The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Thu Feb 16, 2017, 07:20pm
Official Forum Member

Hard foul, intentional, flagrant ? (HS)

Hard foul ... and more?

First, let me say I'm not an official. I'm a coach of some three decades and I really enjoy the game management that officials provide. I seem to equally enjoy the conversations around rules, enforcement, and the myriad viewpoints of you guys running the floor. So thanks for this forum.

Should I ever be out of line, and I doubt that will be the case, please feel free to set me straight.

Here I'm posting a play from a recent HS BV game in Seattle. I realize the video makes it difficult to determine the nature or degree of the foul. But I'm wondering about the nuances differentiating a tough, hard-nosed foul from an intentional or flagrant.

Here the shooter is airborne but is the contact excessive merely because the shooter goes down hard? (19.3.d).
Old Thu Feb 16, 2017, 07:27pm
Do not give a damn!!

Embedding is your friend.

Peace
Old Thu Feb 16, 2017, 08:19pm
Official Forum Member

Can't tell from this angle. Looks like just a hard foul , unless #4 did something egregious on the back side this is common shooting foul.
Old Thu Feb 16, 2017, 08:32pm
High Five Master

Looks like a common foul. Red player went for the ball and it just turned into probably looking worse than it was
Old Thu Feb 16, 2017, 08:36pm
Do not give a damn!!

It was a hard foul, but it looked like to me just a normal shooting foul. Both tried to play the ball and one might have had a clean block. Just unfortunate how he fell but I would not call this anything but a shooting foul.

Peace
Old Thu Feb 16, 2017, 10:41pm
AremRed

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueDevilRef View Post
Looks like a common foul. Red player went for the ball and it just turned into probably looking worse than it was