The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 31, 2017, 01:01pm
High Five Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Southwest Missouri
Posts: 638
Backboard slap

Men's league last night. On a run out lay up, defender slaps backboard hard. Partner calls the basket good. I tried to tell him it wasn't goaltending or interference but he was set in decision.

My question is this: in HS/NFHS, the only penalty can be a T in this situation. Correct? And how often have you had to call it? Is it almost automatic or does it just never happen?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 31, 2017, 01:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 10,812
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueDevilRef View Post
Men's league last night. On a run out lay up, defender slaps backboard hard. Partner calls the basket good. I tried to tell him it wasn't goaltending or interference but he was set in decision.

My question is this: in HS/NFHS, the only penalty can be a T in this situation. Correct? And how often have you had to call it? Is it almost automatic or does it just never happen?
Correct. Never seen it happen to the point that it was obviously not a play on the ball since hitting the board hard is not, by itself, reason for the T.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 31, 2017, 01:32pm
High Five Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Southwest Missouri
Posts: 638
Last night the layup was from right and defense slapped left side very hard. IMO, should have been a T. Partner blew it first, counted bucket. I'm just a fill in and he is the regular so I went with it.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 31, 2017, 03:25pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 11,882
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueDevilRef View Post
Last night the layup was from right and defense slapped left side very hard. IMO, should have been a T. Partner blew it first, counted bucket. I'm just a fill in and he is the regular so I went with it.
Had it happen in the very first "real" game (military intramurals) I ever officiated right off the opening tap, and my partner came in an overruled my Technical call. Never had the play again in such a manner.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 31, 2017, 10:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 418
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueDevilRef View Post
Last night the layup was from right and defense slapped left side very hard. ...
Yup, technical foul. Two FTs and the ball. No hoop.

Never had it happen, but as described, not a lot of judgement needed.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 01, 2017, 10:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 303
Quote:
Originally Posted by ODog View Post
Yup, technical foul. Two FTs and the ball. No hoop.

Never had it happen, but as described, not a lot of judgement needed.
Unless the basket is made, correct? I can tell it's been a while since last season.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 01, 2017, 10:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 667
Quote:
Originally Posted by UNIgiantslayers View Post
Unless the basket is made, correct? I can tell it's been a while since last season.
Yes.

I think his point was that if the ball doesn't go in, you cannot ever count it for a backboard slap because a backboard slap is never BI under NFHS.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 01, 2017, 10:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 10,812
Quote:
Originally Posted by UNIgiantslayers View Post
Unless the basket is made, correct? I can tell it's been a while since last season.
Correct....the shot stands on it own. The ball remains live until the shot is made or missed.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 01, 2017, 10:37am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Long gone from the Peoria Civic Center
Posts: 27,005
The basket would count if the ball goes in the basket. It just would not be a BI. It would just be a result of the play. The T does not kill the ball in this situation. The action that causes the T is separate, regardless of the basket going in or not. Or at least that should be the mindset.

Peace
__________________
"When the phone does not ring, the assignor is calling."
--Black

Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 01, 2017, 02:54pm
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,212
NCAA-M rules differ on this, so be sure which rule set you're using.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 02, 2017, 07:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,041
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1 View Post
NCAA-M rules differ on this, so be sure which rule set you're using.


Since you brought it up, a slap like this in NCAA does not automatically warrant a BI call, right? The rim would still need to be moving as a result of the slap while the ball is on or within the basket or in the cylinder, correct?

Again, never BI in NFHS. I like how another poster pointed out that a foul by the defense (in this case a slapping T) does not cause the ball to become dead during a try. Heck, continuous motion even applies in this case.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 02, 2017, 09:23am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 15,238
Misunderstood Rules ...

Slapping the backboard is neither basket interference, nor is it goaltending, and points cannot be awarded. A player who strikes a backboard, during a tap, or a try, so forcefully that it cannot be ignored because it is an attempt to draw attention to the player, or a means of venting frustration, may be assessed a technical foul. When a player simply attempts to block a shot, and accidentally slaps the backboard, it is neither a violation, nor is it a technical foul.
__________________
John 3:16 "For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life."
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 06, 2017, 12:43pm
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,212
Quote:
Originally Posted by crosscountry55 View Post
Since you brought it up, a slap like this in NCAA does not automatically warrant a BI call, right? The rim would still need to be moving as a result of the slap while the ball is on or within the basket or in the cylinder, correct?
NCAA-M 9.15.2.5: Basket interference occurs when a player "Causes the basket or backboard to vibrate when the ball is on or
within the basket or the backboard and/or is on or in the cylinder."
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 07, 2017, 12:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Kansas
Posts: 404
Many men's recreational leagues players, league managers, and officials hold the perspective that that they go by NCAA rules in men's league games; maybe, that is why they are penalizing such "backboard slapping" actions.

Also, in NF there is no goal-tending if for example during a layup try: the ball contacts the backboard and while on the way "up" (ascending), then defender blocks it before it begins the descending motion towards the rim. This is simply, a blocked shot/good defense. Of course when no call is made, one can oft hear the players, coaches, and fans expressions of "displeasure".
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 07, 2017, 01:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 667
I would be surprised if most wreck league players, coaches, directors, etc. even know what they're talking about when they say "we use NCAA rules." I highly doubt they're using a shot clock and highly doubt there's an RA painted on the floor. And outside of those two major FED/NCAA differences, your typical wreck participant won't be able to name many others.

Heck, even most wreck league officials probably don't have a thorough knowledge of NCAA rules. Which is why leagues acting like they play under that ruleset is comical.

Last edited by SC Official; Thu Sep 07, 2017 at 01:07pm.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Backboard slap - BI? bucky Basketball 40 Fri Feb 24, 2017 01:27am
Goaltending on Backboard Slap rickman5 Basketball 63 Fri Dec 30, 2011 05:41pm
Backboard slap jodibuck Basketball 37 Tue Dec 12, 2006 11:47am
Backboard slap Nevadaref Basketball 12 Tue Mar 28, 2006 10:43am
Intentional slap of backboard TriggerMN Basketball 2 Wed Dec 17, 2003 02:15pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:24am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1