The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 24, 2017, 09:44am
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 7,834
Quote:
Originally Posted by BryanV21 View Post
I thought that the "two count rhythm" thing meant a player in the NBA was not only allowed to lift his pivot foot (after the first "count" or step), but place it back on the floor (which would be the second "count" or step). Not that I have to tell you, but just for the sake of completing the thought, high school players can not lift the pivot foot and place it back on the floor before releasing the ball.

It has always been my understanding that the "two count rhythm" is the same as stopping one's dribble while both feet are off of the floor and landing with one foot at a time.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 24, 2017, 01:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
It has always been my understanding that the "two count rhythm" is the same as stopping one's dribble while both feet are off of the floor and landing with one foot at a time.

MTD, Sr.
When an NBA player ends his dribble, the foot on the floor is considered "zero". Player is then permitted to take "one" and "two".
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 24, 2017, 01:13pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 13,929
Quote:
Originally Posted by IncorrectCall View Post
When an NBA player ends his dribble, the foot on the floor is considered "zero". Player is then permitted to take "one" and "two".
At that point, can either foot be the pivot?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 24, 2017, 02:31pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,890
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
If you actually compare the NBA/WNBA Traveling Rule with the NFHS/NCAA Men's-Women's/FIBA Traveling Rule you will find that while the wording is somewhat different in parts, the rule is the same except for the being the first to touch the ball after attempting a FG that fails to touch the rim, the backboard, or another player, and the FIBA rule with regard to falling to the floor while holding the ball or getting up from being on the floor while holding the ball is different from the other codes.

MTD, Sr.
How the pivot foot is established is some scenarios is different in the NBA compared to other levels...making plays legal under NBA rules that are not under other rule sets.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 24, 2017, 02:32pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,890
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
At that point, can either foot be the pivot?
No. The foot that was used for step 1 is the pivot
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 24, 2017, 02:33pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,890
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
It has always been my understanding that the "two count rhythm" is the same as stopping one's dribble while both feet are off of the floor and landing with one foot at a time.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Traveling?? CDurham Basketball 3 Thu Feb 18, 2010 03:04pm
Traveling Help!? CDurham Basketball 30 Wed Feb 10, 2010 06:59pm
Traveling or not... Knightsummitt Basketball 7 Fri Feb 05, 2010 09:53am
Deadspin: It's not traveling unless Duke says it's traveling Rich Basketball 1 Mon Feb 23, 2009 09:21pm
Traveling x 2 Dudly Basketball 7 Wed Mar 16, 2005 01:24pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:43am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1