The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 06, 2014, 11:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 87
Foul in Back Court going to Front Court with No Free Throws

Foul in Back Court going to Front Court with No Free Throws
(Player, Team and No-Control (rebounds) Fouls Only)


The above statement was part of a post season Poe's and pre-game sheet that came out in last association meeting.

The L is the only person who is switching as far as I can tell on the NF power point.

Under what conditions would a switch not be initiated? For some reason the above statement has confused me.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 06, 2014, 12:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 16,671
If the L calls the foul, switch. If C or T call it don't switch.

If TC has changed (and, thus, by definition, old-L becomes new T) then don't switch.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 06, 2014, 12:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Illinois
Posts: 439
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
If the L calls the foul, switch. If C or T call it don't switch.

If TC has changed (and, thus, by definition, old-L becomes new T) then don't switch.
This is an excellent description. Simple and to the point.
__________________
"The soldier is the army."

-General George S. Patton, Jr.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 06, 2014, 01:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
If the L calls the foul, switch. If C or T call it don't switch.

If TC has changed (and, thus, by definition, old-L becomes new T) then don't switch.
Is this assuming T and L are opposite the table? The way I'm picturing the scenario it wouldn't make any sense for a tableside L to report and then run away....?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 06, 2014, 01:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 16,671
Quote:
Originally Posted by CountTheBasket View Post
Is this assuming T and L are opposite the table? The way I'm picturing the scenario it wouldn't make any sense for a tableside L to report and then run away....?
Makes no difference.

L goes tableside; whoever (C or T) was table side goes back and becomes new T to administer the throw-in. Other officials now balance the floor (with old L staying tableside -- might be new C or new L)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Officials positioning after calling foul in back court headed other direction jritchie Basketball 21 Fri Nov 01, 2013 05:17pm
Back Court vs. Front Court. MagnusonX Basketball 72 Sun Oct 17, 2010 08:34am
free throws take place with fouled out player still on court sleebo Basketball 3 Wed Jan 28, 2004 08:25am
Flying catch, front court or back coachpig Basketball 3 Fri Dec 05, 2003 11:16pm
front or back court status? Ralph Stubenthal Basketball 5 Tue Nov 07, 2000 04:08pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:17am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1