The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 01, 2016, 08:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Philadelphia, PA Area
Posts: 31
AP Arrow

Situation: Team A adds a player to their score book. Team Technical foul on Team A. The game starts with 2 foul shots by a team B member followed by a throw-in by B1.

Question: when does the AP arrow get switched? I'd like a rule reference.

I've been told conflicting things by different (respected) officials.
One was that it's a normal AP throw in and the arrow gets switched when the throw in ends like normal.
I was also told that the arrow gets switched immediately after B1 has the ball in his/her hands. The reason being that this is the initial starting of team possession so switch the arrow to A's basket before the ball is thrown in. Rule 4-3 Art. 3b?! What are free throws for a non-common foul in this situation?

Any help would be appreciated.
__________________
Burtis449
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 01, 2016, 09:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
The arrow doesn't get switched since it hasn't been set. Team B gets 2 FT's, plus the ball to start the game. The arrow is set to team A to begin the game since B has the initial possession.
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 04, 2016, 09:13am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee View Post
The arrow doesn't get switched since it hasn't been set. ....
Damn, you beat me to it.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 01, 2016, 10:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by Burtis449 View Post
Situation: Team A adds a player to their score book. Team Technical foul on Team A. The game starts with 2 foul shots by a team B member followed by a throw-in by B1.

Question: when does the AP arrow get switched? I'd like a rule reference.

I've been told conflicting things by different (respected) officials.
One was that it's a normal AP throw in and the arrow gets switched when the throw in ends like normal.
I was also told that the arrow gets switched immediately after B1 has the ball in his/her hands. The reason being that this is the initial starting of team possession so switch the arrow to A's basket before the ball is thrown in. Rule 4-3 Art. 3b?! What are free throws for a non-common foul in this situation?

Any help would be appreciated.
You started the game with 2 technical free throws. Those are FTs for a "non common foul." You have the right rule section. When you hand the ball to team B for the throw in the arrow is set for the first time towards team A.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 01, 2016, 02:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,742
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
You started the game with 2 technical free throws. Those are FTs for a "non common foul." You have the right rule section. When you hand the ball to team B for the throw in the arrow is set for the first time towards team A.
In other words, when the ball is placed at the disposal of the thrower.

Again, Rule 4-3 is only employed in setting the arrow's initial direction, which happens at the beginning of the game or any extra period. 6-4-4 describes how the arrow is switched on an AP throw-in, which accounts for the vast majority of situations in which the scorer does something with the arrow.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 02, 2016, 07:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 782
A) In the situation being discussed, with the arrow having been set to Team A, if on the ensuing throw-in, A2 and B2 simultaneously catch the ball, which team has the opportunity to attempt the subsequent throw-in?

B) On an alternating throw-in, other than the situation discussed above, with the arrow indicating that team B gets the opportunity to attempt the throw-in, if the throw-in by B1 is simultaneously caught by B2 and A2, which team has the subsequent throw-in? And when is the arrow switched?
__________________
To be good at a sport, one must be smart enough to play the game -- and dumb enough to think that it's important . . .

Last edited by Rob1968; Sun Oct 02, 2016 at 07:53pm.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 02, 2016, 08:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob1968 View Post
A) In the situation being discussed, with the arrow having been set to Team A, if on the ensuing throw-in, A2 and B2 simultaneously catch the ball, which team has the opportunity to attempt the subsequent throw-in?

B) On an alternating throw-in, other than the situation discussed above, with the arrow indicating that team B gets the opportunity to attempt the throw-in, if the throw-in by B1 is simultaneously caught by B2 and A2, which team has the subsequent throw-in? And when is the arrow switched?
A. It was set towards A when handed to B1 for the throw in. When B1 throws it in and A2 and B2 grab it simultaneously we go to the arrow. It is now an AP throw in for A. When you set the arrow the first time in the game towards A when it is handed tothrower B1 the arrow isn't changed when that throw in ends.


B. When B1s alternating throw in is simultaneously caught by B2 and A2 that AP throw in is over. Arrow goes to A. A gets the AP throw in from A2 and B2 simultaneously catching B1 throw in. If B1 would have held the ball over the boundary and A1 grabbed it and both held on, that AP throw in would not have ended and B gets it again for the AP throw in. That's a case play somewhere.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 02, 2016, 09:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,742
I believe BigCat is exactly right. Good scenario, Rob! I'd never thought about that comparison before.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 02, 2016, 09:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
I agree.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 02, 2016, 09:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 782
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
I agree.
I also agree. I worked a couple of games yesterday, as a mentor, with newer officials. These are the kinds of scenarios that need to be understood, before we see them on the court.
Big Cat's response is excellent, and I'm certain that the stated differences, and the situation in the B) answer will help someone in the upcoming season.
I constantly invite officials to check out the threads on this site. The wide ranging experience and knowledge, here, is priceless.

Case Book 4.3.3, 4.42.5, 6.4.1 Sit. A, 6.4.5 Sit. A, are of note in the discussion.

6.4.5 Sit. B concerns the the situation of the thrower holding the ball through the end-line or side-line plane.
__________________
To be good at a sport, one must be smart enough to play the game -- and dumb enough to think that it's important . . .
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 03, 2016, 11:03am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob1968 View Post
I also agree. I worked a couple of games yesterday, as a mentor, with newer officials. These are the kinds of scenarios that need to be understood, before we see them on the court.
Big Cat's response is excellent, and I'm certain that the stated differences, and the situation in the B) answer will help someone in the upcoming season.
I constantly invite officials to check out the threads on this site. The wide ranging experience and knowledge, here, is priceless.

Case Book 4.3.3, 4.42.5, 6.4.1 Sit. A, 6.4.5 Sit. A, are of note in the discussion.

6.4.5 Sit. B concerns the the situation of the thrower holding the ball through the end-line or side-line plane.
I don't think this is a scenario we need to burden a first year official with. There's enough to learn before we start discussing plays they might, maybe, possibly see once in their entire careers.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 03, 2016, 02:52pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,141
This play is being over thought.

The NFHS, NCAA Men's/Women's, and FIBA Rules state how the AP Arrow is initially set and there are three ways.

Situation #1: The situation that happens about 99.99% of the time: A2 is the first Player to gain Play Control of the Ball during a Jump Ball or after a Jump Ball has ended.

Situation #2: The AP Arrow is set toward Team B's Basket (Team A's Basket under FIBA Rules), when the Ball is placed at the disposal of A1 for the Free Throws for a Common Foul committed before a Player from either Team gained PC of the Ball during a Jump Ball or after a Jump Ball has ended. This Situation can only happen at the start of an Overtime Period.

Situation #3: The AP Arrow is set toward Team B's Basket (Team A's Basket under FIBA Rules), when the Ball is placed at the disposal of the Thrower, A1, for any Situation that is not either Situation #1 or Situation #2.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 03, 2016, 03:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Kansas
Posts: 633
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
I don't think this is a scenario we need to burden a first year official with. There's enough to learn before we start discussing plays they might, maybe, possibly see once in their entire careers.
*But that ''first and only time" this first year Official has to adjudicate upon this type of occurrence/event could occur in the very first game that they officiate --thus, worthwhile to at least offer our input no?
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 03, 2016, 10:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,742
I'm with you on this; this kind of breakdown is great on the forum or at the bar after the game. It doesn't belong in a pre-game nor need it take up 30 minutes of an association meeting.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AP arrow Huskerblue Basketball 5 Sat Dec 15, 2007 07:11am
AP Arrow drinkeii Basketball 26 Thu Feb 22, 2007 04:06pm
Arrow? ripcord51 Basketball 4 Tue Dec 19, 2006 08:09am
arrow? jr Basketball 5 Tue Nov 22, 2005 12:36pm
Arrow gostars Basketball 5 Wed Nov 24, 2004 03:28pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:30am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1