The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 06, 2018, 12:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Mentor, Ohio
Posts: 544
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
If A1 hasn't started the try, then give the ball back to A.

But, what if A1 has started the try, but the ball hasn't left his hands? one rule says "if the offense fouls, the ball is dead." Another rule says," if the defense fouls, allow continuous motion." Which takes precedence?

We had a long, long discussion on this a while ago, but I don't remember the answer.
Don't believe either rule applies. Rule 4-36 Point of Interruption 2a says resume play following a double personal with a throw in to the team that was in control. Since A1 hadn't released the try, there is still team control for Team A.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Double Foul-Double Tech AHSAA_Ref Basketball 3 Mon Dec 06, 2010 03:57pm
Double Foul and Double Technical routhless Basketball 10 Sat Jan 30, 2010 09:53am
Poi On Double Foul David M Basketball 2 Mon Feb 11, 2008 04:11pm
Double Foul lmeadski Basketball 7 Tue Feb 14, 2006 01:33pm
Double Foul Hoosier Daddy Basketball 11 Wed Jan 22, 2003 05:45am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:27pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1