The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 01, 2016, 02:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
Sounds simple enough But,

Why does rule 7 say a team retains the right to run the end line if a COMMON foul or violation occurs before the throw in ends and the ensuing throw in would be on end line?
If it happens to be an intentional or flagrant foul, that throwin will occur after the FTs are taken. I guess they figured the FTs were enough of a penalty that they don't need the ability to run the endline too.

The right to still run the endline is there so that the team that committed the infraction doesn't come out with an advantage by committing the infraction.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
More importantly, why doesn't it also say after a double foul team retains right to run the baseline if the ensuing throw in be on end line?
That is implied in POI....you go back to whatever was occurring at the time. If that was a throwin with the right to run the endline, that is what you do.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 01, 2016, 02:48am
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
If it happens to be an intentional or flagrant foul, that throwin will occur after the FTs are taken. I guess they figured the FTs were enough of a penalty that they don't need the ability to run the endline too.

The right to still run the endline is there so that the team that committed the infraction doesn't come out with an advantage by committing the infraction.
I'd venture it's more of an oversight than anything intentional...cause a team committing a foul worthy of an upgrade, IMO, deserves no benefit of the doubt.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 01, 2016, 08:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally Posted by APG View Post
I'd venture it's more of an oversight than anything intentional...cause a team committing a foul worthy of an upgrade, IMO, deserves no benefit of the doubt.
We've had this discussion before -- and the NFHS came out with an interp that made it clear that when there was a single foul only on a common foul (and not an I or F) would the team retain the right to run the end-line.

From 2004-2005:
SITUATION 6: Team A scores a field goal. B1 picks up the ball and steps out of bounds at the end line to prepare for a throw-in. Before the throw-in is completed, A2 is called for an intentional (or flagrant) foul on B3 near the end line. RULING: B3 would shoot the two free throws for the intentional (or flagrant) foul with the lane cleared. Team B will then have a designated spot throw-in on the end line. (7-5-7, 7-5-11)

Last edited by bob jenkins; Thu Dec 01, 2016 at 09:20am.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 01, 2016, 12:24pm
APG APG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5,889
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
We've had this discussion before -- and the NFHS came out with an interp that made it clear that when there was a single foul only on a common foul (and not an I or F) would the team retain the right to run the end-line.

From 2004-2005:
SITUATION 6: Team A scores a field goal. B1 picks up the ball and steps out of bounds at the end line to prepare for a throw-in. Before the throw-in is completed, A2 is called for an intentional (or flagrant) foul on B3 near the end line. RULING: B3 would shoot the two free throws for the intentional (or flagrant) foul with the lane cleared. Team B will then have a designated spot throw-in on the end line. (7-5-7, 7-5-11)
Well the reasoning makes absolutely no sense to me. The offended team should never have their privileges taken away because of the illegal actions of their opponent...especially when their illegal actions are deemed to be more than the "norm."

Edit: Furthermore, it seems that NFHS is added an exception...when they do their best to not add exceptions in the name of simplicity...unless the exception is needed. No one has ever said...let's take away the privilege to use the entire endline after an upgraded foul in the situation presented above.
__________________
Chaos isn't a pit. Chaos is a ladder. Many who try to climb it fail and never get to try again. The fall breaks them. And some, given a chance to climb, they refuse. They cling to the realm, or the gods, or love. Illusions.

Only the ladder is real. The climb is all there is.


Last edited by APG; Thu Dec 01, 2016 at 12:38pm. Reason: additional commentary
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 01, 2016, 12:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by APG View Post
Well the reasoning makes absolutely no sense to me. The offended teams should never have their privileges taken away because of the illegal actions of their opponent...especially when their illegal actions are deemed to be more than the "norm."
Add it to the list….(the no sense list)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:11pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1