![]() |
|
|
|||
Sadly, that is correct.
I would prefer that they change it so that frontcourt/backcourt not exist at ll until a player catches the ball inbounds and that an airborne player doesn't have either status until landing.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
I have to disagree.
Nowhere have I ever read that the defensive player exception only applies to the first player to touch the ball. I believe that someone with the NFHS is incorrectly applying a provision of the throw-in exception to the defense. |
|
|||
Defensive ???
Bingo. Agree. The word "defensive" jumped out at me right away. This has got to be an error.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
Simple fix. There are no restrictions to landing in either the frontcourt or the backcourt for the first player to secure PC subsequent to a throw-in.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
NFHS (and NCAAW) have issued prior interps to the effect that there is no "offense" or "defense" until there's PC inbounds. So, the "defensive player" exception cannot apply here.
And, since the throw-in was touched, the "player who catches a throw-in" exception cannot apply, either. I would support some sort of rules change, but that's what it would take. |
|
|||
The defensive player exception is not for this situation. The defensive exception has always applied only after there is team & player control inbounds.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
Quote:
It reads as if initial touch has something to do with the defensive exception. We all agree it doesn't...but that sentence does read that way.... |
|
|||
Quote:
I don't think that is true. I don't have my old books with me at this time, but I believe that 9-9-3 used to read something such as "a player from a team not in control may..." That was always true of the players on the non-throwing team. |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
Thread Tools | |
Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Fed 2016 Interpretations Are Out | Welpe | Baseball | 9 | Sat Feb 13, 2016 02:22am |
Basketball Interpretations | ronny mulkey | Basketball | 34 | Sat Oct 15, 2011 06:06am |
To check or not to check with your partner | DaveASA/FED | Volleyball | 3 | Sat Dec 11, 2004 01:27pm |
FED interpretations? | Randallump | Baseball | 4 | Wed Jan 03, 2001 09:27am |