![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
The tip from B1 happens, and as the ball is headed towards A's backcourt I give the tipped signal... which we are told to do, as a way to let everyone know that it's legal for A to go after the ball w/o committing a backcourt violation. But A2 does like in this case, and I call a backcourt violation. The coach goes off about me giving the tipped signal, but still calling the violation. Do I say "sorry, Coach, I understand your frustration but according to an interpretation in the case book that's the call"? Hopefully I'm either misinterpreting something, which you'll let me know, or this never happens to me. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
"The tipped signal was added to indicate the ball was touched by the defense prior to going into the BC from the FC." Furthermore, along with Bob's post, the NFHS indicated: "Brushing one hand over the other indicates that an official has ruled the ball entered the BC as a result of contact with a defensive player." The signal also communicates to partner an action that they might not have seen. If signaling the deflection as C, it can greatly help calling official T. Worst case, quickly run over to coach and explain that ball had not gotten to BC yet.
__________________
If some rules are never enforced, then why do they exist?
Last edited by bucky; Mon Oct 09, 2017 at 10:19am. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| NFHS Past Interpretations Archive (2024-25 Added) | Nevadaref | Basketball | 39 | Tue Nov 05, 2024 09:52am |
| NFHS 2017-18 Rules Changes | SC Official | Basketball | 275 | Wed Nov 08, 2017 03:37pm |
| 2017-18 NFHS Error(s) | SC Official | Basketball | 13 | Fri Sep 08, 2017 02:03pm |
| 2017-18 NFHS Comments, POE's | SC Official | Basketball | 19 | Mon Jun 05, 2017 04:53pm |
| 2017 NFHS Softball Rule Changes | Stat-Man | Softball | 7 | Mon Oct 17, 2016 12:51pm |