The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 08, 2017, 09:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 852
Quote:
Originally Posted by referee99 View Post
SITUATION 4: Team A is making a throw-in near the division line in the team’s backcourt (Team B’s frontcourt). A1’s throw-in is deflected by B1 who is applying direct pressure on A1. B2 jumps from his/her frontcourt, catches the ball in the air and lands in the backcourt.

RULING: Backcourt violation on Team B. The throw-in ends with B1’s deflection (legal touch). When B2 gains possession/ control in the air, he/she has frontcourt status. A backcourt violation has occurred when B2 lands in backcourt. (9-9-1, 9-9-3)

In situation #6 that Freddy posted, B2 jumps from his BACKCOURT, which is not included in 9-9-3 as an exception. (H/T Nevada for pointing that out from a similar thread in 2006!)
These are my questions form 2008(?). They created a lot of discussion, thus the Rule interps. There is no difference if the ball is caught by Team A nor Team B while they are in the air after the Throw-in was touched, The airborn player catching the ball IS NOT given the Back Court exception.. Oh well
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 09, 2017, 07:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 1,847
I'm not sure why there is so much confusion - once the ball is deflected, the throw-in ends and so does the exception. What difference does it make what happens after that?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 09, 2017, 08:43am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,994
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smitty View Post
I'm not sure why there is so much confusion - once the ball is deflected, the throw-in ends and so does the exception. What difference does it make what happens after that?
The question is not about what happens next, it's about "defensive" status since a defensive player is allowed to intercept any other pass while jumping from their FC and landing in their BC.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 09, 2017, 08:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,249
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
The question is not about what happens next, it's about "defensive" status since a defensive player is allowed to intercept any other pass while jumping from their FC and landing in their BC.
Are you (and others) questioning what the rule *is* or what the rule *should be*?

The former seems clear to me and is consistent among all codes (I think.)

We can discuss the latter -- heck, I'd like to expand the defensive exception so a player not in the air can steal the ball and proceed to the backcourt if s/he's unable to stop (a "momentum exception")
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 09, 2017, 08:56am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,994
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Are you (and others) questioning what the rule *is* or what the rule *should be*?

The former seems clear to me and is consistent among all codes (I think.)

We can discuss the latter -- heck, I'd like to expand the defensive exception so a player not in the air can steal the ball and proceed to the backcourt if s/he's unable to stop (a "momentum exception")
I thought it was clear that the initial question was about the defensive's backcourt exception when intercepting a pass. The OP wanted to confirm that the defense's BC exception does not exist on a tipped throw-in.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 09, 2017, 09:00am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,249
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
I thought it was clear that the initial question was about the defensive's backcourt exception when intercepting a pass. The OP wanted to confirm that the defense's BC exception does not exist on a tipped throw-in.
Yes -- that's what the OP wanted. Yes -- that's been confirmed. Obviously, though, there's more to the thread than this or it wouldn't be at 20 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 09, 2017, 08:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,034
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smitty View Post
I'm not sure why there is so much confusion - once the ball is deflected, the throw-in ends and so does the exception. What difference does it make what happens after that?
Because I am giving B2 the defensive player exception, not the throw-in exception. The interp this season is the first one that I've ever seen which states that a defensive player doesn't get his backcourt exception if the pass is tipped. I've never seen that before in twenty years of NFHS officiating and believe that it is a mistake.

Last edited by Nevadaref; Fri Nov 10, 2017 at 07:05am.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 10, 2017, 06:47am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,555
Defensive Player Exception ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Because I am not giving B2 the defensive player exception, not the throw-in exception.
During a throwin, or jump ball, any player; or a defensive player, in making a steal; may legally jump from his, or her, frontcourt, secure control of the ball with both feet off the floor, and return to the floor with one, or both, feet in the backcourt. The player may make a normal landing, and it makes no difference whether the first foot down is in the frontcourt, or the backcourt. These three situations are not backcourt violations.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 10, 2017, 07:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1,966
The defensive exception doesn’t exist until player control inbounds has been established. It’s clear that that’s the way the FED expects this to be adjudicated.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 10, 2017, 08:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,249
I have to edit my previous statement on NCAAW. This just came out:

QUESTION:

Team A is making a throw-in near the division line in the team’s backcourt (Team B’s frontcourt). A1’s throw-in is deflected by B1, who is applying direct pressure on A1. B2 jumps from her frontcourt, catches the ball in the air and lands in her team’s backcourt. Is this a backcourt violation?

ANSWER:

When the ball is at A1’s disposal for the throw-in, Team A has team control (Rules 4-10.a, 4-8.1.a, 4-8.2.a). Team control continues after the release of the throw-in until the opponents gain control of the ball or the ball becomes dead (Rule 4-8.3). Even though the throw-in ended when B1 touched the throw-in pass, it did not end Team A’s team control. B2, as a defensive player, may jump from her frontcourt, gain control of the ball while airborne, and then land with one or both feet in her backcourt, as this is the exception to the backcourt rule (Rule 9-12.9).

This is a legal play.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 20, 2017, 02:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Philly Area
Posts: 52
Contradictory statement...

Quote:
Originally Posted by SC Official View Post
The defensive exception doesn’t exist until player control inbounds has been established. It’s clear that that’s the way the FED expects this to be adjudicated.
I don't know where the idea comes from that there is not any offense or defense until the ball is controlled inbounds. in this years points of emphasis, the NFHS clearly seems to think that the team taking the ball in bounds is on offense, hence the other team B must be on defense:
From page 69 of the rule book: ...BY RULE EXCEPTION, during a throw-in a team may leave the front court, establish player control/team control while airborne and land in the backcourt. This is a legal play and ONLY applies to the first player of the offense who touches the ball PRIOR to the end of the throw-in.
It is my opinion that the NFHS has twisted this interpretation - and apparently did the same thing back in 2007, when the same play was interpreted. Interesting to note that this play was NOT in last year's case book...It would be interesting to see when it was removed.

As for Situation #6 - I also agree that the defense should always be allowed to intercept a pass and not be responsible from where he took off. BUT also agree that the current language only applies to a defender who leaves the floor from his frontcourt. the NFHS should fix this language as well.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 20, 2017, 02:41pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,994
Quote:
Originally Posted by CallMeMrRef View Post
...BUT also agree that the current language only applies to a defender who leaves the floor from his frontcourt. the NFHS should fix this language as well.
If the defensive player is jumping from his backcourt, it doesn't matter where he lands.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 10, 2017, 09:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 1,847
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Because I am giving B2 the defensive player exception, not the throw-in exception. The interp this season is the first one that I've ever seen which states that a defensive player doesn't get his backcourt exception if the pass is tipped. I've never seen that before in twenty years of NFHS officiating and believe that it is a mistake.
OK I read the rule and I can see your dilemma. It does seem to be a conflicting bit of information. I can also see why people are splitting hairs over where the player initially jumped from - the frontcourt or backcourt, but I think it's just that - splitting hairs. I don't think there's anything there - just a poorly worded rule. The best argument I can come up with is that technically there is still no offense or defense because there is still no team control. Reading the POE in this year's Rule Book, it specifically states Team Control only applies for fouls by the throwing in team. It's not team control inbounds. Each team has a frontcourt and a backcourt, however, so each team can still create a backcourt violation. So neither team is the defense yet so you have to call the violation regardless of which team grabs the ball and comes down first foot in the frontcourt, second foot in the backcourt.

EDIT: Bob already said this in post #7 so I'm feeling vindicated

Last edited by Smitty; Fri Nov 10, 2017 at 10:06am.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 11, 2017, 05:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,034
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smitty View Post
OK I read the rule and I can see your dilemma. It does seem to be a conflicting bit of information. I can also see why people are splitting hairs over where the player initially jumped from - the frontcourt or backcourt, but I think it's just that - splitting hairs. I don't think there's anything there - just a poorly worded rule. The best argument I can come up with is that technically there is still no offense or defense because there is still no team control. Reading the POE in this year's Rule Book, it specifically states Team Control only applies for fouls by the throwing in team. It's not team control inbounds. Each team has a frontcourt and a backcourt, however, so each team can still create a backcourt violation. So neither team is the defense yet so you have to call the violation regardless of which team grabs the ball and comes down first foot in the frontcourt, second foot in the backcourt.

EDIT: Bob already said this in post #7 so I'm feeling vindicated
Now look what Bob just wrote in post #30. That is consistent with what the NFHS rule has been for twenty years.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 11, 2017, 09:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 1,847
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Now look what Bob just wrote in post #30. That is consistent with what the NFHS rule has been for twenty years.
Bob’s #30 post is specific to NCAAW, not NFHS. The NFHS rules are not the same. It seems pretty clear to me that in high school this is a violation.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fed 2016 Interpretations Are Out Welpe Baseball 9 Sat Feb 13, 2016 02:22am
Basketball Interpretations ronny mulkey Basketball 34 Sat Oct 15, 2011 06:06am
To check or not to check with your partner DaveASA/FED Volleyball 3 Sat Dec 11, 2004 01:27pm
FED interpretations? Randallump Baseball 4 Wed Jan 03, 2001 09:27am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:41pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1