Quote:
	
	
		
			
				
					Originally Posted by  bob jenkins
					 
				 
				Thank you for posting these. 
 
And, BOO to the NFHS for doubling down on the interp in play 7. 
			
		 | 
	
	
 Agree.
	Quote:
	
	
		
			
				
					Originally Posted by  Smitty
					 
				 
				The part in red can't be true.  Coach doesn't lose the coaching box because of a warning, does he? 
			
		 | 
	
	
 Agree.
	Quote:
	
	
		
			
				
					Originally Posted by  Scrapper1
					 
				 
				Maybe I'm having a brain cramp, but how is this a violation?  How does this not fall under 9-9-3, which allows a player on defense to secure the ball in the air from his/her frontcourt and land in the backcourt? 
 
Am I missing something obvious?  The tip by B2 ends the throw-in, but doesn't end the exception for a player on defense.  Does it?  I feel like this has to be something obvious that I'm overlooking. 
			
		 | 
	
	
 I agree with you.  This is a defensive player.  The tip doesn't change that.
	Quote:
	
	
		
			
				
					Originally Posted by  bob jenkins
					 
				 
				This play has been in there before.  The "defense" isn't the "defense" until the "offense" has player control inbounds.  (We had a long discussion on here about that once a long long time ago).  The only exception that's avaialable on this play is the throw-in exception, and that only applies to the first person to touch / catch the throw-in. 
			
		 | 
	
	
 Yes, we had a long discussion of what constituted a "defensive" player during situations without team control.  I took the position that team control was required to have an offense and a defense.  At that time, NFHS rules did not have team control during a throw-in for the throwing team.  This has since been added to the rules in a change.  
However, I also seem to recall that the language previously used in the text of the backcourt rule was different. It said something about "a player from a team not in control may..."  If that was the case, then B2 would not have committed a violation under that wording and since the NFHS stated that it was not seeking to alter any backcourt rulings when adding team control during a throw-in, the same ruling should apply today. 
I will need to do a little research before giving my final opinion on this matter.  
	Quote:
	
	
		
			
				
					Originally Posted by  Camron Rust
					 
				 
				Agree...posting it again doesn't make it any more correct than it was the first time. 
			
		 | 
	
	
 Agreed with you then and still agree with you now.  BEFORE does not mean SIMULTANEOUSLY.