The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 19, 2017, 11:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Usa
Posts: 943
(Carry on the dribble before contact)
Definite BLOCK and I love the T's mechanics
__________________
Prettys Womans in your city
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 20, 2017, 12:03am
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,794
Quote:
Originally Posted by justacoach View Post
(Carry on the dribble before contact)
Definite BLOCK and I love the T's mechanics
(That would be a really bad carrying call, IMO.)

This is not lateral movement.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 20, 2017, 12:30am
Stubborn Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 1,517
By "lateral" movement we're not talking about the defender's right to move sideways. What that means is the defender has to move in the same direction (forwards/backwards/right/left) as the dribbler. I can't remember the exact wording in the rule book, but it may also mention speed as well.

The defender in this case indeed moves sideways, but not at all in the same direction that the ball handler is moving.

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 20, 2017, 09:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,218
Quote:
Originally Posted by BryanV21 View Post
By "lateral" movement we're not talking about the defender's right to move sideways. What that means is the defender has to move in the same direction (forwards/backwards/right/left) as the dribbler. I can't remember the exact wording in the rule book, but it may also mention speed as well.
Yes, that's what "lateral" means.

No, it doesn't mean what you say (especially "forward")

Speed / distance are not a consideration when guarding a player with the ball ("airborne" is a factor).
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 20, 2017, 11:21am
Stubborn Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 1,517
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Yes, that's what "lateral" means.

No, it doesn't mean what you say (especially "forward")

Speed / distance are not a consideration when guarding a player with the ball ("airborne" is a factor).
I should have added the "or obliquely" part of the rule, which implies what I said.

Sent from my SM-G925V using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 20, 2017, 11:22am
Stubborn Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 1,517
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Yes, that's what "lateral" means.

No, it doesn't mean what you say (especially "forward")

Speed / distance are not a consideration when guarding a player with the ball ("airborne" is a factor).
Btw, the "speed" thing was about how fast the dribbler is moving (which, yes, is wrong). Not about time and distance.

Sent from my SM-G925V using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 20, 2017, 11:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,218
Quote:
Originally Posted by BryanV21 View Post
Btw, the "speed" thing was about how fast the dribbler is moving (which, yes, is wrong). Not about time and distance.

Sent from my SM-G925V using Tapatalk
The speed of the dribbler has nothing to do with the rule.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 20, 2017, 12:08pm
Stubborn Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 1,517
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
The speed of the dribbler has nothing to do with the rule.
Hence the "which is wrong" part of the post

Sent from my SM-G925V using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 20, 2017, 01:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 38
Clarification

Thanks for the answers guys.

It seems that everyone is in agreement that this video portrays a block by the defender.

I truly want to understand this. My understanding (admittedly incomplete) has been that to establish LGP the defender's torso must be facing the ball handler and both feet must be on the ground. for how long, I don't know, but long enough to establish the right to the floor space, an instant.

My understanding continues that after achieving LGP the defender can move backward or laterally (but not forward toward the ball handler) and still maintain LGP.

But this notion that they cannot turn is unfamiliar to me. Are we saying that after establishing LGP that a defender cannot turn to brace for impact? Let's say that the defender did not leave her spot on the floor after establishing LGP at a particular location, but simply pivoted in place to brace for impact from a "hard-charging" ball handler, and she gets displaced from the impact (pushed backward, perhaps even thrown to the ground by the impact), this is a block, because she changed her orientation in-place?

If this is the case, please give the rule reference. I want to understand this because this is contrary to what I've always understood.

As an aside, what if we take this to the extreme? A defender is stationary in the line from the ball handler to the basket, but has her back to the defender, and the ball handler decides to dribble directly through the defender (who is facing 180 degrees from the ball handler) and displaces the defender noticeably, what is the rule here?

Thank you for your guidance.

Last edited by xyrph; Fri Jan 20, 2017 at 02:12pm.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 20, 2017, 11:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Earth- For Now
Posts: 872
This is a CLEAR block. The defender does not maintain LGP and as a result of her movement her shoulder ends up in the path of the offensive player at the time of contact.o
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 20, 2017, 11:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 848
Quote:
Originally Posted by BryanV21 View Post
By "lateral" movement we're not talking about the defender's right to move sideways. What that means is the defender has to move in the same direction (forwards/backwards/right/left) as the dribbler. I can't remember the exact wording in the rule book, but it may also mention speed as well.

The defender in this case indeed moves sideways, but not at all in the same direction that the ball handler is moving.

Nice Belt
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 20, 2017, 11:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Missouri
Posts: 671
This is a block 100/100 times. As a coaching point, I would suggest you teach that defender to move laterally in a slide to maintain her LGP. If she arrives at the point of contact facing the ballhandler (ie the ballhandler's shoulder hits the defender in the chest or close to it) you would get your player control call. But in this case the defender turns sideways in attempt to beat her to the spot and loses her LGP and never regains it.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 20, 2017, 09:30pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,152
NFHS R4-S23-A3c (and the wording would be the same for NCAA Men's/Women's and FIBA) says:

After the initial legal guarding position is obtained the guard may move laterally or obliquely to maintain position, provided it is not toward the opponent when contact occurs.

Moving laterally means the paths of the defensive player and the offensive player are parallel to each other.


1) At time T0: B-32 is at point B0; W-4 is at point W0; and W-4 has obtained a LGP with respect to B32.

2) At time T1: B-32 is at point B1; W-4 is at point W1; B-32 changes her direction of movement thereby establishing a new straight line of movement called Li32 toward point B3; and W-4 changes her direction of movement thereby establishing a new straight line of movement called Li4 toward point W3.

3) B-32 moves along Li32 and W-4 moves along Li4 until they come into contact with each other at time T2. W-4 and B-32 contact each other where lines L32 and W4 intersect at point PI.

4) If the angle formed by W1-PI-B1 is equal to 0 degrees but less than or equal to 90 degrees then B-32 is responsible for the contact. If the angle formed by W1-P1-B1 is greater than 90 degrees then W-4 is responsible for the contact.


MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 20, 2017, 09:56pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,461
There Aren't Too Many Of Us Left ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zoochy View Post
Nice Belt
Thank you.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 21, 2017, 12:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
I dont say this to be mean...but at some point you have to watch more basketball. This is a block and its not even close. You can talk about LGP all day but if you see enough basketball your not asking the question.

She may have had LGP but offense went other way. She didnt maintain it...Fact is thisisnt close.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NCAA-W: Princeton vs Maryland Block/Charge No Call (Video) SCalScoreKeeper Basketball 20 Fri Mar 27, 2015 09:05am
Block/Charge/No Call? (Video) acgod24 Basketball 61 Mon Mar 09, 2015 04:11pm
block/charge/no call? (Video) jeremy341a Basketball 26 Wed Mar 19, 2014 12:33pm
Block, Charge, No Call (Video) bob jenkins Basketball 19 Sat Mar 08, 2014 12:08pm
Mich Mich St block/charge call, then makeup call (Video) pfan1981 Basketball 23 Wed Mar 05, 2014 04:48pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:07pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1