The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 08, 2017, 09:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 843
Quote:
Originally Posted by referee99 View Post
SITUATION 4: Team A is making a throw-in near the division line in the team’s backcourt (Team B’s frontcourt). A1’s throw-in is deflected by B1 who is applying direct pressure on A1. B2 jumps from his/her frontcourt, catches the ball in the air and lands in the backcourt.

RULING: Backcourt violation on Team B. The throw-in ends with B1’s deflection (legal touch). When B2 gains possession/ control in the air, he/she has frontcourt status. A backcourt violation has occurred when B2 lands in backcourt. (9-9-1, 9-9-3)

In situation #6 that Freddy posted, B2 jumps from his BACKCOURT, which is not included in 9-9-3 as an exception. (H/T Nevada for pointing that out from a similar thread in 2006!)
These are my questions form 2008(?). They created a lot of discussion, thus the Rule interps. There is no difference if the ball is caught by Team A nor Team B while they are in the air after the Throw-in was touched, The airborn player catching the ball IS NOT given the Back Court exception.. Oh well
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 09, 2017, 07:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 1,847
I'm not sure why there is so much confusion - once the ball is deflected, the throw-in ends and so does the exception. What difference does it make what happens after that?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 09, 2017, 09:22am
Stubborn Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 1,517
Quote:
Originally Posted by referee99 View Post
If B2 is fouled attempting to catch the ball it is a Team Control foul on Team A. Clearly there is an offense and a defense on a Throw In, even if the ball is tipped. Frustrating.
I haven't seen anyone address this, so here goes... I'm pretty sure this is incorrect. The Team Control given to Team A only applies during the throw-in. Once the ball is tipped by B1, the throw-in and subsequent Team Control is over. But even if B1 did not tip the ball it wouldn't matter, as Team Control was for fouling purposes... not for the backcourt violation.

And another reason why there is no "offence" or "defense" until there is player and team control in-bounds, and the exception does not apply.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 09, 2017, 09:35am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by BryanV21 View Post
I haven't seen anyone address this, so here goes... I'm pretty sure this is incorrect. The Team Control given to Team A only applies during the throw-in. Once the ball is tipped by B1, the throw-in and subsequent Team Control is over. But even if B1 did not tip the ball it wouldn't matter, as Team Control was for fouling purposes... not for the backcourt violation.

...
So B2 would shoot free throws if Team B is in the bonus if he is fouled after the throw-in is tipped?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 09, 2017, 09:50am
Stubborn Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 1,517
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
So B2 would shoot free throws if Team B is in the bonus if he is fouled after the throw-in is tipped?
I believe so, although I found something that makes my previous post at least partially wrong.

Team control continues until one of three things happen... 1. the ball is in flight during a try or tap for goal 2. an opponent secure control 3. the ball becomes dead. So going by that we'd have a team control foul, as none of those three things happened.

However, since the tip by B1 ends the throw-in, logically the thing about there being team control during a throw-in would also end. But I can't find where it says that, so I could very well be wrong.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fed 2016 Interpretations Are Out Welpe Baseball 9 Sat Feb 13, 2016 02:22am
Basketball Interpretations ronny mulkey Basketball 34 Sat Oct 15, 2011 06:06am
To check or not to check with your partner DaveASA/FED Volleyball 3 Sat Dec 11, 2004 01:27pm
FED interpretations? Randallump Baseball 4 Wed Jan 03, 2001 09:27am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:16pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1