![]() |
What?....
Team A scores. Prior to the ball being at the disposal of Team B, a double technical foul is committed. The official awards the ball to Team B for a throw-in and rules Team B may move along the end line. Is the official correct?
Yes, the official is correct because the ball wasn't at the disposal of Team B? |
The ball being at the disposal of Team B doesn't matter. Either way they are entitled to run the endline for the subsequent throw in.
|
Quote:
|
What those two guys said. They're smart.
|
There are a couple oc case plays in the section 4-double fouls where a DF is called during a try and the team gets to run the end-line. I'd say that's close enough to your play,
I'm not sure NCAAW would have the same ruling. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Rule 7 says if a team commits common foul or violation before throw in ends and ensuing throw in b on endline they retain right to run. A double foul is not a common foul. Sine the ball is through the basket in this play does rule 7 now take precedence over 4-36? Poi. (Rule 7 presumes ball is already through net. I don't necessarily think it requires ball to be at disposal. It says common foul or violation before the throwin ends. Doesn't say during the throw in). Does POI mean same type of throwin....running endline... |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Why does rule 7 say a team retains the right to run the end line if a COMMON foul or violation occurs before the throw in ends and the ensuing throw in would be on end line? More importantly, why doesn't it also say after a double foul team retains right to run the baseline if the ensuing throw in be on end line? |
Quote:
The right to still run the endline is there so that the team that committed the infraction doesn't come out with an advantage by committing the infraction. Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
From 2004-2005: SITUATION 6: Team A scores a field goal. B1 picks up the ball and steps out of bounds at the end line to prepare for a throw-in. Before the throw-in is completed, A2 is called for an intentional (or flagrant) foul on B3 near the end line. RULING: B3 would shoot the two free throws for the intentional (or flagrant) foul with the lane cleared. Team B will then have a designated spot throw-in on the end line. (7-5-7, 7-5-11) |
Quote:
Edit: Furthermore, it seems that NFHS is added an exception...when they do their best to not add exceptions in the name of simplicity...unless the exception is needed. No one has ever said...let's take away the privilege to use the entire endline after an upgraded foul in the situation presented above. |
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:46am. |