The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 01, 2016, 08:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,194
Quote:
Originally Posted by APG View Post
I'd venture it's more of an oversight than anything intentional...cause a team committing a foul worthy of an upgrade, IMO, deserves no benefit of the doubt.
We've had this discussion before -- and the NFHS came out with an interp that made it clear that when there was a single foul only on a common foul (and not an I or F) would the team retain the right to run the end-line.

From 2004-2005:
SITUATION 6: Team A scores a field goal. B1 picks up the ball and steps out of bounds at the end line to prepare for a throw-in. Before the throw-in is completed, A2 is called for an intentional (or flagrant) foul on B3 near the end line. RULING: B3 would shoot the two free throws for the intentional (or flagrant) foul with the lane cleared. Team B will then have a designated spot throw-in on the end line. (7-5-7, 7-5-11)

Last edited by bob jenkins; Thu Dec 01, 2016 at 09:20am.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:27am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1