The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 30, 2018, 09:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 1
how many free throws

Under NFHS rules

1) after offensive player A1 has released their shot, defender B2 (away from the shooter) is called for excessive pushing while boxing out. How many free throws are awarded? does it matter if A1's shot attempt is good or not? does it matter if this is team B's 4th foul? 7th foul? 10th foul?

2) what if on the same play defender B1 fouls the shooter - so two fouls on the play? Does team A get free throws for both fouls?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 30, 2018, 09:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Seaford, Virginia
Posts: 111
Once the shot is clearly released, there is no more player control or team control (ie no offensive players). Fouls are penalized like any other common foul (ball out of bounds or free throws depending on the total team foul count for the half).
Whether the shot attempt by A1 goes in (it would count) or not has no bearing on the number of free throws.
As far as calling two separate fouls on the same team..... once one foul is called, then you have a dead ball situation, so the second foul would have to be intentional or flagrant to be considered. Usually one foul would suffice in this type of situation.

Last edited by DrPete; Tue Jan 30, 2018 at 09:49pm.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 31, 2018, 03:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 11,292
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrPete View Post
Once the shot is clearly released, there is no more player control or team control (ie no offensive players). Fouls are penalized like any other common foul (ball out of bounds or free throws depending on the total team foul count for the half).
Whether the shot attempt by A1 goes in (it would count) or not has no bearing on the number of free throws.
As far as calling two separate fouls on the same team..... once one foul is called, then you have a dead ball situation, so the second foul would have to be intentional or flagrant to be considered. Usually one foul would suffice in this type of situation.
Actually, you don't. The ball remains live until the try ends, even if a foul has been called. So, it is quite possible to have a foul involving the shooter and another foul elsewhere without either being intentional or flagrant. It may be uncommon, but it is certainly possible.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 31, 2018, 06:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Seaford, Virginia
Posts: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
Actually, you don't. The ball remains live until the try ends, even if a foul has been called. So, it is quite possible to have a foul involving the shooter and another foul elsewhere without either being intentional or flagrant. It may be uncommon, but it is certainly possible.
Camron is correct, the ball remains live while the try is in flight, and the airborne shooter returns to the floor. It still would be uncommon to have two fouls like described in the original post.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 31, 2018, 08:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: FL
Posts: 131
Had this situation last night. A1 shoots, while the ball is in flight, B2 holds (wraps A2 with both arms). A awarded 3 points for successful 3-point try and throw-in nearest spot to the foul. Had A been in bonus, A2 would have shot bonus free throws.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 31, 2018, 09:35am
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,344
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrPete View Post
Camron is correct, the ball remains live while the try is in flight, and the airborne shooter returns to the floor. It still would be uncommon to have two fouls like described in the original post.
I hate to pile on, but the airborne shooter returning to the floor doesn't have anything to do with whether the ball is live or dead.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 31, 2018, 10:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Seaford, Virginia
Posts: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
I hate to pile on, but the airborne shooter returning to the floor doesn't have anything to do with whether the ball is live or dead.
Help me understand this:

Under rule 6.7 (live ball and dead ball)

EXCEPTION: The ball does not become dead until the try or tap ends, or until the airborne shooter returns to the floor, when:
a. Article 5, 6, or 7 occurs while a try or tap for a field goal is in flight.

and ART. 7 says:
The ball becomes dead, or remains dead, when:
A foul, other than player-control or team-control, occurs (see exceptions a, b and c below).
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 31, 2018, 11:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 640
I believe in the NBA a defensive foul against a player other than the shooter has a one shot penalty if the shot is successful. So those who learn the rules from TV may create confusion here.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 31, 2018, 12:01pm
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,344
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrPete View Post
Help me understand this:

Under rule 6.7 (live ball and dead ball)

EXCEPTION: The ball does not become dead until the try or tap ends, or until the airborne shooter returns to the floor, when:
a. Article 5, 6, or 7 occurs while a try or tap for a field goal is in flight.
That's a great question, Pete. I can't think of a time when the ball becomes dead simply because the airborne shooter returns to the floor. If the airborne shooter returns to the floor BEFORE the try has ended, the ball remains live (because we're going to count the basket if it goes in). If the airborne shooter returns to the floor AFTER the try has ended, then the ball is already dead because it became dead when the try ended (whether it was successful or not).

Anybody want to help Pete and me on this one?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 31, 2018, 12:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 555
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrPete View Post
Camron is correct, the ball remains live while the try is in flight, and the airborne shooter returns to the floor. It still would be uncommon to have two fouls like described in the original post.
So uncommon that....oh, just read my tagline.
__________________
If some rules are never enforced, then why do they exist?
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 31, 2018, 12:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Virginia
Posts: 522
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
If the airborne shooter returns to the floor AFTER the try has ended, then the ball is already dead because it became dead when the try ended (whether it was successful or not).
Something about this statement doesn't seem right - maybe I'm missing some context here.

The try could end before the shooter returns to the floor (one example I can think of would be a shot that is immediately blocked and certain to be unsuccessful).
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 31, 2018, 12:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 11,292
Quote:
Originally Posted by HokiePaul View Post
Something about this statement doesn't seem right - maybe I'm missing some context here.

The try could end before the shooter returns to the floor (one example I can think of would be a shot that is immediately blocked and certain to be unsuccessful).
True, but the ball doesn't become dead in such a play either when the try ends or the shooter lands. The ball is still in play...unless it is blocked OOB. But that is what makes it dead, not the shooter landing.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 31, 2018, 01:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Mentor, Ohio
Posts: 435
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
That's a great question, Pete. I can't think of a time when the ball becomes dead simply because the airborne shooter returns to the floor. If the airborne shooter returns to the floor BEFORE the try has ended, the ball remains live (because we're going to count the basket if it goes in). If the airborne shooter returns to the floor AFTER the try has ended, then the ball is already dead because it became dead when the try ended (whether it was successful or not).

Anybody want to help Pete and me on this one?
CB 6.7.4 Ruling may help. Can't post it. On my way out.
__________________
The rule book is pretty much black and white; but it needs to be read, reviewed and revised.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 31, 2018, 01:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SE Ohio
Posts: 933
There is a difference between the act of shooting ends and when the try ends.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 31, 2018, 03:50pm
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,344
Quote:
Originally Posted by billyu2 View Post
CB 6.7.4 Ruling may help. Can't post it. On my way out.
Again, in that case play, the ball does not become dead because the shooter has returned to the floor. The ball is dead because of the player control foul. The ball is dead before the airborne shooter returns to the floor.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
basketball, penalty enforcement

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Free Throws Zoochy Basketball 36 Tue Oct 05, 2010 04:44pm
Most free throws? Rock Chalk Basketball 31 Sat Mar 10, 2007 09:59am
Free throws or not? Johnny Ringo Basketball 7 Mon Feb 12, 2007 01:18am
Free throws redcat459@aol.com Basketball 6 Tue Oct 18, 2005 10:37pm
Set up on free throws.... barknoll Basketball 6 Fri Jan 18, 2002 12:10pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:36am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1