![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Sent from my SM-G925V using Tapatalk |
|
|||
|
The speed of the dribbler has nothing to do with the rule.
|
|
|||
|
Once you establish LGP you may move laterally to maintain LGP.
Moving laterally does not guarantee you maintain LGP. In the case of the video the lateral movement taken by the defender changed the defense's angle and stopped the defender from facing the ball carrier and gave the dribbler an attack line that the defense no longer had LGP established for. So shoulder to shoulder contact results in a block. If that is too convoluted. BLOCK.
__________________
Coach: Hey ref I'll make sure you can get out of here right after the game! Me: Thanks, but why the big rush. Coach: Oh I thought you must have a big date . . .we're not the only ones your planning on F$%&ing tonite are we! |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Sent from my SM-G925V using Tapatalk |
|
|||
|
Notably, we continue to use the word "establish" rather than the word "obtain" LGP. Many years ago, the NFHS decided to use the latter, because the former seemed to imply a process, of indeterminate duration. The intent of the change in verbiage was to emphasize that when guarding a moving opponent with the ball, there is no time or distance factor involved.
In the play under discussion, it seems that the necessary factors of the block/charge rule result in a correct call of block.
__________________
To be good at a sport, one must be smart enough to play the game -- and dumb enough to think that it's important . . .
|
|
|||
|
Clarification
Thanks for the answers guys.
It seems that everyone is in agreement that this video portrays a block by the defender. I truly want to understand this. My understanding (admittedly incomplete) has been that to establish LGP the defender's torso must be facing the ball handler and both feet must be on the ground. for how long, I don't know, but long enough to establish the right to the floor space, an instant. My understanding continues that after achieving LGP the defender can move backward or laterally (but not forward toward the ball handler) and still maintain LGP. But this notion that they cannot turn is unfamiliar to me. Are we saying that after establishing LGP that a defender cannot turn to brace for impact? Let's say that the defender did not leave her spot on the floor after establishing LGP at a particular location, but simply pivoted in place to brace for impact from a "hard-charging" ball handler, and she gets displaced from the impact (pushed backward, perhaps even thrown to the ground by the impact), this is a block, because she changed her orientation in-place? If this is the case, please give the rule reference. I want to understand this because this is contrary to what I've always understood. As an aside, what if we take this to the extreme? A defender is stationary in the line from the ball handler to the basket, but has her back to the defender, and the ball handler decides to dribble directly through the defender (who is facing 180 degrees from the ball handler) and displaces the defender noticeably, what is the rule here? Thank you for your guidance. Last edited by xyrph; Fri Jan 20, 2017 at 02:12pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Everyone is entitled to a spot on the floor. Your second scenario is a foul on the ball handler.
__________________
in OS I trust |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| NCAA-W: Princeton vs Maryland Block/Charge No Call (Video) | SCalScoreKeeper | Basketball | 20 | Fri Mar 27, 2015 09:05am |
| Block/Charge/No Call? (Video) | acgod24 | Basketball | 61 | Mon Mar 09, 2015 04:11pm |
| block/charge/no call? (Video) | jeremy341a | Basketball | 26 | Wed Mar 19, 2014 12:33pm |
| Block, Charge, No Call (Video) | bob jenkins | Basketball | 19 | Sat Mar 08, 2014 12:08pm |
| Mich Mich St block/charge call, then makeup call (Video) | pfan1981 | Basketball | 23 | Wed Mar 05, 2014 04:48pm |