The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 09, 2017, 09:40am
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,691
Quote:
Originally Posted by NFHS

SITUATION 4: Team A is making a throw-in near the division line in the team’s backcourt (Team B’s frontcourt). A1’s throw-in is deflected by B1 who is applying direct pressure on A1. B2 jumps from his/her frontcourt, catches the ball in the air and lands in the backcourt. RULING: Backcourt violation on Team B. The throw-in ends with B1’s deflection (legal touch). When B2 gains possession/control in the air, he/she has frontcourt status. A backcourt violation has occurred when B2 lands in backcourt. (9-9-1, 9-9-3)
Maybe I'm having a brain cramp, but how is this a violation? How does this not fall under 9-9-3, which allows a player on defense to secure the ball in the air from his/her frontcourt and land in the backcourt?

Am I missing something obvious? The tip by B2 ends the throw-in, but doesn't end the exception for a player on defense. Does it? I feel like this has to be something obvious that I'm overlooking.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 09, 2017, 09:48am
Stubborn Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 1,517
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
Maybe I'm having a brain cramp, but how is this a violation? How does this not fall under 9-9-3, which allows a player on defense to secure the ball in the air from his/her frontcourt and land in the backcourt?

Am I missing something obvious? The tip by B2 ends the throw-in, but doesn't end the exception for a player on defense. Does it? I feel like this has to be something obvious that I'm overlooking.
I believe the tip does cancel the exception, as it is considered a legal touch inbounds... thus ending the free throw and exception.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 09, 2017, 09:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
Maybe I'm having a brain cramp, but how is this a violation? How does this not fall under 9-9-3, which allows a player on defense to secure the ball in the air from his/her frontcourt and land in the backcourt?

Am I missing something obvious? The tip by B2 ends the throw-in, but doesn't end the exception for a player on defense. Does it? I feel like this has to be something obvious that I'm overlooking.
This play has been in there before. The "defense" isn't the "defense" until the "offense" has player control inbounds. (We had a long discussion on here about that once a long long time ago). The only exception that's avaialable on this play is the throw-in exception, and that only applies to the first person to touch / catch the throw-in.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BryanV21 View Post
I've been imagining myself in this situation, and I'm pretty concerned about the result. Here...

The tip from B1 happens, and as the ball is headed towards A's backcourt I give the tipped signal... which we are told to do, as a way to let everyone know that it's legal for A to go after the ball w/o committing a backcourt violation. But A2 does like in this case, and I call a backcourt violation. The coach goes off about me giving the tipped signal, but still calling the violation. Do I say "sorry, Coach, I understand your frustration but according to an interpretation in the case book that's the call"?

Hopefully I'm either misinterpreting something, which you'll let me know, or this never happens to me.
Don't give the "tip" signal until the ball reaches the BC.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 09, 2017, 09:52am
Stubborn Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 1,517
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Don't give the "tip" signal until the ball reaches the BC.
I thought that may be the correct way of doing things, but if Team A holds back from going after the loose ball for fear of committing a backcourt violation, the signal could be pointless by that time.

I guess as long as that interpretation stands, it's the best way to give the signal. Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 10, 2017, 10:16am
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,691
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
This play has been in there before. The "defense" isn't the "defense" until the "offense" has player control inbounds. (We had a long discussion on here about that once a long long time ago). The only exception that's avaialable on this play is the throw-in exception, and that only applies to the first person to touch / catch the throw-in.
I do remember that discussion now that you bring it back up. I still don't like that way of looking at offense/defense. But thank you for reminding me.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 10, 2017, 03:26pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,954
From the POE's:

2. Team control, throw-in. The relevance of team control during a throw-in only applies when a member of the throw- in team fouls. Such fouls shall be ruled team control fouls. Team control during a throw-in is NOT intended to be the same as player control/team control inbounds. Team control inbounds is established when a player from either team who has inbound status gains control of the ball. During the throw-in, 10-seconds, 3-seconds, frontcourt status, backcourt status, closely guarded, etc., are NOT factors as there has yet to be player control/team control obtained inbounds.
With specific regard to the backcourt violation; a team may not be the last to touch a live ball in the front court and then be the first to touch a live ball in the backcourt, provided that team has establish player control/team control on the playing court (either in the backcourt or frontcourt). BY RULE EXCEPTION, during a throw-in a team may leave the front court, establish player control/team control while airborne and land in the backcourt. This is a legal play and ONLY applies to the first player of the offense who touches the ball PRIOR to the end of the throw-in.


This only applies to an Offensive player? A defensive player (B1) cannot jump from B's frontcourt, catch a throw-in in mid-air, then land in B's backcourt?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Tue Oct 10, 2017 at 03:29pm.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 10, 2017, 03:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 536
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
From the POE's:

2. Team control, throw-in. The relevance of team control during a throw-in only applies when a member of the throw- in team fouls. Such fouls shall be ruled team control fouls. Team control during a throw-in is NOT intended to be the same as player control/team control inbounds. Team control inbounds is established when a player from either team who has inbound status gains control of the ball. During the throw-in, 10-seconds, 3-seconds, frontcourt status, backcourt status, closely guarded, etc., are NOT factors as there has yet to be player control/team control obtained inbounds.
With specific regard to the backcourt violation; a team may not be the last to touch a live ball in the front court and then be the first to touch a live ball in the backcourt, provided that team has establish player control/team control on the playing court (either in the backcourt or frontcourt). BY RULE EXCEPTION, during a throw-in a team may leave the front court, establish player control/team control while airborne and land in the backcourt. This is a legal play and ONLY applies to the first player of the offense who touches the ball PRIOR to the end of the throw-in.


This only applies to an Offensive player? A defensive player (B1) cannot jump from B's frontcourt, catch a throw-in in mid-air, then land in B's backcourt?
The throw in ends when one team gains possession, correct? That would make (old) defense (B1) (new) offense, correct?

Edit- I'm an idiot, sorry. Just ignore this response.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 10, 2017, 06:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
From the POE's:

2. Team control, throw-in. The relevance of team control during a throw-in only applies when a member of the throw- in team fouls. Such fouls shall be ruled team control fouls. Team control during a throw-in is NOT intended to be the same as player control/team control inbounds. Team control inbounds is established when a player from either team who has inbound status gains control of the ball. During the throw-in, 10-seconds, 3-seconds, frontcourt status, backcourt status, closely guarded, etc., are NOT factors as there has yet to be player control/team control obtained inbounds.
With specific regard to the backcourt violation; a team may not be the last to touch a live ball in the front court and then be the first to touch a live ball in the backcourt, provided that team has establish player control/team control on the playing court (either in the backcourt or frontcourt). BY RULE EXCEPTION, during a throw-in a team may leave the front court, establish player control/team control while airborne and land in the backcourt. This is a legal play and ONLY applies to the first player of the offense who touches the ball PRIOR to the end of the throw-in.


This only applies to an Offensive player? A defensive player (B1) cannot jump from B's frontcourt, catch a throw-in in mid-air, then land in B's backcourt?
And the throw-in ends when the ball is legally touched -- so the excpetion ends then, too.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NFHS Past Interpretations Archive (2024-25 Added) Nevadaref Basketball 39 Tue Nov 05, 2024 09:52am
NFHS 2017-18 Rules Changes SC Official Basketball 275 Wed Nov 08, 2017 03:37pm
2017-18 NFHS Error(s) SC Official Basketball 13 Fri Sep 08, 2017 02:03pm
2017-18 NFHS Comments, POE's SC Official Basketball 19 Mon Jun 05, 2017 04:53pm
2017 NFHS Softball Rule Changes Stat-Man Softball 7 Mon Oct 17, 2016 12:51pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:39pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1