The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 15, 2017, 07:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 4
I got travel?

A1 is dribbling in the front court and being closely guarded by B1. The official has a visible count. A1 ends his/her dribble and the official starts a new closely guarded count. Coach of Team A screams, “He is counting!” A1 throws the ball off of B1's stationary leg, A1 catches it, and starts to dribble. What do you have?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 15, 2017, 07:58am
Show up, keep up, shut up
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3,570
Nothing, play on. Smart play by offensive player.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 15, 2017, 08:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frankienova View Post
A1 is dribbling in the front court and being closely guarded by B1. The official has a visible count. A1 ends his/her dribble and the official starts a new closely guarded count. Coach of Team A screams, “He is counting!” A1 throws the ball off of B1's stationary leg, A1 catches it, and starts to dribble. What do you have?
What constitutes a travel? Or in this case travel would be the wrong term.
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 15, 2017, 11:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,065
Remember that a travel requires moving a foot while holding the ball (with one exception). Did that happen? If not, then it can't be a travel.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 15, 2017, 12:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,426
so the followup question for the OP is -- do you have an illegal dribble?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 15, 2017, 01:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 4
opps

I am sorry i meant double dribble OR "ILLEGAL DRIBBLE' They want it referred to as
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 15, 2017, 01:14pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
So then if you follow the rules, why would this be illegal?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 15, 2017, 01:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 4
my thought is if you bobble the ball after dribbling and stop your dribble can you start up your dribble? no change of possession so how can you restart your dribble by an intentional throw of the opponents leg ?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 15, 2017, 01:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SE Ohio
Posts: 1,103
9.5.3 SITUATION:

A1 is dribbling in backcourt and ends the dribble, but defensive pressure prevents a pass to A2. A1 then passes the ball so it touches B1. A1 recovers the loose ball in backcourt and dribbles again.

RULING: No violation. When A1's pass was touched by, or touched, another player, he/she may start a new dribble. The 10-second backcourt count continues
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 15, 2017, 05:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
a bobble and an intentional act are 2 different things. By your logic if I pass to a teammate and they pass the ball back to me I cannot dribble because there hasn't been change in possession. Although I know you meant "personal" possession versus team, terminology is important.
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 15, 2017, 06:37pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 19,696
Let's Go To The Videotape ...

9-5 Illegal Dribble: A player shall not dribble a second time after his/her first dribble has ended, unless it is after he/she has lost control because of:
ART. 1 A try for field goal.
ART. 2 A touch by an opponent.
ART. 3 A pass or fumble which has then touched, or been touched by,
another player.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 15, 2017, 07:55pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 19,696
Twist And Shout (The Beatles, 1963) ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
9-5 Illegal Dribble: A player shall not dribble a second time after his/her first dribble has ended, unless it is after he/she has lost control because of:
ART. 1 A try for field goal.
ART. 2 A touch by an opponent.
ART. 3 A pass or fumble which has then touched, or been touched by,
another player.
A little twist to make it more interesting. Something that I've never seen happen, and probably never will see it happen, but it can.

A1 dribbles and unexpectedly, for whatever reason (sees his girlfriend in the stands), ends his dribble. A2 runs toward A1 and touches the ball. A1 starts to dribble. You make the call.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Fri Dec 15, 2017 at 11:20pm.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 15, 2017, 09:33pm
Statistician/Ref Hybrid
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,025
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
A little twist to make it more interesting. Something that I've never seen happen, and probably never will see it happen, but it can.

A1 dribbles and unexpectedly, for whatever reason (sees his girlfriend in the stands), ends is dribble. A2 runs toward A1 and touches the ball. A1 starts to dribble. You make the call.
Applying Rule 9-5:
  1. Not a try for a field goal,
  2. Not a touch by an opponent,
  3. Not a pass or fumble that has touched, or has been touched by, another player.
Illegal (double) dribble.
__________________
Be kind whenever possible. It is always possible." – Dalai Lama

The center of attention as the lead & trail. – me
Games officiated: 525 Basketball · 76 Softball · 16 Baseball
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 16, 2017, 09:34am
LRZ LRZ is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: SE PA
Posts: 766
BillyMac's Hypothetical

It's not even "lost control because of."
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 16, 2017, 10:31am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 19,696
Don't Hold Your Breath ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stat-Man View Post
Illegal (double) dribble.
Quote:
Originally Posted by LRZ View Post
It's not even "lost control because of."
Exactly as I would rule the first time that I see it.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Video: Not a travel in NBA, but would you call this a travel in HS or NCAA jump stop Basketball 52 Sun Apr 08, 2012 12:19pm
Travel or Not? curtstrouth Basketball 10 Wed Feb 07, 2007 10:56pm
Travel or not 181174 Basketball 6 Mon Feb 05, 2007 02:18pm
Travel or not Dan_ref Basketball 16 Fri Jan 21, 2005 03:24pm
No Travel, Just Kidding Travel Kas v Arz fletch_irwin_m Basketball 49 Tue Apr 08, 2003 06:23pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:21am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1