The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 04, 2018, 11:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 21
Double Dribble Question

Cannot find the thread, I know I have read this here before. Need some help with an interpretation....
Player A is dribbling the ball low to the the ground and the ball stops bouncing. Player A proceeds to tap the ball to restart his dribble.
Does this violate Rule 9-5-3 "A player shall not dribble a second time after his/her dribble has ended, unless.....?
I believe I have answered my own question, but I would like the input from the prestigious group. Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 04, 2018, 01:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 16,657
Quote:
Originally Posted by wjc3 View Post
Cannot find the thread, I know I have read this here before. Need some help with an interpretation....
Player A is dribbling the ball low to the the ground and the ball stops bouncing. Player A proceeds to tap the ball to restart his dribble.
Does this violate Rule 9-5-3 "A player shall not dribble a second time after his/her dribble has ended, unless.....?
I believe I have answered my own question, but I would like the input from the prestigious group. Thanks
And, how does a dribble end? (right from the definitions)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 04, 2018, 02:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Rockville,MD
Posts: 172
A dribble ends when the ball is picked up, palmed or carried, touched with both hands, or touched by an opponent in a way that the dribbler loses control of the ball. If none of these happened, then the actions of Player A, as described, are not illegal.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 07, 2018, 10:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Virginia
Posts: 522
Can someone clarify how the fumble rule comes into play. If you considered the ball coming to a rest on the ground due to a fumble, then resuming the dribble as described would not be permitted correct?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 07, 2018, 10:57am
LRZ LRZ is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: SE PA
Posts: 410
Quote:
Originally Posted by HokiePaul View Post
Can someone clarify how the fumble rule comes into play. If you considered the ball coming to a rest on the ground due to a fumble, then resuming the dribble as described would not be permitted correct?
Correct: you can fumble-dribble-fumble, but you cannot dribble-fumble-dribble.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 07, 2018, 11:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 16,657
Quote:
Originally Posted by HokiePaul View Post
Can someone clarify how the fumble rule comes into play. If you considered the ball coming to a rest on the ground due to a fumble, then resuming the dribble as described would not be permitted correct?
Quote:
Originally Posted by LRZ View Post
Correct: you can fumble-dribble-fumble, but you cannot dribble-fumble-dribble.
The second part of that saying assumes that the dribble ends either after the first dribble or after the fumble. Did that happen in the OP?

(IOW, is this a dribble-fumble-dribble, or is it just an interrupted dribble?)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 07, 2018, 11:38am
LRZ LRZ is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: SE PA
Posts: 410
HokiePaul offered the ball "coming to rest" as a result of a fumble. As I picture it, I don't see the "coming to rest" as still part of the fumble or of an interrupted dribble.

My comment was not about the OP, but only to HokiePaul's question, which added a fumble to the scenario.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 07, 2018, 12:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 16,657
Quote:
Originally Posted by LRZ View Post
HokiePaul offered the ball "coming to rest" as a result of a fumble. As I picture it, I don't see the "coming to rest" as still part of the fumble or of an interrupted dribble.

My comment was not about the OP, but only to HokiePaul's question, which added a fumble to the scenario.
I agree if the ball comes to rest in the hand(s). I disagree if the ball comes to rest on the ground (as stated).
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 07, 2018, 04:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 11,296
Quote:
Originally Posted by HokiePaul View Post
Can someone clarify how the fumble rule comes into play. If you considered the ball coming to a rest on the ground due to a fumble, then resuming the dribble as described would not be permitted correct?
The definition of fumble is to slip from a player's grasp....from holding the ball. So, if the player had been dribbling prior to the fumble, a fumble, by definition, means that dribble had ended. While the player may legally recover the fumble, the player may not start a new dribble unless someone else touched the ball during the fumble.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
question about double dribble schwza Basketball 29 Sun Aug 17, 2014 06:35pm
Double Dribble/Control Question Spence Basketball 2 Sat Nov 17, 2012 11:48pm
Double dribble question dhanders Basketball 6 Wed Oct 24, 2007 09:12am
Question about double dribble NIghtflre Basketball 5 Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:30pm
Double Dribble question lukealex Basketball 2 Thu Sep 08, 2005 09:25am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:17am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1