The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 03, 2016, 11:12pm
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
3.4.3(c)

Starter, A1, has brought the wrong uniform and with eight minutes on the clock prior to the start of the game, switches with A15 and now is wearing a legal jersey but a new number. With two minutes on the clock prior to the start of the game, it is discovered that starter, B1, is wearing a different jersey than indicated in the scorebook. It is confirmed that a wrong number was provided to the official scorer and a change is made to reflect the correct number in the scorebook.

RULING: Both Team A and B are charged with a technical foul for changing a number in the scorebook and will begin the game with one team foul toward the bonus. No free throws are awarded and the game will begin at the point of interruption, which is the opening jump ball.

COMMENT: When each team is assessed one technical foul prior to the game, a double technical foul has occurred, as this is considered “approximately the same time.” (4-19-8b; 4-36-2c; 10-1-2) (See 6.4.1 SITUATION A)

Interesting reasoning. Especially when you go to the referenced case play.

6.4.1 Situation A:

"Twelve minutes before the game is scheduled to start, team member A1 dunks the ball and is charged with a technical foul. B1 is discovered to be wearing an illegal jersey, as the players prepare for the start of the game.

RULING: The game will be started by awarding Team B two free throws for A1’s technical foul. Team A will then be given two free throws and the ball for a division-line throw-in for B1’s infraction. When the thrower of Team A has the ball for the throw-in, they have control for purposes of establishing the alternating possession procedure and the arrow is immediately set toward B’s basket. Team B will have the first opportunity for an alternating-possession throw-in. (4-3)"

Confused yet?
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 04, 2016, 04:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by Welpe View Post
Starter, A1, has brought the wrong uniform and with eight minutes on the clock prior to the start of the game, switches with A15 and now is wearing a legal jersey but a new number. With two minutes on the clock prior to the start of the game, it is discovered that starter, B1, is wearing a different jersey than indicated in the scorebook. It is confirmed that a wrong number was provided to the official scorer and a change is made to reflect the correct number in the scorebook.

RULING: Both Team A and B are charged with a technical foul for changing a number in the scorebook and will begin the game with one team foul toward the bonus. No free throws are awarded and the game will begin at the point of interruption, which is the opening jump ball.

COMMENT: When each team is assessed one technical foul prior to the game, a double technical foul has occurred, as this is considered “approximately the same time.” (4-19-8b; 4-36-2c; 10-1-2) (See 6.4.1 SITUATION A)

Interesting reasoning. Especially when you go to the referenced case play.

6.4.1 Situation A:

"Twelve minutes before the game is scheduled to start, team member A1 dunks the ball and is charged with a technical foul. B1 is discovered to be wearing an illegal jersey, as the players prepare for the start of the game.

RULING: The game will be started by awarding Team B two free throws for A1’s technical foul. Team A will then be given two free throws and the ball for a division-line throw-in for B1’s infraction. When the thrower of Team A has the ball for the throw-in, they have control for purposes of establishing the alternating possession procedure and the arrow is immediately set toward B’s basket. Team B will have the first opportunity for an alternating-possession throw-in. (4-3)"

Confused yet?
We need to think harder about the words used.

When a player dunks, that T is charged to him and indirectly to coach(during pregame) . That is more than a T charged to a team. It is more than a team T.Administrative Ts only go to the TEAM. If there are techs before game that are only charged to TEAM as opposed to individuals those will offset.


S the words used have specific meanings
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 04, 2016, 05:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
We need to think harder about the words used.

When a player dunks, that T is charged to him and indirectly to coach(during pregame) . That is more than a T charged to a team. It is more than a team T.Administrative Ts only go to the TEAM. If there are techs before game that are only charged to TEAM as opposed to individuals those will offset.


S the words used have specific meanings
I can go along with that reasoning.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
pre game technical


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
End of game Technical Chess Ref Basketball 8 Fri Dec 01, 2006 07:52pm
Technical AFTER the Game MajorCord Basketball 45 Mon Feb 27, 2006 08:22pm
Pre-game technical DTS Basketball 3 Sat Jan 15, 2005 07:55pm
Technical Foul at Game's End gymrat Basketball 3 Wed Jan 17, 2001 02:44pm
Technical Foul Before Game ScottParks Basketball 2 Tue Jan 16, 2001 10:06pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:37am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1