The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 18, 2017, 01:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,008
Backboard slap - BI?

Yes or No: Is it possible to ever have Basket Interference when a defender slaps the backboard during a legitimate block attempt?

Only respond if you think "Yes" and please cite rule/case.
__________________
If some rules are never enforced, then why do they exist?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 18, 2017, 01:51am
Show up, keep up, shut up
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3,570
Quote:
Originally Posted by bucky View Post
Yes or No: Is it possible to ever have Basket Interference when a defender slaps the backboard during a legitimate block attempt?

Only respond if you think "Yes" and please cite rule/case.
Yes. NCAA 9-15-2-a-5, page 87

"Basket interference occurs when a player:

Causes the basket or backboard to vibrate when the ball is on or within the basket or the backboard and/or is on or in the cylinder."

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 18, 2017, 08:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
Thank god you clarified to ONLY respond if we "think" yes. This is an elementary rule at the HS/NCAA level, and each treat it differently.
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 18, 2017, 08:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,789
Is your question for NFHS or NCAA?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 18, 2017, 08:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Is your question for NFHS or NCAA?
Now that people have responded regarding NFHS/NCAA and we have a response involving NCAAM, what about NCAAW and NFHS?
__________________
If some rules are never enforced, then why do they exist?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 18, 2017, 09:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,448
Quote:
Originally Posted by bucky View Post
Now that people have responded regarding NFHS/NCAA and we have a response involving NCAAM, what about NCAAW and NFHS?
NCAAW -- same rule (and same number) as NCAAM.

FED has been answered above (by the lack of any "yes" answers)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 18, 2017, 11:29am
Show up, keep up, shut up
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3,570
Quote:
Originally Posted by bucky View Post
Now that people have responded regarding NFHS/NCAA and we have a response involving NCAAM, what about NCAAW and NFHS?
Stop trolling for suckers dude you're clearly looking for a fight.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 18, 2017, 12:24pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 19,869
From The List (NFHS) ...

A player cannot touch the ball, ring, or net while the ball is on the ring or within the basket. A player cannot touch the ball if it is in the imaginary cylinder above the ring. These are examples of basket interference. It is legal to touch the ring or the net if the ball is above the ring and not touching the ring, even if the ball is in the imaginary cylinder above the ring. It is legal to hang on the ring if a player is avoiding an injury to himself or herself or another player.

The backboard has nothing to do with goaltending. Goaltending is when a player touches the ball during a try, or tap, while it is in its downward flight, entirely above the basket ring level, outside the imaginary cylinder above the ring, and has the possibility of entering the basket. On most layups, the ball is going up immediately after it contacts the backboard. It is legal to pin the ball against the backboard if it still on the way up, and is not in the imaginary cylinder above the basket. Slapping the backboard is neither basket interference, nor is it goaltending, and points cannot be awarded. A player who strikes a backboard, during a tap, or a try, so forcefully that it cannot be ignored because it is an attempt to draw attention to the player, or a means of venting frustration, may be assessed a technical foul. When a player simply attempts to block a shot, and accidentally slaps the backboard, it is neither a violation, nor is it a technical foul.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

I was in prison and you came to visit me. (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 18, 2017, 12:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,803
Quote:
Originally Posted by bucky View Post
Yes or No: Is it possible to ever have Basket Interference when a defender slaps the backboard during a legitimate block attempt?

Only respond if you think "Yes" and please cite rule/case.
Bucky, you can't tell people when or when not to respond. That's a $50 fine. I sure as hell hope you pay my fines before yours. You're piling them up...
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 18, 2017, 12:47pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by AremRed View Post
Stop trolling for suckers dude you're clearly looking for a fight.
(Moderator hat on)
I'm curious about the intent of this post as well. Unless there's some reason for the post other than the apparent attempt to pick an internet fight, I'm going to lock the thread soon.

If the OP can elaborate, though, there may be some valid discussion to be had.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 18, 2017, 01:13pm
9/11 - Never Forget
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 5,643
Send a message via Yahoo to grunewar
Quote:
Originally Posted by bucky View Post
Yes or No: Is it possible to ever have Basket Interference when a defender slaps the backboard during a legitimate block attempt?
Fed - 4-6, Art 2.

For arguments sake, how about if the ball is w/in the imaginary cylinder the player hits the ball and THEN slaps the backboard. He gets the BI before the backboard slap AND it was a legitimate block attempt.
__________________
There was the person who sent ten puns to friends, with the hope that at least one of the puns would make them laugh. No pun in ten did.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 18, 2017, 01:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,803
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
(Moderator hat on)
I'm curious about the intent of this post as well. Unless there's some reason for the post other than the apparent attempt to pick an internet fight, I'm going to lock the thread soon.

If the OP can elaborate, though, there may be some valid discussion to be had.
The rocket scientist in me says Bucky is not a referee.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 18, 2017, 05:26pm
SAK SAK is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 284
There are 2 options when slapping the backboard. Option 1, not a play to block the ball issue and issue a T. Option 2, good athletic play and play on.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 19, 2017, 12:20am
Show up, keep up, shut up
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3,570
Tangentially I had a game tonight where we knew we would have above the rim play. My R asked if we had anything to add so I said, "just want to make sure we agree on the high school rule....the ball can be blocked as long as it is still going up, even if it hits the backboard first".

Both guys looked at me like I was dumb and said no the rule does not say that. As the young guy I didn't argue and kept my mouth shut. So much for knowing the rules!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 19, 2017, 10:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 751
Quote:
Originally Posted by AremRed View Post
Tangentially I had a game tonight where we knew we would have above the rim play. My R asked if we had anything to add so I said, "just want to make sure we agree on the high school rule....the ball can be blocked as long as it is still going up, even if it hits the backboard first".

Both guys looked at me like I was dumb and said no the rule does not say that. As the young guy I didn't argue and kept my mouth shut. So much for knowing the rules!
Send them a professionally written email detailing the rule.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Goaltending on Backboard Slap rickman5 Basketball 63 Fri Dec 30, 2011 05:41pm
Backboard slap jodibuck Basketball 37 Tue Dec 12, 2006 11:47am
Backboard slap Nevadaref Basketball 12 Tue Mar 28, 2006 10:43am
Intentional slap of backboard TriggerMN Basketball 2 Wed Dec 17, 2003 02:15pm
"California Slap" blcump Softball 4 Mon Aug 05, 2002 09:09pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:26am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1