The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 22, 2017, 09:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,219
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
I can't find the exact play, just this:

2003-04 NFHS BASKETBALL RULES INTERPRETATIONS

SITUATION 6: A1 jumps from the floor and secures a defensive re-bound. A1 then pivots toward the sideline where a teammate, A2, is standing for an outlet pass. Just as A1 releases the pass, A2 turns and runs down the court. A1 throws a soft bounce pass to where A2 was standing. A1 then moves and secures the ball without dribbling. RULING: Legal action. A1 had the pivot foot on the floor and began a dribble by throwing the ball to the floor (the bounce pass); the dribble ended when A1 secured the ball. Upon reaching the ball, A1 also could have continued the dribble. (4-15-3,4)


Keep in mind that in Situation 6, A1 had not already dribbled the ball before "passing".

bob jenkins: What exact case play or interpretation were you referring to for the original post (illegal dribble)?
Isn't that sufficient to answer the OP, where the player had already ended a dribble?

And, here's the NCAAW case play (the rule, and the ruling, is the same in FED):
A.R. 73.
A1, after:
(1)
Receiving a pass; or
(2)
Ending her dribble,
A1 passes the ball to A2 Before receiving the pass, A2 leaves the area on a
cut to the basket A1 goes to the area vacated by A2 and recovers the ball
RULING: In order for a pass to occur, the thrown ball must be
touched by another player. This did not occur in (1) or (2).
(1) A1’s attempted pass was the start of her dribble. When she
recovered the ball and started another dribble, she would have
committed a violation. (Had A1, after releasing the pass, which was
the start of the dribble, not recovered the ball but rather continued to
dribble, it would not have been a violation.)
(2) A1 had previously ended a dribble before her attempted pass to
A2. A1’s release of the ball on her attempted pass to A2 was the start of
a second dribble. A1 committed a violation after she touched the ball.
(Rule 4-14.2 and 9-7.1.c)

Last edited by bob jenkins; Sun Jan 22, 2017 at 09:13pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 23, 2017, 07:00am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,465
Release Or Touch ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
A1’s release of the ball on her attempted pass to A2 was the start of a second dribble. A1 committed a violation after she touched the ball.
Thanks bob jenkins.

Even though it's NCAA, it's an interesting interpretation because some, here on the Forum, in similar plays, have a belief that the illegal dribble occurs when the ball is "release(d)" to start the second dribble, whereas this interpretation states that the violation occurs when the ball is "touched". The NCAA makes this clear, the NFHS doesn't.

I prefer the NCAA interpretation, allowing for the possibility that the release for the second "dribble" may actually be the start of a really ugly pass. I believe that it's good to have a patient whistle in these situations.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
legal? mikeref Basketball 6 Wed Dec 07, 2011 11:04am
Legal or not legal player splitveer Basketball 4 Wed Feb 10, 2010 01:10pm
Legal or not IRISHMAFIA Softball 7 Sun Sep 20, 2009 08:50pm
legal or not? Johnny Ringo Basketball 13 Wed Jan 02, 2008 07:23pm
Is This Legal? coachmjw Basketball 5 Mon Feb 24, 2003 11:22am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:51pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1