![]() |
|
|
|||
Here is the play. Sorry to bust your balls, but it is hard to find all the close plays, especially the ones not called. Thanks for looking.
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
Good No Call ...
Hard to see from the angle in the video, but I don't believe that it's a backcourt violation.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
Definitely did not dribble to the backcourt. That's why I always like to the see video cuz you cannot always be sure that the play is being accurately described.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Quote:
Next, there are two possibilities. 1. Was the player touching the ball while touching the backcourt? If so, it would be a violation. 2. Was the catch and release a dribble or just a bat? If a dribble, most would consider that a violation for being a dribbler who stepped on the division line (that despite the fact that the rules don't actually say that). If not a dribble, then it would not be a violation.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
Quote:
1. No, he was never both in contact with the ball and the backcourt at the same time. 2. I deem that a bat without control. Per the Case Book play which we discussed a couple of weeks ago (4.15 Comment), when a player slaps the ball away from others attempting to get it that is not a dribble. It's close, but I don't have a violation on the play. |
|
|||
I agree. The way I see this play is the UNC player touches the ball in the front court, then while the ball is out of his hand and in the dribble he steps into the backcourt, but reestablishes the position in the front court before retouching the ball.
|
|
|||
Is it a dribble or interrupted dribble?
There is no player control during the latter. I don't even think that it is a dribble per the Case Book, but that is another debate. |
|
|||
Controls ball with both feet in the FC, dribbles behind his back. One foot lands in BC, that foot then rises off of floor and he touches ball with one foot on the floor, and the foot that was in the BC is in the air. What's his location?
|
|
|||
Quote:
I think it was a dribble. He pushed the ball to the floor with one hand and behind his back so the ball would be just where he knew it would be when the ball returned from the floor and he returned from having one foot in the backcourt. I think he had control of the ball when he pushed it to the floor. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Duke @ North Carolina 3 Plays (Video) | JRutledge | Basketball | 30 | Thu Feb 18, 2016 05:17pm |
Duke vs North Carolina (2015) (Videos x2) | bballref3966 | Basketball | 15 | Mon Mar 09, 2015 02:54am |
Another front court back court scenario | socal | Basketball | 8 | Wed Oct 08, 2014 11:51pm |
North Carolina vs. Duke | AremRed | Basketball | 16 | Sat Feb 22, 2014 06:15am |
Foul in Back Court going to Front Court with No Free Throws | howie719 | Basketball | 4 | Thu Feb 06, 2014 01:28pm |