![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
I have the exact play being in an interp or case play.
|
|
|||
|
Errant Outlet Pass ...
I can't find the exact play, just this:
2003-04 NFHS BASKETBALL RULES INTERPRETATIONS SITUATION 6: A1 jumps from the floor and secures a defensive re-bound. A1 then pivots toward the sideline where a teammate, A2, is standing for an outlet pass. Just as A1 releases the pass, A2 turns and runs down the court. A1 throws a soft bounce pass to where A2 was standing. A1 then moves and secures the ball without dribbling. RULING: Legal action. A1 had the pivot foot on the floor and began a dribble by throwing the ball to the floor (the bounce pass); the dribble ended when A1 secured the ball. Upon reaching the ball, A1 also could have continued the dribble. (4-15-3,4) Keep in mind that in Situation 6, A1 had not already dribbled the ball before "passing". bob jenkins: What exact case play or interpretation were you referring to for the original post (illegal dribble)?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) Last edited by BillyMac; Sun Jan 22, 2017 at 08:13pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
And, here's the NCAAW case play (the rule, and the ruling, is the same in FED): A.R. 73. A1, after: (1) Receiving a pass; or (2) Ending her dribble, A1 passes the ball to A2 Before receiving the pass, A2 leaves the area on a cut to the basket A1 goes to the area vacated by A2 and recovers the ball RULING: In order for a pass to occur, the thrown ball must be touched by another player. This did not occur in (1) or (2). (1) A1’s attempted pass was the start of her dribble. When she recovered the ball and started another dribble, she would have committed a violation. (Had A1, after releasing the pass, which was the start of the dribble, not recovered the ball but rather continued to dribble, it would not have been a violation.) (2) A1 had previously ended a dribble before her attempted pass to A2. A1’s release of the ball on her attempted pass to A2 was the start of a second dribble. A1 committed a violation after she touched the ball. (Rule 4-14.2 and 9-7.1.c) Last edited by bob jenkins; Sun Jan 22, 2017 at 09:13pm. |
|
|||
|
Release Or Touch ...
Quote:
Even though it's NCAA, it's an interesting interpretation because some, here on the Forum, in similar plays, have a belief that the illegal dribble occurs when the ball is "release(d)" to start the second dribble, whereas this interpretation states that the violation occurs when the ball is "touched". The NCAA makes this clear, the NFHS doesn't. I prefer the NCAA interpretation, allowing for the possibility that the release for the second "dribble" may actually be the start of a really ugly pass. I believe that it's good to have a patient whistle in these situations.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| legal? | mikeref | Basketball | 6 | Wed Dec 07, 2011 11:04am |
| Legal or not legal player | splitveer | Basketball | 4 | Wed Feb 10, 2010 01:10pm |
| Legal or not | IRISHMAFIA | Softball | 7 | Sun Sep 20, 2009 08:50pm |
| legal or not? | Johnny Ringo | Basketball | 13 | Wed Jan 02, 2008 07:23pm |
| Is This Legal? | coachmjw | Basketball | 5 | Mon Feb 24, 2003 11:22am |