![]() |
|
|
|||
0 and 00
Clemson just given administrative T for having 0 in the book but player wearing 00.
Announcer stated that a team can have both 0 and 00 playing but 0 must be 0 in the book and 00 must be 00. Interesting that NFHS does not allow that: "A team member list shall not have both numbers 0 and 00." (3-4-3d) Is NCAA-M different? Or was the announcer wrong?
__________________
Making Every Effort to Be in the Right Place at the Right Time, Looking at the Right Thing to Make the Right Call |
|
|||
From the NCAAM rules book:
2� The following numbers are legal: 0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 00, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, and 55� Team rosters can include 0 or 00, but not both� |
|
|||
Quote:
I gave this exact same technical foul about seven years ago. Kid was wearing 00, but was listed as 0. Those are different numbers/symbols used to identify players, just as 33 is not the same as 3. Last edited by Nevadaref; Thu Nov 17, 2016 at 04:05pm. |
|
|||
Why did you put this statement in the form of a question? This isn't Jeopardy.
![]()
__________________
I don't know what "signature" means. |
|
|||
I think I'll start verifying it's correct whenever I see 0 or 00 in the book and save the headache.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
It doesn't matter what's in the book, only what is on the roster that the team submitted to the official scorer.
|
|
|||
Doesn't preclude me from verifying it's correctly input so I don't have to deal with it later. I prefer dealing with any book issues before the game, not during the game.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
I know this has been discussed on here before and it all came back to a NFHS interpretation that is posted on this website from the year 2008. It seems to indicate that they could play at the same time and the penalty would be for illegal uniform. At least, in NFHS.
__________________
Mulk Last edited by ronny mulkey; Fri Nov 18, 2016 at 09:55am. Reason: clarify NFHS games |
|
|||
Quote:
SITUATION 11: Ten minutes before the scheduled starting time of the game, the Referee checks the scorebook for Team B and finds starters checked included player’s identified by number as 2, 35, 00, 31 and 0. RULING: A technical foul is assessed Team B for having 00 and 0 in the book. While 0 and 00 are legal numbers, a team may not have both 0 and 00 on the team roster. Either player No. 00 or player No. 0 will be required to change jersey numbers prior to being eligible for participation. (3-4-3, 10-1-2) 2008-2009 NFHS Interpretation: SITUATION 2: A team has members with No. 0 and No. 00 listed in the scorebook and it is discovered (a) with 14 minutes on the clock prior to the game, (b) with 8 minutes on the clock prior to the game or (c) after the game starts. RULING: In (a), changes can be made without penalty. In (b), if a number is changed in the scorebook, a team technical is charged. The offended team is awarded two free throws and a throw-in at the division line to begin the game. The arrow is toward the offending team. If no changes are made to the scorebook, no infraction has occurred. In (c), after the game starts, there is no infraction if only one of the team members (No. 0 or No. 00) participates. If the second team member wishes to participate, the result is an illegal number when "discovered." The penalty is a direct technical foul on the head coach for an illegal uniform. Two free throws and a division line throw-in for the offended team and loss of coaching box privileges for the offending coach. The second team member (with the illegal uniform number) may participate without further penalty and is NOT required to change his/her number. Another possibility exists after the game starts when one of the team members wants to change his/her number prior to participating. The result is a team technical foul (no loss of coaching box) for changing the scorebook. COMMENT: No team should have both No. 0 and No. 00 on its regular roster. The infraction is likely due to bringing a player up or down a level. Therefore, it is possible the team has access to other legal uniforms to replace a uniform with an illegal number. (3-4-3d; 10-1-2; 10-5-4)
__________________
Making Every Effort to Be in the Right Place at the Right Time, Looking at the Right Thing to Make the Right Call |
|
|||
Personally, this rule seems unnecessarily silly. An official can signal 00 or he can signal 0. No difference. we allow 33 and 3, don't we.
(And yes ... I believe 05 and 5 should be legal for the very same reason) If they really have an issue with this, make 0 or 00 (or both) not legal.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Easy Peasey Lemon Squeezy ...
Logical. Rational. Simple. Let's do it.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
Quote:
That said, most rules that seem silly evolve from some incident in the past that gave rise to their origin.* I'd be interested if there is such a history with this rule. * Good example: Some NCAA D1 title game several years back started with a held ball before the AP procedure had been established. So the two players involved then jumped. Apparently people took issue with this, feeling that the two centers should be allowed to jump again. The very next year, the rule was changed to allow this. Had this not happened in a D1 tourney game, I doubt anyone would ever have given two poops about it. |
|
|||
Quote:
Because of the way computers work, there is no way for them to distinguish between 0 and 00, or 5 and 05, in some cases. I'm of the firm belief that there should not be a T if there's a feasible case of computer error. I stress I'm not an official in any sport, but the last thing I want to see is a "technicality technical", if you know what I mean.
__________________
Lurker from Massachusetts. Not an official in any sport. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|