![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Can someone clarify how the fumble rule comes into play. If you considered the ball coming to a rest on the ground due to a fumble, then resuming the dribble as described would not be permitted correct?
|
|
|||
|
Correct: you can fumble-dribble-fumble, but you cannot dribble-fumble-dribble.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
(IOW, is this a dribble-fumble-dribble, or is it just an interrupted dribble?) |
|
|||
|
HokiePaul offered the ball "coming to rest" as a result of a fumble. As I picture it, I don't see the "coming to rest" as still part of the fumble or of an interrupted dribble.
My comment was not about the OP, but only to HokiePaul's question, which added a fumble to the scenario. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
The definition of fumble is to slip from a player's grasp....from holding the ball. So, if the player had been dribbling prior to the fumble, a fumble, by definition, means that dribble had ended. While the player may legally recover the fumble, the player may not start a new dribble unless someone else touched the ball during the fumble.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| question about double dribble | schwza | Basketball | 29 | Sun Aug 17, 2014 06:35pm |
| Double Dribble/Control Question | Spence | Basketball | 2 | Sat Nov 17, 2012 11:48pm |
| Double dribble question | dhanders | Basketball | 6 | Wed Oct 24, 2007 09:12am |
| Question about double dribble | NIghtflre | Basketball | 5 | Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:30pm |
| Double Dribble question | lukealex | Basketball | 2 | Thu Sep 08, 2005 09:25am |