The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 17, 2016, 02:56pm
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,797
I'd chalk it up as a transcription error.

Since 0 and 00 can't play at the same time, where's the confusion?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 17, 2016, 03:23pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,986
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich View Post
I'd chalk it up as a transcription error.

Since 0 and 00 can't play at the same time, where's the confusion?
I think I'll start verifying it's correct whenever I see 0 or 00 in the book and save the headache.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 17, 2016, 04:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,029
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
I think I'll start verifying it's correct whenever I see 0 or 00 in the book and save the headache.
It doesn't matter what's in the book, only what is on the roster that the team submitted to the official scorer.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 17, 2016, 04:08pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,986
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
It doesn't matter what's in the book, only what is on the roster that the team submitted to the official scorer.
Doesn't preclude me from verifying it's correctly input so I don't have to deal with it later. I prefer dealing with any book issues before the game, not during the game.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 17, 2016, 05:59pm
C'mon man!!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 966
So is it an administrative tech or a direct to the coach for an illegal uniform? What if both numbers are present can the coach avoid the tech by not playing one of them?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 17, 2016, 10:53pm
This IS My Social Life
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: at L, T, or C
Posts: 2,379
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes View Post
So is it an administrative tech or a direct to the coach for an illegal uniform? What if both numbers are present can the coach avoid the tech by not playing one of them?
The relevant rule then is 10-6-4: "The head coach shall not permit a tam member to participate while wearing an illegal uniform (see 3-4)".

Does that answer the above question? Or is there some other casebook or interpretation that steers us in a different direction?
__________________
Making Every Effort to Be in the Right Place at the Right Time, Looking at the Right Thing to Make the Right Call
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 18, 2016, 07:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,239
Quote:
Originally Posted by Freddy View Post
The relevant rule then is 10-6-4: "The head coach shall not permit a tam member to participate while wearing an illegal uniform (see 3-4)".

Does that answer the above question? Or is there some other casebook or interpretation that steers us in a different direction?
What part of the uniform was illegal? 0 is a legal number. Your cite would be relevant if the player was wearing 88, for example.

The relevant cite is "changing a number in the scorebook to match what the player is wearing." (or whatever the specific wording is)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 18, 2016, 09:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: White, GA
Posts: 482
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich View Post
I'd chalk it up as a transcription error.

Since 0 and 00 can't play at the same time, where's the confusion?
I know this has been discussed on here before and it all came back to a NFHS interpretation that is posted on this website from the year 2008. It seems to indicate that they could play at the same time and the penalty would be for illegal uniform. At least, in NFHS.
__________________
Mulk

Last edited by ronny mulkey; Fri Nov 18, 2016 at 09:55am. Reason: clarify NFHS games
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 18, 2016, 02:45pm
This IS My Social Life
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: at L, T, or C
Posts: 2,379
Quote:
Originally Posted by ronny mulkey View Post
I know this has been discussed on here before and it all came back to a NFHS interpretation that is posted on this website from the year 2008. It seems to indicate that they could play at the same time and the penalty would be for illegal uniform. At least, in NFHS.
1999-2000 NFHS Interpretation:
SITUATION 11: Ten minutes before the scheduled starting time of the game, the Referee checks the scorebook for Team B and finds starters checked included player’s identified by number as 2, 35, 00, 31 and 0.
RULING: A technical foul is assessed Team B for having 00 and 0 in the book. While 0 and 00 are legal numbers, a team may not have both 0 and 00 on the team roster. Either player No. 00 or player No. 0 will be required to change jersey numbers prior to being eligible for participation. (3-4-3, 10-1-2)

2008-2009 NFHS Interpretation:
SITUATION 2: A team has members with No. 0 and No. 00 listed in the scorebook and it is discovered (a) with 14 minutes on the clock prior to the game, (b) with 8 minutes on the clock prior to the game or (c) after the game starts. RULING: In (a), changes can be made without penalty. In (b), if a number is changed in the scorebook, a team technical is charged. The offended team is awarded two free throws and a throw-in at the division line to begin the game. The arrow is toward the offending team. If no changes are made to the scorebook, no infraction has occurred. In (c), after the game starts, there is no infraction if only one of the team members (No. 0 or No. 00) participates. If the second team member wishes to participate, the result is an illegal number when "discovered." The penalty is a direct technical foul on the head coach for an illegal uniform. Two free throws and a division line throw-in for the offended team and loss of coaching box privileges for the offending coach. The second team member (with the illegal uniform number) may participate without further penalty and is NOT required to change his/her number. Another possibility exists after the game starts when one of the team members wants to change his/her number prior to participating. The result is a team technical foul (no loss of coaching box) for changing the scorebook. COMMENT: No team should have both No. 0 and No. 00 on its regular roster. The infraction is likely due to bringing a player up or down a level. Therefore, it is possible the team has access to other legal uniforms to replace a uniform with an illegal number. (3-4-3d; 10-1-2; 10-5-4)
__________________
Making Every Effort to Be in the Right Place at the Right Time, Looking at the Right Thing to Make the Right Call
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 18, 2016, 04:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Personally, this rule seems unnecessarily silly. An official can signal 00 or he can signal 0. No difference. we allow 33 and 3, don't we.

(And yes ... I believe 05 and 5 should be legal for the very same reason)

If they really have an issue with this, make 0 or 00 (or both) not legal.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 18, 2016, 05:23pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,513
Easy Peasey Lemon Squeezy ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn View Post
... make 0 or 00 (or both) not legal.
Logical. Rational. Simple. Let's do it.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 18, 2016, 10:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,742
Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn View Post
Personally, this rule seems unnecessarily silly. An official can signal 00 or he can signal 0. No difference. we allow 33 and 3, don't we.

(And yes ... I believe 05 and 5 should be legal for the very same reason)

If they really have an issue with this, make 0 or 00 (or both) not legal.
I've always had the same thought.

That said, most rules that seem silly evolve from some incident in the past that gave rise to their origin.* I'd be interested if there is such a history with this rule.

* Good example: Some NCAA D1 title game several years back started with a held ball before the AP procedure had been established. So the two players involved then jumped. Apparently people took issue with this, feeling that the two centers should be allowed to jump again. The very next year, the rule was changed to allow this. Had this not happened in a D1 tourney game, I doubt anyone would ever have given two poops about it.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 19, 2016, 12:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,239
Quote:
Originally Posted by crosscountry55 View Post
I've always had the same thought.

That said, most rules that seem silly evolve from some incident in the past that gave rise to their origin.* I'd be interested if there is such a history with this rule.

* Good example: Some NCAA D1 title game several years back started with a held ball before the AP procedure had been established. So the two players involved then jumped. Apparently people took issue with this, feeling that the two centers should be allowed to jump again. The very next year, the rule was changed to allow this. Had this not happened in a D1 tourney game, I doubt anyone would ever have given two poops about it.
The history is that both numbers used to be allowed. Then, when they started going to "computerized" stats programs, the computers couldn't distinguish between the two, so only one was allowed.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 20, 2016, 05:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn View Post
Personally, this rule seems unnecessarily silly. An official can signal 00 or he can signal 0. No difference. we allow 33 and 3, don't we.

(And yes ... I believe 05 and 5 should be legal for the very same reason)
The difference here is that 0 (or 5) has the same value as 00 (or 05), just with a meaningless zero added at the start. 3 does not have the same value as 33.

Because of the way computers work, there is no way for them to distinguish between 0 and 00, or 5 and 05, in some cases.

I'm of the firm belief that there should not be a T if there's a feasible case of computer error. I stress I'm not an official in any sport, but the last thing I want to see is a "technicality technical", if you know what I mean.
__________________
Lurker from Massachusetts. Not an official in any sport.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 21, 2016, 12:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 734
Quote:
Originally Posted by bwburke94 View Post
Because of the way computers work, there is no way for them to distinguish between 0 and 00, or 5 and 05, in some cases.
Of course there are. May not be as easy, but . . .
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:34am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1