The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 18, 2017, 10:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Germany
Posts: 19
Lebron pass to himself Game 4 NBA Finals

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MTLZmyjzPnY

I would like to understand why that isn't double dribble.

Dribble along court, jump with 2 hands on the ball , then pass to self of the backboard . He placed 2 hands on the ball then 1 hand under the ball for a noticeable time before lob passing to himself.

Why isnt the first dribble considered over when he put 2 hands on the ball or when he puts his right hand under the ball to carry before lob pass ?


NBA.com - RULE NO. 4-DEFINITIONS
__________________
Phil
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 18, 2017, 12:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Eastern Connecticut
Posts: 137
You can rule that player and team control ended when Lebron threw it against the backboard, if you interpret the throw as a Try. That would allow him to run up to it and rebound it and shoot or dribble again. Clearly, this wasn't a Try, however...

Sent from my SM-G930P using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 18, 2017, 12:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,186
Other codes (more-or-less) explicitly allow the offense to use the offensive backboard as part of this play. It's not a "pass to one's self" (which, by definition, is impossible) and it's not a dribbling violation.

I assume the NBA rules have the same general concept.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 18, 2017, 03:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Germany
Posts: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Other codes (more-or-less) explicitly allow the offense to use the offensive backboard as part of this play. It's not a "pass to one's self" (which, by definition, is impossible) and it's not a dribbling violation.

I assume the NBA rules have the same general concept.
Ok lets agree that there is no pass to one's self. I'll just refer to that as a dribble.
So did the first dribble end or did the dribble just continue after he placed 2 hands on the ball then placed his right hand under the ball. Why does being in the air change that ? Why is that not double dribble ?
__________________
Phil
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 18, 2017, 03:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by soadyp View Post
Ok lets agree that there is no pass to one's self. I'll just refer to that as a dribble.
So did the first dribble end or did the dribble just continue after he placed 2 hands on the ball then placed his right hand under the ball. Why does being in the air change that ? Why is that not double dribble ?
Being in the air doesn't change anything. Throwing the ball off the offense's backboard does.

It's not a particularly unusual play -- if it was illegal, it would have been called.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 18, 2017, 04:27pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,378
Nfhs ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Being in the air doesn't change anything. Throwing the ball off the offense's backboard does. It's not a particularly unusual play -- if it was illegal, it would have been called.
Legal, or illegal, for NFHS rules, when the official is 100% sure that it wasn't a try?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Sun Jun 18, 2017 at 07:26pm.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 18, 2017, 03:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Germany
Posts: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mbilica View Post
You can rule that player and team control ended when Lebron threw it against the backboard, if you interpret the throw as a Try. That would allow him to run up to it and rebound it and shoot or dribble again. Clearly, this wasn't a Try, however...

Sent from my SM-G930P using Tapatalk
Ok I think we agree he was not attempting a shot. Therefore....
__________________
Phil
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 19, 2017, 12:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Eastern Connecticut
Posts: 137
Here is that NFHS caseplay:

Quote:
4.15.4 SITUATION C: After dribbling and coming to a stop, A1 throws the ball: (c) against his/her own backboard in an attempt to score (try), catches the rebound and dribbles again. RULING: In (c), the action is legal. Once the ball is released on the try, there is no player or team control, therefore, A1 can recover the rebound and begin a dribble.
There is also this other caseplay that I think is related.
Quote:
4.44 SITUATION B: A1 attempts a try after ending the dribble. The try does not touch the backboard, the ring or any other player. A1 runs and is able to catch the ball before it strikes the floor. Is this traveling? RULING: No. When A1 recovered his/her own try, A1 could either dribble, pass or try again. There was no team control after the ball was released on a try. (4-12; 4-41)
Sent from my SM-G930P using Tapatalk

Last edited by Mbilica; Mon Jun 19, 2017 at 12:43am.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 19, 2017, 01:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Nope, it's 9.5
Whether the action is a try or not isn't a factor.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 19, 2017, 06:33am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,378
"Equipment" ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
For NFHS there is a specific Case Book ruling that throwing the ball off the offensive backboard and getting it is perfectly legal.
Nice citation Nevadaref. Thanks.

9.5 SITUATION: A1 dribbles and comes to a stop after which he/she throws the
ball against: (a) his/her own backboard; RULING: Legal in (a); a team’s own backboard
is considered part of that team’s “equipment” and may be used.

Now, what would happen if, instead of catching the ball in the air and shooting (dunking) the ball, he came down with the ball (there's no indication in the caseplay that A1 moved his feet, or didn't move his feet, while the ball was in the air on its way to the backboard), and then decided to start a new dribble when the official is 100% sure that it wasn't a try?

This caseplay answers one specific question (it's not an illegal (double) dribble), but leaves a lots of questions (is it a travel), with corresponding rule citations, unanswered. Was A1 allowed to move his feet? Was A1 allowed to start a new dribble?

I know that there are no self passes in NFHS rules, but this really is a case of a self pass, with one very specific legal situation described in the caseplay.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Mon Jun 19, 2017 at 03:55pm.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 19, 2017, 08:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Now, what would happen if, instead of catching the ball in the air and shooting (dunking) the ball, he came down with the ball (there's no indication in the caseplay that A1 moved his feet, or didn't move his feet, while the ball was in the air on its way to the backboard), and then decided to start a new dribble when the official is 100% sure that it wasn't a try?
The same answer you got when you've asked this the other 200 times. It would be better if you took this up with IAABO or the FED rules committee instead of continually posting it here.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 19, 2017, 03:13pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,378
Remember Boxing Out The Free Throw Shooter ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
It would be better if you took this up with IAABO or the FED rules committee instead of continually posting it here.
IAABO doesn't deal with rules (he said tongue in cheek).
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 19, 2017, 03:24pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,378
Education ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
The same answer you got when you've asked this the other 200 times.
I bring this up again, and again if necessary, so that Forum members, especially new Forum members, don't walk away believing that a definite NFHS rule interpretation has been officially stated for this (off the backboard dunk), and similar situations (off the backboard, maybe move feet, catch, maybe start a new dribble). With the exception of the very specific situation (can't call illegal (double) dribble) described in 9.5 SITUATION, everything else boils down to opinions, in some cases informed, rational opinions, but nevertheless, still just opinions.

Of course, the easy way out to this is to just call every such act such as this a try, but we really know that in rare cases it really isn't a try, and it may be readily apparent to an observer (official) that it really isn't a try.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Mon Jun 19, 2017 at 10:41pm.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
double dribble


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NBA Finals: Game 1 Durant End of Game Drive/Shot APG Basketball 17 Sat Jun 16, 2012 11:13pm
The Finals - Game 6 BktBallRef Basketball 16 Wed Jun 22, 2005 05:34pm
The Finals - Game 5 BktBallRef Basketball 18 Mon Jun 20, 2005 10:27pm
The FInals - Game 4 BktBallRef Basketball 26 Fri Jun 17, 2005 10:22am
Lebron James Game Observations. JRutledge Basketball 13 Fri Dec 13, 2002 11:10pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:43pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1