The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 03, 2016, 03:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
This play is being over thought.

The NFHS, NCAA Men's/Women's, and FIBA Rules state how the AP Arrow is initially set and there are three ways.

Situation #1: The situation that happens about 99.99% of the time: A2 is the first Player to gain Play Control of the Ball during a Jump Ball or after a Jump Ball has ended.

Situation #2: The AP Arrow is set toward Team B's Basket (Team A's Basket under FIBA Rules), when the Ball is placed at the disposal of A1 for the Free Throws for a Common Foul committed before a Player from either Team gained PC of the Ball during a Jump Ball or after a Jump Ball has ended. This Situation can only happen at the start of an Overtime Period.

Situation #3: The AP Arrow is set toward Team B's Basket (Team A's Basket under FIBA Rules), when the Ball is placed at the disposal of the Thrower, A1, for any Situation that is not either Situation #1 or Situation #2.

MTD, Sr.
You might want to change your #1. By definition, there is no player or team control during a jump ball. thx 4-12-6
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 03, 2016, 03:23pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
You might want to change your #1. By definition, there is no player or team control during a jump ball. thx 4-12-6
A1 grabs the ball right off the tip (doesn't even bounce). First touch is the act of catching the ball. This is gaining control "during" the jump ball, thus ending the jump ball by gaining control.

A1 grabs the ball after it bounces off of at least one jumper or the floor. This is gaining control after the jump ball has ended.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 03, 2016, 03:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
A1 grabs the ball right off the tip (doesn't even bounce). First touch is the act of catching the ball. This is gaining control "during" the jump ball, thus ending the jump ball by gaining control.

A1 grabs the ball after it bounces off of at least one jumper or the floor. This is gaining control after the jump ball has ended.
i understand factually what your saying/describing. i said he might want to change it because the rule says word for word that there is no team or player control "during" a jump ball. id just not say "during" because of the way the rule is written. The rule drafters, by the way they have written the rule, have declared that the act that ENDS the jump ball, in your example the grab/possession by A1, is not considered "during." Everything before that moment is during.....

Last edited by BigCat; Mon Oct 03, 2016 at 04:31pm.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 03, 2016, 04:57pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,144
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
This play is being over thought.

The NFHS, NCAA Men's/Women's, and FIBA Rules state how the AP Arrow is initially set and there are three ways.

Situation #1: The situation that happens about 99.99% of the time: A2 is the first Player to gain Play Control of the Ball during a Jump Ball or after a Jump Ball has ended.

Situation #2: The AP Arrow is set toward Team B's Basket (Team A's Basket under FIBA Rules), when the Ball is placed at the disposal of A1 for the Free Throws for a Common Foul committed before a Player from either Team gained PC of the Ball during a Jump Ball or after a Jump Ball has ended. This Situation can only happen at the start of an Overtime Period.

Situation #3: The AP Arrow is set toward Team B's Basket (Team A's Basket under FIBA Rules), when the Ball is placed at the disposal of the Thrower, A1, for any Situation that is not either Situation #1 or Situation #2.

MTD, Sr.
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
You might want to change your #1. By definition, there is no player or team control during a jump ball. thx 4-12-6


I did not say that there was PC during a JB. I said gain PC during a JB, which ends the JB.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AP arrow Huskerblue Basketball 5 Sat Dec 15, 2007 07:11am
AP Arrow drinkeii Basketball 26 Thu Feb 22, 2007 04:06pm
Arrow? ripcord51 Basketball 4 Tue Dec 19, 2006 08:09am
arrow? jr Basketball 5 Tue Nov 22, 2005 12:36pm
Arrow gostars Basketball 5 Wed Nov 24, 2004 03:28pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:03am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1