball bounce in the BC first before being able to recover a deflection by the defense is the only thing that has changed.
.. and that's the basis for the odd interpretation.

SITUATION 7: A1, in the team’s frontcourt, passes towards A2, also in the team’s frontcourt. B1 deflects the ball toward Team A’s backcourt. The ball bounces only in Team A’s frontcourt before crossing the division line. While the ball is still in the air over Team A’s backcourt, but never having touched in Team A’s backcourt, A2 gains possession of the ball while standing in Team A’s backcourt. RULING: Backcourt violation on Team A. Team A was still in team control and caused the ball to have backcourt status. Had A2 permitted the ball to bounce in the backcourt after having been deflected by B1, there would have been no backcourt violation. (4-4-1, 4-4-3, 9-9-1)

Whether, or not, the NFHS makes the full switch to the NCAA rule, one thing is for sure, that the odd interpretation is gone, long gone. So long. Farewell. Sayonara. Arrivederci. Goodbye.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Fri Jun 08, 2018 at 07:41pm.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
R1 does not touch 2nd Forest Ump Softball 6 Thu Apr 20, 2017 02:43pm
last to touch - first to touch rsl Basketball 29 Fri Jul 03, 2009 07:01am
Ref60 : 60s of Officiating : Last to Touch ... First to Touch JugglingReferee Basketball 8 Tue Dec 30, 2008 11:13pm
First to touch ripcord51 Basketball 6 Sat Dec 16, 2006 06:25pm
First to touch RefTip Basketball 12 Tue Feb 28, 2006 12:26am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:24am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1