![]() |
|
|
|||
But the defender is backing up and the attacker is moving into the defender--can the offensive player create a cylinder by moving into the defender?
|
|
|||
Quote:
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
No. the offensive player can't create a 'new" cylinder by moving into a defender. If that were the case, that would mean a defender would just simply have to keep getting out of the way indefinitely. The defensive player only has to give enough room initially. If the offensive player erases that by moving closer, that is the offensive player's choice. The defender doesn't have to give more room.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
#7:
#8: #9: #10: #11: Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
Play 7...good call.
Play 8...good call, defender was not vertical. Play 9...great call. Screener didn't allow time/distance. The screen was blind and the opponent was moving. As for the coverage, that was the closest matchup to the L (no offensive players were even inside the 3-point arc). There was nothing else he could or should have been watching and he had the best view of that play. Both the C and the T were straightlined on that. Play 10...good call. Even had 2-hands on the shooter briefly before the block. Play 11. Contact, yes. But it was after the shot was away...the ball was about 2 feet out of the shooters hand at the time of the contact. That contact had no effect on the play and was incidental.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
#7: One of those "fool the refs" play. A2 has his arm on top of B2's shoulder and then flings his arm back to make it appear he was bumped. Call doesn't hurt though as it lets the players know they are being watched off-ball.
#8: Lead has no reason for a double whistle, Center had the play all the way and had already put a whistle on it. #9: Yes, the Lead should have this call. Trail has on-ball coverage and can't see the legality of screen. It is set by a player coming from outside his primary, so he needs help. #10: Correct call. A1 did nothing wrong; B1 initiates the contact and then flops, causing A1 to be knocked off-balance. #11: I would leave this to the Lead. Trail is behind the play, while the Lead has a perfect view between A1 and B1.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Because Lead is n̶o̶t̶ ̶a̶ ̶v̶e̶r̶y̶ ̶g̶o̶o̶d̶ ̶b̶a̶s̶k̶e̶t̶b̶a̶l̶l̶ ̶r̶e̶f̶e̶r̶e̶e̶ ball watching and not trusting his partner.
Last edited by AremRed; Fri Dec 01, 2017 at 10:11am. Reason: Edited to sound more PC for Rich and Ray |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Big Ten/ACC challenge | Nevadaref | Basketball | 6 | Thu Dec 03, 2009 11:24am |
A Challenge! | JugglingReferee | Football | 16 | Sat Aug 23, 2008 06:25pm |
A-10/ACC challenge | ChuckElias | Basketball | 0 | Wed Dec 07, 2005 09:57pm |
Big 10/ACC challenge | ChuckElias | Basketball | 51 | Mon Dec 05, 2005 12:39pm |
New challenge! | DJ | Basketball | 0 | Wed Feb 11, 2004 02:15pm |